We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy and cool but not in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
Ranked #24 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 16, 2013

For a Courtyard property, this is unusually trendy and cool. The lobby is contemporary with a hip bar pumping out music in the evening and next to the bar is the Bjork Restaurant, which we did not try but looked very good. In the evening, the place reminded me slightly of a W property. The hotel is only 3 years old and everything still looks fresh and new. Rooms are clean and minimalist although fairly basic - it is a Courtyard after all. There is also a small but well equipped gym. Breakfast is served in the Bjork Restaurant; it is advertised as an American Breakfast and whilst perfectly adequate with a pretty good selection of both hot and cold items, it is a shame that very few Swedish breakfast dishes were available; why not some Swedish herring and smoked salmon?
The hotel is not in the city centre but on the western side of the Kungsholmen island, about 5 minutes walk from the nearest subway station and then just two stops to the Central Station. If the weather is good it is pefectly possible to walk into town, following the Norr Malarstrand road to the Town Hall is a beatiful walk along the Lake Malaren.
We had a slight mishap when checking in and when we asked to speak to the Duty Manager we were told "he is having his lunch break, please come back in an hour". When we said that surely the whole point of having a "Duty" Manager is that he should be on duty to deal with any urgent issues, the receptionist replied "he is entitled to his lunch break and he must not be disturbed.." which maybe shows that the level of training and service attitude is not quite up there with the top hotels of the City.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirstTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your respons.
This was good to get the knowledge of. The duty manager is of course always on duty, that is as you state, the purpose of this. I will take action on this immediately and even if I hope you do not need to talk to the duty manager at your next stay. If so he is of course available.
Please accept my apologize.
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Courtyard Stockholm.
The hotel is located on the western part of Kungsholmen. It's a bit far off the center of the city but it is only two métro stops from the train station, and there are even direct buses to Östermalm, Gamla Stan and Södermalm.
The walk from city hall is a pleasant 30 minutes along the lake with great views.

For those arriving from Bromma airport, taxi takes less than 10 minutes, although a local bus and métro will only take 30 minutes as well.

The hotel is a bit more upscale than your typical Courtyard. The rooms are well appointed with comfy bed, designer chair and a warm feel to it.
The bathroom is large, shower only, only the amenities were a bit disappointing in quality and quantity. Then again, it was easy to get more.

Breakfast is extra, a bit expensive but the selection and quality is huge.
Note that there are many café and bakery close to Fridhemsplan métro station, and much cheaper as well.
See my reviens of Thelins for example.

If you do the feel like going out, the on site restaurant is a pleasant surprise. Check my review of Björk Bar & Grill.

Highly recommended.

2  Thank Guillaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your review.
Also for mentioning and giving us a good review for our restaurant BJÖRK Bar&Grill. MOst welcome back both to the hotel and to the restaurant.
Yours sincerely
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here at the end of August and had a very good stay. The hotel still feels quite new (it's about 3 years old), location is good and it's good value for money in a city where nice moderately priced hotels are not that easy to come by!

Staff:
Staff were always friendly and check-in was easy and relatively quick.

Decor and facilities:
The hotel opened about 3 years ago (I stayed here the month it opened) and the decor still feels fresh and well maintained. Rooms are a good size with a good sized bathroom, although note that not all bathrooms (if any) have a bath, rather they have a walk-in shower. Decor is quite neutral but nice.

One thing to bear in mind when checking in is the floor you are on - we had a room on the 4th floor which seemed to be above the gym and we could hear people running on the treadmill. There was also a function on one evening one or two floors below and you could hear the noise in the corridors of the 4th floor. Higher-up would seem to be better...

There is a gym with the usual facilities and a bar and restaurant on-site. Breakfast is buffet-style and is taken in the restaurant. The selection at breakfast was varied - cooked items along with fruit, meats, cereal etc. Only criticism would be that the breakfast could reflect better that the hotel is in sweden, rather than anywhere in the world. Some smoked salmon or herring would have been a nice touch.

Location:
This hotel is not in the city centre but does, I think (!) have a very good location. It's located on the island of kungsholmen which is just to the west of the city centre and is a more residental area (than a touristy one) but still with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops. The metro stop is 5 minutes walk from the hotel along with numerous bus stops that take you into the centre of in 10 minutes. There is also a bus that stops behind the hotel that takes you in 5 minutes to central station where you can get the Arlanda Express to the airport.

The hotel is located on the waterfront and there is a lovely path right along the waterfront into the city centre and some great bars and restaurants on the water near the hotel. There is also a park right across from the hotel.

The only potential negative about the actual siting of the hotel is that if you approach the hotel from the direction of the metro stop, you have to walk down a large flight of stairs to get to the front door and reception. This isn't the best accessbility-wise. You can walk around but it is a bit of a detour if you're not that mobile. I think the signage could be better on the street side and perhaps access could be given out of the hotel door that is actually sited on the street-level as carrying suitcases up stairs is a pain!

Overall, a very nice hotel and one to which I would return again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor as these are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotland580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you so much.
I am happy that you feel the hotel is just as good now as when we opened three years ago.
Hope to see you with us alos more in the future.

Best regards
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a very good hotel by all standards except that it does not have room service, dedicated concierge service and a porter.

The last night of our stay (Saturday) the hotel was also noisy as there was a party on the first floor of the hotel. We were staying on the 6th floor but the noise was very disruptive and it went on until 2:00 in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to stay as high as possible. The noise from the conference rooms on the 1st floor can be problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and also for your nice review.
As this is a Courtyard by Marriott Hotel, a select service brand we do not have room service, concierge and porter service in the hotel. You can though buy snacks in the reception area and also order meals from the complete restaurant menu to take up to your room.
I hope we will see you here soon again.
Most welcome back!
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm recently, and after the suprise of it be located a taxi ride away from the centre of activity, we had a wonderful stay. We were greeted by a friendly staff member and check in was quick with many helpful hints. Our room was clean and very comfortable looking out of one of Stockholm's beautiful parks. The hotel was spotlessly clean and everyone was friendly and helpful. There are many restaurants within a 10 minute walk and you are close to public transportation. We had dinner in the restaurant in the hotel which serves local favorites. The breakfast was plentiful, with a wide range of choices beautifully presented. The walk along the river is beautiful and the park is lovely. Each and every staff member was friendly and very helpful. We would recommend this hotel as long as you know it is outside the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobHartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Price: I had to stay in that area of town because our office was a couple blocks away. The price was ok given what they charge in Stockholm. You definitively get your money's worth as in most Courtyard hotels.
Staff: Very friendly and accommodating to all your needs
Wifi: Free for up to 750kbs/sec. If you want faster connection they charge.
Location: Its a couple of blocks from the metro station and 15 min cab ride from Bromma Airport. There isnt much around the hotel at night but have several restaurants/bars within 15 min walk. Since its close to the metro you wan always head to the city center for more entertainment.
Hotel Building: Pretty decent. Everything was relatively new.
Room: It was clean and regular sized.
Restaurant: There is a bar/restaurant in the hotel. Food is ok.
Other: There are hair blowers in the room and irons. They also have loaner umbrellas if you forget one.
Overall, its a good hotel. You get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianDelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm recently and we were very happy with our choice of hotel. The hotel is located just on the outskirts of the city but is around a leisurely hours walk into the centre, the walk being a lovely one along the river with loads to look at and admire. Upon arrival to the hotel we were greeted by a friendly member of staff and then swiftly checked in and up in our room in no time. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The hotel itself is very new and modern which is refreshing as everything is very nice and clean. The common areas are also very nice, stylish and comfortable to relax in. The breakfast was plentiful and offered a wide range of yummy fresh choices. I would recommend this hotel to other travellers as we found it to be amazing value for money in a Scandinavian country.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you so very much and most welcome back!
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
1,389 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 155 in Stockholm
3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Best Western Plus Time Hotel
Story Hotel Signalfabriken
#31 of 155 in Stockholm
417 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen

Address: Ralambshovsleden 50, Stockholm 112 19, Sweden (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#14 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $117 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen in Stockholm, Sweden, is a modern and inviting hotel in the heart of the city centre. Our location places you moments from the famed Old Town, the Skansen open-air museum and City Hall. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we have all of the amenities you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stockholm Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing