We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is a clean and friendly... cave”
Review of Old Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It is a clean and friendly... cave”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

You should not go there if you have claustrophobia, because your room might be located in a deep cave underground, without any windows, without any signs that up there there is a life going on...But if you do not mind to wake up in a total darkness, then keep on reading.

Your double bed is in a glass room with curtains. We slept in a room connected to five other double rooms, so snorring and more intimate sounds were very clearly head, and even earplugs did not help much. Therefore, unfortunatelly, I have to admit that we did not get a good rest there...

But on the other hand - this hostel has a very friendly staff, a clean kitchen, free and fast internet, good shower and bathroom facilities, and is amazingly well located. Tourist groups are stopping near this building to listen to guide stories about this special area of the old town just in front of the door of Old Town Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MildaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    100
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
80
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,691 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I didn't like this place much.

Partly it was because I don't like sleeping underground. I believe there are one or two rooms at ground level, but most of the dormitories and bedrooms are downstairs, down a long flight of brick stairs.

And partly it was because there's no-one there to run it between 6 in the evening and 9 the next morning. That wasn't a problem arriving - they sent the code to work the lock to get in - but I couldn't leave as early as I wanted.

And partly because I thought it expensive for what it was. OK, I know most Stockholm hotels are far more expensive and that Swedish prices are usually high, but still...

Otherwise what you get is a small, simple room (sheets and a towel available, but that costs a bit extra) in the middle of Gamla Stan, which you may or may not like. When I was there (in October), it was dead at night, but that may be different in summer.

I got the impression that Gamla Stan pretty well lives for tourism, and that nothing much else really goes on there. Not many people living there, for example, which might explain why the hostel was so incredibly difficult to find at first - nobody I asked even knew where the street was.

Tip. If you're going to sleep at the Old Town Lodge, print out a large scale street map to take with you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

A lovely little lodge which felt warm and welcoming as soon as you entered. Everything is beautifully clean and well presented. A spotless kitchen if you want to make breakfast.
Small but pleasant rooms, just what you need at the end of a day exploring. Situated in Gamla Stan, the beautiful old town, you are seconds from restaurants and shops. If you want a cosy stay and do not mind sharing bathrooms, this is definitely a place worth staying. I would stay again! Lovely staff and a great stay. Thank you :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Even though we arrived late, the hotel was all set and we had no trouble getting into our room. The hotel was very clean and tidy. Our room was cute, all white and pale wood and enough room for two of us. The shared bathrooms weren't a problem, with the provision of a bathrobe a lovely addition. Being Sweden in the spring in was still pretty light at night, and the white curtains didn't darken the room, but after a full day's sightseeing this wasn't much a of problem!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curious_wanderer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

At first, we chose this hostel for its relatively low price in Stockholm. It turned out to be a really nice hostel with friendly staff and the best location you get in Stockholm. The hostel is situated in the middle of Gamla Stan, the old town of Stockholm. Almost the whole city center of Stockholm is on walking distance.

We stayed at the hostel for one weekend, in the dormitory. This is one room devided into 5 smaller rooms with double beds. Its a bit noisy, but that was no problem for us.

Room Tip: The basement dormitory is nice but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zijdemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed in this hostel with my husband for four nights. Hostel was lovely and the owners Mattias and Theresa were so helpful. Free tea/coffee and the use of the kitchen facilities was an added bonus and helped keep the costs down as Stockholm can be notoriously expensive.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We slept in some kind of transparent glass booths. We could hear even the breath of our neighbours. It was just awful...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANONYME00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTownLodge, Owner at Old Town Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are vey sorry that you didn´t know what kind of beds you´ve booked! When you make your booking it sais that it is a dormitory. And we always send a booking confirmation that sais, once again, that you have booked a dormitory! We are very sorry if you didn´t know what a dormotry is! We never ever sell our dorm rooms as a private room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#50 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#27 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Lodge

Property: Old Town Lodge
Address: 25 Baggensgatan, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can´t stay more central in Stockholm than Old Town Lodge. Right in the middle of Old Town, on a quit street but with shops, galleries, cafés, pubs and restaurants just around the corner. With all public transport and many of the main attractions within just a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing