We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone bad”
Review of Berns Asiatiska

Berns Asiatiska
Ranked #455 of 3,791 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $14 - $43
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Description: Berns Salonger, a hotel, conference facility and nightclub, are situated in the heart of Stockholm in 19th century splendour. This is also where you'll find Berns Asiatiska, the city's first Chinese restaurant, which opened in 1944, when it was honoured with a visit from the Chinese embassy. Berns Asiatiska still strives to be an international meeting place which introduces new flavours. These days you can enjoy dishes from all the regions of Asia. At weekends an enormous brunch buffet is served and in the afternoons, you can pop in for ?yum cha? (Chinese tea) which includes dumplings and a fantastic desserts buffet. What's more, you can always watch the skilled sushi chefs at work ?live? in the restaurant.
Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Well. Food is above average. Service was horrible. It was obviously well intentioned but failed on so many levels so that the overall experience became annoying. In the end the experience ended up feeling like a rip-off.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 226 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

When I was in Stockholm last Friday, my friends took me to Berns Asiatiska for lunch. Food just ok for my taste. Nothing really special.
Only option paying with cash was no good since I had a lot of Swedish cash.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Eleonora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with a friend out of curiosity. Very disappointed. The service forgot 2 of our orders, we politely reminded twice until we got our dishes. We tried the dim sum starters. Living in HK, perhaps my expectations are somewhat high, but this selection was of extremely poor quality. Any dim sum from a street stall, even frozen dumplings bought in a 7-11 are better. All dim sums items have been very dry and overly salty. Not juicy at all. Yet, each piece (1 tiny piece of a dumpling) costs about 4 USD...the main course wasn't better, Thai style meat balls in spicy curry which turned out to be dry grounded beef meatballs in a sauce tasting like sweet yoghurt.

Nevertheless, the restaurant is posh, so perhaps people go there to see and be seen. Food connoisseurs better stay away

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank JensH848
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

We booked online just a few hours ahead, when we arrived I don't think they had the reservation but we were seated anyway. The restaurant did become quite full so we were grateful for the kindness of the host. We ordered a set menu to try many dishes, this was good fun and had many delicious treats. The sushi and sashimi were particularly good, as were the garlic green beans. For me the bad one in the bunch was the trout which had so much salt I choked on it. The amount of food was just right and the dessert also delicious. My partner had local beer and I had jasmin tea served in a nice teapot.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank TrophyRachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely splendid restaurant overall -- service, design, interior and the actual food and flavours are all amazing!! Great wines and cocktails too, always good fun! Oh and desserts...! Brunch is something extraordinarily special truly!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank travelsavvyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Berns Asiatiska also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Berns Asiatiska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.