We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Berns Asiatiska

Berns Asiatiska
Ranked #87 of 3,056 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $14 - $43
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Description: Berns Salonger, a hotel, conference facility and nightclub, are situated in the heart of Stockholm in 19th century splendour. This is also where you'll find Berns Asiatiska, the city's first Chinese restaurant, which opened in 1944, when it was honoured with a visit from the Chinese embassy. Berns Asiatiska still strives to be an international meeting place which introduces new flavours. These days you can enjoy dishes from all the regions of Asia. At weekends an enormous brunch buffet is served and in the afternoons, you can pop in for ?yum cha? (Chinese tea) which includes dumplings and a fantastic desserts buffet. What's more, you can always watch the skilled sushi chefs at work ?live? in the restaurant.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Beautiful restaurant, with polite staff and lovely food, i had the salmon with rice and a soy type sauce it was great, the buffet dessert was truly amazing lots to choose from and all very tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rookhillstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    229
    90
    47
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Everything about Berns was top notch. We had the advantage of friends who are locals and they suggested selections from a really interesting menu; we were not disappointed with any of the dishes chosen. The service was great, staff extremely helpful but not constantly at the table. The atmosphere and decor of the restaurant is fabulous and the history is interesting. We were pleasantly surprised by the bill- the pricing of the dishes was reasonable!!! This restaurant is a great place to go for that specially meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terryandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRID
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious Asian cuisine with a twist in a trendy setting”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited Berns twice, the first time out of curiosity (had been recommended) just for a dessert and some cocktails, the second time because we wanted to try the dishes we had seen the previous night. The buildings art nouveau architecture and interior design leave a lasting impression, with its large mirrors, chandeliers, upholstry, wooden decor, etc. The food was delicious (duck, "redesigned" makis), including desserts. It seems a favorite Stockholm hang-out for trendy people. Service is friendly although at times they may forget about you, especially when it gets crowded. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadridMarco_polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great asian food + beautiful decor”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

For lunch I recommend the bento box! Excellent food, great service and all this in a beautiful decor in the centre of the city. On top of that you get fantastic pastries and cakes after your asian food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geertdesager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmophere and Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant. Our parents ate here during WWII and was one of their favorite places. I believe the atmosphere and beauty has changed little since then. And they continue to be a place to find an excellent meal with excellent service. Our waitress could not have been kinder to us. She was attentive to our needs and full of personality. I highly recommend this as a place to eat. We also returned for just a drink and found that quite fun to sit and have a drink in such a beautiful atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berns Asiatiska also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Berns Asiatiska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing