We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Two Stars' Hotel Akin to a Hostel”
Review of Rex Petit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rex Petit
Ranked #5 of 34 Stockholm B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I spent one night in this hotel during my most recent business trip to Stockholm and was disappointed to find how small and uncomfortable the room is. Though the hotel is only a few minutes away from a T-Bana station and a mere 20 minutes walk from the center, the rooms are akin to those you will find in a hostel: in the basement, with bunk beds, no windows and a bathroom so tiny that it made me feel very claustrophobic. I traveled in the winter and needed a place to hang my winter coat, arrange my scarf and winter boots. With only one plastic hanger, the upper bunk bed ended up serving as the storage space. A winding staircase and a room key that wasn't functioning properly did not make access to the room any easier. I didn't get much sleep and throughout the night kept waking up at night, bumping my head. On the brighter side, the bed sheets were impeccably clean and breakfast with a view of the terrace made up for a sleepless night: a wonderful selection of breads, crackers, cheeses, jams, coffee and tea. A fresh copy of International Herald Tribune almost brought a smile on my face, if not for all the drawbacks. And although I am writing this review two months after the initial trip, I still wonder to this day why Rex Petit has a ranking of a two stars' hotel. A hostel ranking would be less misleading.

Room Tip: There is another hotel right across from Rex Petit, under the same family. Paying a bit extra will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dboyarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matilda S, Manager at Rex Petit, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear dboyarch,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and appreciate your kind words.

Rex Petit is classified by the Swedish Hotels Association with the standards following the European Union classification body, called EuroStar. The hotel is classified as a two star hotel, meaning that the rooms are considerably smaller, hence the price. Besides filling the criteria’s of a two star hotel, in Rex Petit we offer facilities of a 3 star hotel, including front desk service, breakfast, international newspapers and free coffee/the, etc. We always make sure to inform our guests of the size of the rooms as well as the fact that they do not have a window at the time of the reservation.

You are welcome back to our hotels at any time! Maybe during you next visit you can stay at our three star property, Rex Hotel, where the rooms are more spacious and all have windows.

Per Hellsten
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

First of all, the hotel rooms are TINY. Even though we had been warned by other TA reviews about the size of these rooms, we were still taken aback by how small the room was. The check-in agent told us that the room was similar to a ship cabin, and he definitely wasn't joking - easily the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in.

If you can get past the size though, the hotel itself is actually very good. It is in a great location with many nice restaurants and a supermarket nearby, very close to a T-Bana station and about a 20 minute walk to Stockholm's Old Town. Breakfast is included and it is amazing - a great selection breads, cold meats and cheeses, along with soft-boiled eggs, cereal and the like. There was also a wide range of tea & biscuits to choose from which really topped it off.

If having a lot of space is important to you, this may not be the hotel for you - but they have a sister property upstairs and another across the road, both of which I believe have bigger rooms. However, if you can survive in a tiny room (especially in a city like Stockholm where space comes at a premium) then I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jb1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Well, me and my girl friend stayed in Rex Petit for 3 nights, August 2010.
our room was really small without any window and actually we had small trouble to put our luggage.It is located almost in the middle of the city, just one stop away from central station of Stockholm (T-Centralen). Therefore you can easily get access to everywhere.
It was expensive for us, almost 150 U.$. per night, considering the size of the room, but including breakfast and internet access.

(Trip Advisor dose not let me to choose the correct year!!!! I was there August 2010, not 2011)

Room Tip: if you just want to have somewhere to sleep... maybe it has more comfortable rooms, but ours was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kocholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have travelled extensively in Europe and this was the smallest room we have ever stayed in. The room is made of a bunk bed and a very small bathroom. The hotel is made of two parts - Hotel Rex and Rex Petit - we stayed in Rex Petit. The rooms for Rex Petit are in the basement so no windows. But worst is the footsteps above your room should you be below a corridor.

The room doors are a little bit tricky to open.

Whilst the room was very small the hotel is clean, breakfast was included and the staff are helpful and friendly.

The location of the hotel was a long distance to walk to Gamla Stan but is close to a T-bana station.

There are not many budget hotels in Stockholm and if you can handle the tiny size of the hotel this hotel is one of the better value hotels in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank White_T_Shirt_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at the Rex petit for 3 nights during a stay in Stockholm. We were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was indeed very small and didn't have any windows but it was clean and modern. The breakfast was great and included. Considering the prices of everything else in Stockholm I think Rex petit was great value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the "petite" side of Rex Hotel in Stockholm...aka, rooms were in the basement level with no windows. Our room quickly became known as the pod, but it was somehow still really comfortable even with the incredibly small quarters. The hotel itself was very nice and modern, and our room, while small, had every amenity you could want (minus space). We also really enjoyed the breakfast, which was included, that was served on the patio. If you're traveling through the beautiful city of Stockholm and want a nice place to sleep and hostels aren't your thing, then I highly recommend Rex Petite!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahann212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our room in Rex Petit was really disappointing. After a month of travelling in Europe, we had hoped to finish the trip with a relaxing stay, however the room left us wanting to spend as much time away from it as possible. Things started going badly when we tried to get into our room and found that despite the fact the key worked we couldn't get in. After asking reception for help, the receptionist came down and after a 3 minute struggle with the door, she finally got it open. Even with just two people in the room, there was barely any room to move. Our double bed was not big enough for two people, and our nights sleep was disturbed at best. We also found our bathroom had not been cleaned properly - other peoples hair ALL over the shower, and they had given us one tiny towel between the two of us. We tried to go back to reception to ask for another one, but again found that the door would not open. Another battle with it ensued - fire hazard anyone? - before we got out. The reception begrudgingly gave us an even tinier towel than the first one, which also had someone elses hair on it. Breakfast was poorer than what we had experienced in most other hotels we had stayed in, all of which cost a similar amount, and on the second morning, we didn't even bother going and bought our breakfast elsewhere. Definately not somewhere I would ever stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms with windows might be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmurphy_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
2,361 reviews
Vasastan
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#60 of 155 in Stockholm
660 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#63 of 155 in Stockholm
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
NOFO Loft
NOFO Loft
#3 of 34 in Stockholm
162 reviews
Mariatorget
Rygerfjord Hotel and Hostel
Mariatorget
Hotel Hornsgatan
Hotel Hornsgatan
#1 of 34 in Stockholm
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Petit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Petit

Address: 73 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Stockholm
Price Range: $67 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rex Petit 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rex Petit is a small, two star, family owned budget hotel, with all conveniences the modern traveller requires at an economical price. There are 20 rooms at the Rex Petit all of which have telephone, free internet access and flat screen TV. 16 of the 20 rooms have their own bathroom with shower/WC. The remaining 4 rooms have shared facilities nearby in the corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Rex Petit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing