We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
STF Gardet hotel & hostel
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very convenient, great staff”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at BizApartment Gardet (30m away) for a week while my in-laws stayed here, then my wife moved here for 3 days staying with her sister; but we found ourselves here much of the time as there are a lot of common areas which were convenient for meetings, and outdoor tables for alfresco picnics. Rooms are small but quiet, common kitchen area as usual. Really one of the nicest hostels I have seen, and Ebba (the manager) is a delight, all the staff were as pleasant and helpful as in any 4-star hotel. ICA grocery is 5 minutes away, pizzeria is a minute more, fast food (hot dogs etc) across the street, Gardet is a huge park also across the street. Lots of public transit options to get you downtown or its a reasonable and pleasant walk into the city. Feldoversten is a small shopping mall in walking distance, they sold us a local SIM card for a week and a phone for 130SKR.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    25
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
26
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Perfect & low budget stay. There's a kitchen to prepare your own meals and breakfast if you don't want to spend 80SEK for breakfast. Bus 1 will take you to Gardet T-station and its very easy and quick to go anywhere centrally. The room was clean & comfortable however wifi was not that stable in our room and there is no hairdryer however I would totally recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very tidy, nice contemporary room. Small but very light and cozy.
I had private bathroom in my room and it was very clean too.
Loved the bed. I enjoyed my 1 week stay very much.

Staff was very friendly.

Very nice environment, quiet. I had a room on the ground floor with a very nice view to the quiet yard with trees. Right in front of the hotel sterts a huge park.

It was around 0 outside when I was there but in the room it was very warm and nice.

Wi-fi connection was very good.

The only inconvenience could be the situation. But I enjoyed a nice 10 minutes walk to the metro station. It was about 25 minutes to the city centre (walk+metro) or a 30-40 minutes walk.

All in all I was delighted with my stay there :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kukase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were on a short budget trip to Stockholm, therefore we needed a very cheap hotel just to sleep somewhere. The conditions were to have a private bathroom and window, then tried to pick the cheapest possible, so I had my concerns if the room was going to be anything but ok... then came the surprise.

We found the hotel very fast, there is a PT stop in the very next streets so we did not have to struggle with the baggage, the room was exactly as in the pictures: small but very tidy (although it was on the ground floor almost next to the entrance, it was very quiet and did not hear anything even from the neighbour rooms) so was the bathroom (don't expect the usual shower and hairwashing stuff but you get one towel), there were 3 fridges in the well equipped kitchen (just needed to arrive early to find knives :) - weird because everyone washed the stuff they used), and the stuff was also very helpful! And if you don't make a mess in the room (like you would not do at home either, I assume ;)), you will not be bothered by the fact that the cleaning comes only in every 3 days (as I remember...).

Regarding other stuff, the Wi-Fi connection was awesome in our room and we could find a TV channel with films every evening to have something as a background noise, there were always free computers in the area in front of our room to check our next day plans (no noise from here either!).

I could only recommend this hotel, everything is very expensive in Stockholm so it was definitely the best way to save some money :)

Thanks for making our stay easy, pleasant and relaxing :)

Room Tip: Ground floor close to the entrance is quiet with strong Wi-Fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megggymag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This youth hostel is a shortish bus or tube ride from the centre of Stockholm, but both are so easy to use it really isn't an issue. The plus points of being just outside the centre include peace and quiet at night. I can imagine a hostel in the very centre might be quite noisy.

The area is very clean and safe and there is a very nice park opposite where I am sure you could find yourself invited to join a kickabout or game of handball if you wanted to.

Just up the road was a decent (though expensive) bar/restaurant and slightly further away was a very nice pizza restaurant, which was friendly, good value and served very good pizza.

My single room with en-suite, though small, was clean and had everything one needed. After all, you shouldn't go to Scandanavia in midsummer to hang around indoors.The self-serve breakfast (for 80kr) was good value for money in that you could fill up for the whole day.

I will be returning and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

Room Tip: All rooms seem much the same except for number of beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apbarkway2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avesta, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked this hostel because it was reasonably close to the harbour arriving with the ferry from Finland. Our room was a nice suprise! It was big and modern with two beds, a sofabed and private bathroom with shower. We also had the hostel breakfast both mornings and it was plentiful and fresh.

Room for improvements:
* The showerheads were poor
* A childrens corner with some toys and books would make this hostel more family friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinErik28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on a business trip, it was a OK hotel.

Good:
- very friendly staff
- inexpensive parking
- good breakfast and fast internet

Bad:
- no gym (although next to a large park)
- lack of nearby public transportation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,928 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 64 in Stockholm
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Bizapartment Gardet
Bizapartment Gardet
#5 of 64 in Stockholm
474 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#7 of 64 in Stockholm
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STF Gardet hotel & hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STF Gardet hotel & hostel

Property: STF Gardet hotel & hostel
Address: 59 A Sandhamnsgatan, Stockholm 115 28, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — STF Gardet hotel & hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your STF Gardet hotel & hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing