We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel in Old Town”
Review of Old Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Lodge
Reviewed October 19, 2013

room by name Djurgården (room with window) was excellent, nice view to street. Staff was very friendly and breakfast box was prepared In the fridge... because we left early in the morning. Free tea and coffee.
Toilets and showers were clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eglepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Old Town Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 221 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hostel was modern and mostly clean. The room was a big disappointment with the bed taking up the whole floor space (almost), no windows, little in the way of privacy, and very stale air. The bathrooms were usually clean with the occasional exception. I accidentally brushed off a shelf over the bed when looking for the lightswitch and I started a rain of dust that seemed never ending. If you are a good sleeper and not claustrophobic then this place is fine.

Room Tip: Avoid the dungeon
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoryVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel in a calm but very central location. Has dormatories and private rooms. I opted for the latter to get space to set up my computer (which is not possible in the dorm rooms which is simply just a set of beds with glass walls inbetween).

Great atmosphere, great service and access to both free WiFi and a kitchen. Very clean, and it is obvious that the manager wants to make sure that you enjoy your stay. I will come back to stay here again, and I can definitely recommend this place - it feels more like a small hotel than a hostel.

Personal tip: Ask for a room in the basement if you are interested in history. A part of the 800+ year old town wall of Stockholm can be seen there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreasviklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a very nice hostel with great location in Old Town. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And you can get a simple breakfast, coffee/tea bread with jam and cheese. I will strongly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I can't recommend the new Old Town Lodge in Gamla Stan, old town Stockholm, enough. The price is very reasonable and it's like an upscale hostel, where the beds are already made for you, the room is super comforable and the bathrooms and kitchen area are clean and convenient and the location is just perfect. I travel all the town and am picky, and fell in love with this place.
We wanted a room with a window, and I would definitely recommend that as the view and sounds of the city outside are so nice-- the lodge is right in the heart of old town, in a little charming alleyway and is just minutes from the water and main square.
The room was simple but rustic and charming, with two comfy twin beds, everything in white with a nice plant in the window and a simple chair in the center. There is a fold down table and plenty of hooks on the wall so you can hang things and have a place to put your stuff.
Therese, the owner, is absolutely lovely and accommodating-- we stayed in a different part of town at the end of the trip and were really missing this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms without windows and rooms with-- I would recommend with if you can afford it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gitti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was in Stockholm for the theatre festival and stayed at the Old Town Lodge. I have only good things to say: friendly people, beautiful location, nice kitchen/showers, etc. Very quiet/relaxed too, so if you are looking for an alternative to more rowdy, loud-music-party-hostels, this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBLondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The location of the hostel in this historic building with the old city walls in the cellar is just amazing! It is in the city center - which is really perfect! We had a two beed room (not in the dormitory) and it was simple furnished but had all that we needed. The showers and toilets were communal but clean. There was a light breakfast included, but it could get very crowded in the small breakfast room - so we decided to take care of our breakfast by ourself. The kitchen was small but also very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flobosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
676 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
609 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#56 of 154 in Stockholm
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
475 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#72 of 154 in Stockholm
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Lodge

Address: 25 Baggensgatan, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: $68 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can´t stay more central in Stockholm than Old Town Lodge. Right in the middle of Old Town, on a quit street but with shops, galleries, cafés, pubs and restaurants just around the corner. With all public transport and many of the main attractions within just a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing