We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gamla Stans Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stortorgskallaren

Stortorgskallaren
Ranked #657 of 3,028 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
711 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Gamla Stans Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

On a summer's night, sitting on the outdoor deck on the square, this is the life! This restaurant is ideally located opposite the Nobel Museum in Old Town. The menu is varied and the portions are large and well prepared and plated. The service was attentive and friendly. The Swedish meatballs were outstanding!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbuntarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    79
    24
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
295 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Located on the old square in the center of the old town the location is great. If you eat on the out door deck they have blankets if you feel a chill. I loved the exterior setting. I had a half portion swedish meatball plate for my appetizer and raindeer for my main course. The food was excellent. The service was courteous as well and not to intrusive. The price was reasonable for the great food. A very nice choice. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The food was well made and really nice. It was however a bit expensive, but most restaurants in the area are.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant ideally located in the Old Town but we experienced better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The restaurant is ideally located opposite the Nobel Museum on the Old Square of the Old Town and so ideally suited for visiting everything there. We had one meal here (asparagus starters + meatballs (only time we had therm in Stockholm!) and the meal was well cooked and staff ere very friendly and attentive. Portions for the starters were small (2 asparagus per dish, whereas we are used to plates being full to overflowing with them during the season in Germany!) and the food was OK, but nothing too special for the money paid. We did not go back during our stay but found other places which offered better quality food for the kind of money being paid. Would recommend mainly for lunch during a day exploring the Old Town of Gamla Stan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csrothwec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and cracking location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

First time at this restaurant and I must say that I was a very good meal and the service was second to none.
The location in the old square was really nice, I had the meat balls which were very nice :)
Will be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guynkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stortorgskallaren also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Stortorgskallaren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing