We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice!”
Review of Old Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
1 review
“nice!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

great location and nice service! The small breakfast they offer although it is pretty simple, it helps you to start the mornings and save a bit of money in expensive cafeterias!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank lupe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    100
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
80
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I just returned to my second trip to Stockholm and fell in love with this quaint hostel in the old, charming part of Stockholm. the beds were so comfortable and the place is spotless. The location is perfect, just a short three minute walk to the square where you have a choice of four or five charming restaurants to people gaze from. The hostel provides a continental breakfast and has a kitchen area for cooking. We met interesting people from all over the world while sitting around the large square table in the entry area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventursgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Pros: Location, friendly staff, free wifi, clean and quiet rooms
Cons: Sparse breakfast and extra costs for sheets and towels if you dont book through the hostel's website

Location:
Old Town Lodge is a great hostel in Gamla Stan. All of the main sights in Stockholm's old town are either within walking distance or easily accessible. In fact the only time we used public transport was to get to and from the ferry terminals. The hostel is a maximum 10 minute walk to the nearest subway and you can easily walk 5 minutes to a boat which will take you to the Vasa Museum and Skansen. Its also a maxuimum 15 minute walk north to Stockholm city centre and south to Sodermalm, where you can find plenty of restaurants. Although beautiful, Gamla Stan is very touristy and expensive when it comes to eating out.

Rooms and facilities:
We booked a private room, without a window, but were given a free upgrade to a private family room with a window. Our room was large, clean and quiet and all rooms have an electronic code to enter, so you never need to worry about losing your keys. The shared bathrooms are also very clean and there seemed to be enough (3 of each on our floor) that we never had to wait for a shower or toilet. There is a comfy common area with large tables and some heaps of cushions, although there never seemed to be many people making use of it. There is also a kitchen that can be used by guests. The hostel offers free wifi, which we were easily able to access from our room and in the common area. The only thing I think could be improved was the breakfast, which is quite sparse (tea, coffee, bread, jams, cheese and crackers).

Checking in:
Please note that if you are arriving after 5pm you will need to make sure you have an access code to enter the hostel since the reception is not operated after this time. We didnt have our code with us, but luckily arrived before the reception closed.

Price:
Stockholm is expensive, even when it comes to hostels. But comparatively we think this hostel provided fairly good value, particularly considering that we never had to use public transport to get anywhere (which can get very expensive very quickly in Stockholm).

One thing we found though was that it would have been cheaper to book a room through the hostel's own website rather then use a booking/reservation service like Venere or Booking.com etc. The hostel's prices include sheets, towels and a simple breakfast. However, iIf you book through an alternative website then sheets and towels will cost you and extra 65 SEK per person, which is quite expensive. We got caught out by this extra expense.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peregrine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

There are many good things about this place…for Stockholm, it is inexpensive, the staff are pleasant and helpful, there is a kitchen with tea, coffee and breakfast-making facilities. It is nicely located in the Gamla Stan and has historic features (like the old town wall forming one of our bedroom walls). However we decided not to stay again. The underground rooms are very small and without windows and get uncomfortably stuffy and hot in the night. The shared toilets and shower can be a problem if there are others wanting to use them at the same time. It is within walking distance to the Central Station, but it is rather a long walk (allow 30 minutes).

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
601 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This lodge is located a few streets off the main street on Gamla Stan which puts it right in the center of the action but away from the noise. We stayed in the basement which was a little strange since there were no windows but it was actually nice to be able to sleep in without the morning light blinding you plus it was super quiet. The room we for was small, I mean really small. It was the length of a bed and the width of about 3 doors, so two people barely fit if both were standing up so if you pack heavy this isn't the place for you. At least in the basement close to the stairs you could get Internet but I heard it wasn't available everywhere. Staff was friendly. It the breakfast was terrible, it was only hard bread and butter/jam. Bathrooms weren't the cleanest. There were some strange rooms in the basement that were only seperated by glass which were tiny (even smaller than mine) and had no tops so essentially the only thing separating you from your snoring neighbor is a glass wall, no roof (and curtains)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahir
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 for three nights. It is centrally located in Gamla Stan, which is the Old Town, making it an ideal base to explore the historic area of Stockholm by foot. As Stockholm in general is quite expensive for accommodation, we found this reasonably priced for what we got. I travelled with my mother and grandfather, and we had a twin room and a single room in the basement. There was some renovations in progress during our stay in the basement, and the only fault we had with the hostel was the steep concrete stairs leading to the basement. They were a little steep for my grandfather but other than that no complaints. The rooms were spotless, we had a bathroom each, beside our rooms, and never had to share them with anyone. A simple breakfast was included in the price, consisting of bread, cheese, tea and coffee, with which we helped ourselves to in the communal kitchen. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hostel, and in my opinion it would be better described as a bed and breakfast rather than a hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

At first, this seemed like a great find - excellent location, clean, friendly staff, cool-looking rooms underground. It was noisy at night, what with the rooms not having ceilings, but that was more than tolerable in my opinion. However, due to what I'm assuming is an obscene amount of mold/dust residing in the old brick ceilings and walls (or maybe it was the fact that the ceiling frequently crumbled onto the bed) I had the absolute WORST allergy and sinus irritation in my life. It got so bad that I was seriously considering going to sleep in the lobby. Horrible experience that I would not wish on anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reallyally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#50 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#27 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Lodge

Property: Old Town Lodge
Address: 25 Baggensgatan, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can´t stay more central in Stockholm than Old Town Lodge. Right in the middle of Old Town, on a quit street but with shops, galleries, cafés, pubs and restaurants just around the corner. With all public transport and many of the main attractions within just a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing