We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you come to Stockholm and you want good local cuisine.. this is the place you go!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nalen Restaurang

Nalen Restaurang
Reserve with
Nalen Restaurang is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 2,999 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $31
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you come to Stockholm and you want good local cuisine.. this is the place you go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée found this restaurant (word of mouth) and i reserved a table via internet, and we even came in 20mins late (we called the for our delay) and still they greeted us with a smile. Friendly personnel. They speak excellent english. We webt straight for the main course (meatballs for her, steak for me). Service was perfectly timed. Not too fast (so they can kick us out) and not too slow (so we get bored). Great indicator for this place: it's filled with locals so there is no "tourist" approach.. (we all know the quick-and-dirty approach).. you will not find it here. I am definitely coming back to this resto when i'm back in Stockholm.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PanosZi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    134
    30
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food was good but not exceptional. Reindeer , wildboar and deer on the menu.
Friendly service and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank s37632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really good quality of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the right place to go if you like local scandinavian food. The meat was fantastic and the side dishes delicious. The service was very good and the restaurant has a great ambience. I will come back for sure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaraHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Brilliant, great restaurant experience.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

What a way to start your first night in Stockholm. Lovely place, food super and service excellent. Had the reindeer as one should do in Scandinavia and it was superb. Would visit again if ever back in Stockholm.....Really enjoyable dining experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent modern Swedish cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I live and work close to the Nalen Restaurant and eat there once or twice per week, on average. I recommend it strongly and without hesitation for visitors to Stockholm, both for lunch and dinner. The food is of high quality. The cuisine features modern Swedish dishes, using fresh products and ingredients in innovative ways. Hence, it is a splendid way to acquaint oneself with the culinary tradition of the country, but without ending up in "routine" cooking. Among the main dishes, I especially recommend the reindeer, the meatballs and the Biff Rydberg (a Swedish classic). Furthermore, the staff is very service-minded, professional and friendly, which adds to the eating experience. The location is quite central but not on a big street, which means that big, "touristy" groups generally don't find their ways here, which makes for a somber and pleasant eating experience. Lastly, for the quality of food here, the prices are very reasonable: among the highest quality/price ratios in Stockholm.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nalen Restaurang also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Nalen Restaurang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing