We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern place, but a bit too far outside and no place to meet other people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
STF Gardet hotel & hostel
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modern place, but a bit too far outside and no place to meet other people”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is really a new place, all renovated and modern - too modern for my taste. I went into a hostel to have the hostel experience, meeting people and so on. In Gärdet you get clean rooms, newly made, with TV, Shower, free internet, kirchen etc. - all good and perfect, but they forgot a meeting place. So when you come there you can only go to bed and sleep or have breakfast in the morning. Why so? Because Gärdet is also quiet far outside town and connected by bus and metro which you, however, need to combine to reach it. Around it is a local area of apartment houses and a big park. The coffee shops and restaurants they have (we speak about 3 that we could discover) are small and usually not really used to open as long as downtown. We tried to get into one at 21 and they told us that they close. So if you just look for a nice bed, not so many social contacts and do not need to have a drink in the evening, then this should be your choice. Otherwise, you change maybe to a place more located downtown what we finally did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upintotheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    25
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
26
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

i wouldn't normally write a review, but i've travelled across Europe with lots of hostels coming and going, and this place was thoroughly lovely; clean sheets (amsterdam was a different story, seriously), hospitable and amazingly conversational staff and a great view. Honestly, these guys are awesomely informative and keep a reminder of how great Swedes are, i wish i was back there already. Anyway, thank you Dean (and everyone else) for a good laugh, you personally facilitated an awesome holiday, this place rocks!! Thank you STF, what an amazing time...

Room Tip: anyone will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

A fresh, functional hostel, with lots of quiet single rooms and a few family rooms, all en-suite. This is a bargain if there is such a thing as a bargain in Stockholm.
Hotel quality beds and bathrooms but with possibilites for self catered meals.
I feel ashamed that I haven´t posted about this place before, but it is nice that they have rooms. However, I´d rather they were busy all the time to guarantee they stay open, so here, welcome!
The hostel is easily reached with bus no1, there are shops close by, an out door pool in the summer just across the road, great walking areas both in winter and in summer.
It would be a 5 star stay if the breakfast was better, but as a hostel this is a real find!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is the best hostel we stayed in on our trip to Scandinavia. My husband, six year old son and I were very comfortable in our room with 2 beds and attched bath. The room is clean, spacious and well lit. I wish it wasn't painted gray, though. The bathroom was big.
Right outside our room was a well equipped self catering kitchen - with everything you could possibly need - oven, cooking range, fridge, freezer and so on. Plus it was a great place to make friends.
Near the reception is a hall with computers which you can use to plan your stay in Stockholm.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast is a little overpriced, may not be worth it.
the only possible disadvantage is it is a little away from the centre. the tube is a 10 minute walk away across a pleasant field, but you can take a bus to the tube if you want to.

Some tips about Stockholm:
1. We took a taxi from the railway station to the hostel, and found out we were cheated big tome. It is better to take the bus and tube.
2. The airport bus from cityterminalen to Arlanda is an excellent deal. You can take a bus from the hostel to city terminal.
3. The conducted bus and boat tour - Stockholm in a nutshell is a big waste of money. Incredibly boring and repetitive.
4, Stadhuset is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsybloood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed three nights and with the helpful instructions given on the advance receipt it wasn't difficult to reach the hostel which is about 10 min walking from the T-Bana station Gardet, even less if you're able to catch immediately the bus 1 to Frihamnen for about 3 stops. When we arrived at about 1:00 a.m. there was a kind guy which gave us our card/key, clean sheets and towels and every needed info for our staying there. The hostel is very big, our room with private bathroom was of medium size with two comfortable beds, clothes hanger/shoe shelf , a table, two chairs, two abat-jour and TV. There is also a breakfast room next to the reception the price is of 80kr each, there is also a guest kitchen with fridges, tables and crockery, so you can cook and eat there. It is very clean and new and WIFI is free, that was the cheapest solution we find for our stay in Stockholm, which is bytheway wonderful, but it revealed as a good one choice. We are not member of Idon'tknowwhatassociation, so we paid an extra fee but nothing big, I think it's all we really enjoyed our stay at STF Gardet and in Stockholm so we recommend them surely!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleonora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL, Alkmaar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The rooms are very good. Just in the same street is an open air swimming pool with a large fitness room. It was possible to walk to city center (+/- 30 minutes) or use a bus or underground train.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgNL_Alkmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2010

its very private...clean...affordable...own television with some cable channels, kitchen, shower, fridge and dinner table in each room. Also in the reception area they have FREE internet! Free internet is really hard to find in these places. what else can I say...this was the best hostel. the train/metro is about an 8 block walk to the Gardet station or you can take the bus which is literally in front of the entrance (red line number 1).

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lilith_the_goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,928 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 64 in Stockholm
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Bizapartment Gardet
Bizapartment Gardet
#5 of 64 in Stockholm
475 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#7 of 64 in Stockholm
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STF Gardet hotel & hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STF Gardet hotel & hostel

Property: STF Gardet hotel & hostel
Address: 59 A Sandhamnsgatan, Stockholm 115 28, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — STF Gardet hotel & hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your STF Gardet hotel & hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing