We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Must be the Swedish culture of not engaging people that put me off about staying at this hotel. The hotel itself was close to the Tunnelbana which was convenient but the room was not what I would call clean. Sheets were never changed our entire stay of 6 nights and the towels were replaced once. The bathroom glasses did not come in any sterilization sheathing and were noticeably not replaced with fresh glasses

This is a good hotel if you are traveling alone and plan on using it just for sleeping. Breakfast is visually appealing but the menu never changes, same assortment of runny scrambled eggs, thick grey sausages, undercooked bacon. The breads, cereals, yogurt and fruit offered are nice.

Bar tenders and servers are not engaging, but as stated before..it may be a cultural thing.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a corner room - you will welcome the additional space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for staying with us!
I am sorry that your experience was really not good. Please accept my sincere apologize for this. Our standard is always to change sheets every third night if our guests do not ask us to do this more often or more seldom. I will make sure we look over our routines in this, but that is the standard that always should be followed.
The breakfast with a variety of both cold and hot dishes are not so varied from one day to the other as the selection is wide from start. Both bacon and sausages are cooked to an average for suiting most guests. For special orders or cooking temperatures you are always welcome to ask for a special dish or way of having you breakfast. Which is very personal for most people.

In regards to the way of greating and welcomeing guests it might be a European or Swedish way of being not so overwhelming and "on". This might come from the culture even if many of our staffing both have international experience and are from other cultures than origin Swedes.
I hope overall your stay in Sweden and Stockholm was nice and hope to see you again, if not so for showing that we can do better than experienced.
Most welcome!
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    596
    112
    25
    7
See reviews for
193
456
82
354
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes given the price we paid. Most hotel rooms in Stockholm are very small yet the rooms here were 26sq meters. Modern, clean and quite. Breakfast was included in the price and was the usual hotel fare, nothing outstanding but more than adequate. After reading the reviews re breakfast was dreading the experience but didn't find it a problem to get table even though we were there on the weekend. The hotel did not advertise it but it did offer espressos and other special orders ( omeletes etc) if asked. Had dinner at the restaurant and found the food and wine selection excellent. Staff were professional but not overly in your face welcoming. The business centre were boarding passes could be printed off was appreciated. The free Internet was adequate and there was no need to purchase the higher speed. If in Stockholm would definitely stay again. If arriving by metro from t-Central you have two choices - the blue and green line. Alight at Fridhemsplan in both cases. The blue line is shorter and it is the second stop. Get out of the train and turn left taking the St Gorans Kyra exit. On exit to street turn right. Walk two blocks to a main road with a My Way small shop on the corner. The hotel is 2 buildings away from that shop. If you don't like stairs walk to the end of the hotel and the access is easy. If choosing the green line Fridhemsplan is the 5th stop. Again after alighting from the train take the left turn off the train - SL Central direction. On the street turn right, the hotel is on that road. Cross the road at the lights and you will have a Thai restaurant on the corner. Continue for two/ three blocks and you will find the hotel. Enjoy your stay

Room Tip: High floor, with park views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walpolepark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much!
Happy that you could enjoý a nice and welcoming weekend breakfast and start the day in a perfect way.
Hope to see you again!
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Two years later I've stayed in this hotel again for a week. Again, lovely hotel, perfect location, especially if you are driving. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Not a wide choice of dishes for diner in the restaurant menu but you have great restaurants within walking distance.
If I ever had to go back to Stockholm, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for returning!
Please ask the head waiter to go through the menue in details with you for the next time as we have a wide selection, at least in our opinion and compared to other restaurants in Stockholm, and I am sure you will find a personal favourite!
Best regards
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

One of the best courtyard hotels I have stayed in! A great hotel! And if you can stay here using points, it is even better. Very helpful staff, and room is perfect. I would definitely stay here again! The only issue I has was that the address, when plugged into a map program, brings you to a spot a bit down the road. Just far enough off so that it can be difficult to find (even though it is a big tall white building). Hertz rental car is close by, within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuub55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much and welcome back to one of the best Courtyards!
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I can't say enough about the Marriott. The staff was and is always friendly and accommodating. Most of the time they know who I was (by name) when I was coming and going and were always welcoming.

About my stay:
I arrived at the hotel at about 9am, was beat from my flight, and needed to "freshen up." Unfortunately my planned room wasn't avail and I didn't want to wait so the staff member gave me a room for a different room which I was told was bigger and nicer.
Wireless internet isn't avail which sucks in this day and age, but whatever. I didn't need it all the time anyway.
Breakfast was as good as always. Uneventful and that's how I want to start my mornings.
Need an umbrella? Ask the staff to borrow one!

Room Tip: Any room away from the elevators are always a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Charlotte,

Thank you for staying with us and that you as always are pleased with the Marriott service. I am a little surprised about the internet as we have free wi-fi all over the house. Sometimes there can be disturbances in the connection but mostly this is working out good.
Please ask next time for instructions or help to use this service as it is free of charge and always available.
Best regards
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
195 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for a few days as we did some sightseeing in Stockholm. The service was exceptional. We initially had a problem with our AC and they immediately relocated us to an upgraded room. We had outstanding service from the Concierge regarding sights to see, how to get there, etc. WE had a rental car one day and used buses the other days. We traveled with ease as a result of great information from the Concierge. Its a bit of a walk to the bus stops, but not a problem. We actually enjoyed people watching and window shopping as we walked. The restaurant was excellent, but pricey as you would expect in Sweden. We shared a hamburge rand a salad one night and they were awesome. Breakfast was outstanding

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooperlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Glad you liked the restaurant and appreciated all the service from our front desk.
Most welcome back to Stockholm!
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherlin, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is wonderful for the business traveler. Very spacious rooms by European standards--free internet and fantastic free breakfast buffet. Hotel parking is ungodly expensive (around $45 USD/day), but the hotel is very close to one of the biggest subway terminals in Stockholm (Fridhemsplan). For runners, you can't beat this location. Wonderful running trails across the water to Landholmen island, which is all trails.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#46 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen

Property: Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
Address: Ralambshovsleden 50, Stockholm 112 19, Sweden (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#14 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen in Stockholm, Sweden, is a modern and inviting hotel in the heart of the city centre. Our location places you moments from the famed Old Town, the Skansen open-air museum and City Hall. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we have all of the amenities you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stockholm Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing