We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & staff, poor access, very disappointing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
Ranked #23 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Courtyard Marriott Stockholm is a very nice hotel that is well presented. Rooms are nice, clean, and comfortable although the beds are too firm for me (as are the beds and pillows in other Courtyard Marriott Hotels where I've stayed).

Good air conditioning, a mini fridge, and beautiful view from the room overlooking the park in front. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful which was a big plus.

The negatives:
1. The hotel sits just far enough outside of town to make it a bit inconvenient although it's in a very quiet area.

2. Location of hotel is down a steep hill from street level and accessing it is difficult, especially with bags, luggage, etc.... a hill full of steps on one side of the hotel and a very steep walkway on the other. Either way is difficult particularly going up! Even with just one carry-on bag, it was extremely trying and frankly unpleasant.

3. Very disappointed with the breakfast buffet. It was very lacking the day I was there with not a lot of selection and variety, especially compared to other hotels in Stockholm. In addition, the scrambled eggs were horrible... tasted like glue was used and made it virtually inedible. I mentioned this to the breakfast hostess/manager, but offered me nothing other than telling me she would mention it to the chef. For me, the whole breakfast experience was completely unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber.

All in all, it's a very nice hotel with great front desk staff, but given the price, location, bad breakfast experience, and very poor accessibility, I will not choose it again when I return to Stockholm.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher level overlooking the park.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penz1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and I hope that the overall impression of the hotel wasa good one.
I do understand your opinions abouth that it might be hard to access the hotel from the backside of it with suitcases and so on. It iis some extra metrers to walk if you do not carry your bags down the stairs. For your next visit also the metrostation Thorildsplan might be a better alternative if travelling with heavy bags. That is located more in the same level as the hotel main entrance.

Please accept my apologize for not finding any delicious alternatives for breakfast. Usually we get really great review for our selection and variety for breakfast. I will see to that the standard is as always at our breakfast and make sure this standard is kept, always.
Please accept my sincere apologize for the problems experienced.

I hope anyhow that you will give us a second chance and hope to see you with us again in the future.
Best regards
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our pre-Christmas family weekend in Stockholm at the Marriott Courtyard. The hotel is reasonably centrally located at a pleasant (but for us cold... well it was December!) 20-minute walk to the Old Town and its cobbled streets, pretty shops and market. The hotel is modern and having stayed several times for business we chose to stay for our family trip... and we had a great weekend in beautiful Stockholm. The Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and polite... the restaurant was a little pricey but the food was excellent and although a chain hotel, it has a clean modern feel with plenty of areas to relax and have a cocktail made by the super-friendly bar team. Hotel rooms/beds are equally modern, clean and comfortable - all good. Loved our stay and would definitely choose the hotel again when we go back to Sweden.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and remembering us so well half a year after you stay. Must have been memorable then!
Hope to see you with us again for more Christmas holidays.
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Using Tripadvisor's advice we booked the Courtyard Marriott in advance via booking.com and were delighted when we finally got here. It is a new, spacious and very comfortable hotel in a pleasant parkland area within walking distance of the City and Old Town. The subway is a 5 min. walk away and only two stops from Central station. The breakfast buffet is excellent with a wide-range of everything, including a great range of fresh bread types. The same area operates as a restaurant in the evenings and the food is good, presented in interesting ways and in very generous helpings. Stockholm is an expensive city and the Marriott is not cheap, but it is very competitive, and the friendliness of the staff is a big plus.
We arrived at 9.30 in the morning and were delighted to find that rooms were available, and similarly when we left for a late-afternoon flight an extended check-out until 3pm was not a problem.
We wanted to visit the ABBA museum where it is recommended to book on-line, and the concierge helped with the whole process including printing out the voucher which you need to then print-out your tickets from a machine in the museum lobby. We leave today to return to Australia and will be sorry to leave. Also if you would like a change of scenery, the La Brezza Restaurant in the street immediately behind the hotel is recommended. It produces a range of genuine Italian dishes, again not cheap, but very nice all the same.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in a pleasant parkland area and noise was never a problem. All rooms should b...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I am happy you enjoyed both he hotel and the suroundings of it.
Hope to see you with us again in the future.
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Easily one of the best experiences we've had in a hotel. First time in Sweden and am completely impressed by their courtesy and friendliness. No matter what time, day or night, they were more than eager to help us in any way possible. Treated us with the respect and kindness that you would like to expect as a customer, but seems so often lost in modern society. You get the feeling that they actually care for you while you're there. In particular, a trainee, Martin, who was more helpful than most other experienced staff I've seen in other hotels.

As for the actual amenities and facilities - no complaints whatsoever. Good location, easy access, decent view (from the higher floors), clean, spacious, comfortable.

Would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Choose one of the higher floors for a good escapism feel and view :)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insanechemistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for stayng witgh us and I am happy you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure Martin get special recognistion for his Spirit to serve also!
Best regards
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just completing a twelve night stay here and really impressed with the hotel and the team managing it. Reinforcing everything previous reviews have said the courtyard is new, quiet, friendly and well located two metro stops from the heart of the city. Great breakfast buffet and a good restaurant. But it's the staff that make it, friendly team who makes the place really special.

I'm a seasoned traveller on business and leisure and I would strongly recommend the courtyard for both purposes.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank MartinT1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! Really appreciated!
You are moste welcome back whenever you feel like it!
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Most enjoyable stay at the Marriott - great location - we walked everywhere possible or took the excellent subway system which was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were wonderful with an outstanding selection for all. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to any traveller to Stockholm

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunniez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We travelled on a family holiday, 2 nights, three small kids. Great spacious rooms (2) with door in between, really quiet, good breakfast, helpful staff. Buses no 1 and 4 have a stop only a block from the hotel, and take you across the center of Stockholm, and there is also a metro stop fairly close by (green and blue lines). Walking into the city center takes a while, and there is nothing to do in the hotel or near the breakfast restaurant for the kids, one star drops from there. Otherwise a five star place, and can easily recommend for anyone.

Room Tip: Our 5th floor room was really quiet, it was on the side of Drottningholmsvägen.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review.
Sorry that we could not entertain your kids, but I hope you were informed about our childrens playroom on the second floor. Tehre is plenty of amusement for the kids. Most welcome back in the future.
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,301 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#50 of 154 in Stockholm
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 154 in Stockholm
719 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
3,593 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen

Address: Ralambshovsleden 50, Stockholm 112 19, Sweden (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#14 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $127 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen in Stockholm, Sweden, is a modern and inviting hotel in the heart of the city centre. Our location places you moments from the famed Old Town, the Skansen open-air museum and City Hall. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we have all of the amenities you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stockholm Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing