We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Berns Asiatiska

Berns Asiatiska
Ranked #95 of 3,085 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $14 - $43
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Description: Berns Salonger, a hotel, conference facility and nightclub, are situated in the heart of Stockholm in 19th century splendour. This is also where you'll find Berns Asiatiska, the city's first Chinese restaurant, which opened in 1944, when it was honoured with a visit from the Chinese embassy. Berns Asiatiska still strives to be an international meeting place which introduces new flavours. These days you can enjoy dishes from all the regions of Asia. At weekends an enormous brunch buffet is served and in the afternoons, you can pop in for ?yum cha? (Chinese tea) which includes dumplings and a fantastic desserts buffet. What's more, you can always watch the skilled sushi chefs at work ?live? in the restaurant.
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The interior of this old restaurant is beautiful with big crystal lamps hanging from the ceiling. As the restaurant is announced as being asian we had expected some nice japanese music during our dinner but the music was some night club dunc-dunc. A choice totally wrong in my opinion. The menu includes many possibilities if you like asian food as we do. However, the service seemed a bit rigid as the sake could not be served lukewarm as we wanted, just cold. Even the spring rolls were cold. But the dim sum was OK as were the creme brulé. The vegetables were tasty but served in very big pieces. Why not cut them in the same size as the other parts of the food served?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    234
    97
    48
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Have to be experienced!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I cannot talk about price/quality relation as I was invited.
Doesn't seem to be cheap but it was a great culinary experience.
We didn't decide the menu, the waiter did and it was a great choice.
Great Asian food, fresh, well prepared. Served in a great order.
Vegetables, sushi, seafood, great beans, excellent meat. Only rice could have been better.
Will repeat for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuisCharlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghera, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Just average.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Afterwork dining experience.
This place was packed with well dressed, hard working Swedish people which created a buzzing and friendly, warm atmosphere. There wasn't a table free in the entire restaurant so we had to sit at the bar. Service was very quick, friendly and informative. The menu is extensive; very extensive. Love the free wifi.
Unfortunately the food (sushi) was poor/very average. Just not so fresh, too quick, no love and just tasteless which was unfortunate. I would look elsewhere. Far too expensive for what you got.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dramatic”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It is located in the Berns Hotel with its own entrance and once you go in you'll understand why it's dramatic--red walls, high ceilings with beautiful crystal chandeliers. It could almost be considered campy if it weren't done so beautifully. The food is Asian fusion which is open to interpretation by the chef but they have a sushi menu is you would prefer. The dinner portions are very filling and we loved our food and the presentation of it. Our waitress was extremely helpful with recommendations and always making sure we were well taken care of--this was our second time at the Berns and I am sure it won't be our last!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Severely overpriced”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place is a Swedish institution situated in the heart of the city, which makes the price level somewhat understandable. The quality of the food unfortunately doesn't, which is a shame. For a restaurant having served Asian food since the 1940's one would expect nothing less but authenticity. This is far from it, especially what comes to spicing up the flavours. The sushis and sashimis are decent, but with the Korean and Thai dishes they're more or less lost having completely forgotten to add the chili everybody would expect to get. If you're willing to pay a lot and expect to get culinary excellence for it, go to Farang instead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berns Asiatiska also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Berns Asiatiska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing