We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice when in Stockholm”
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Great location very near the center yet totally quiet, next to excellent museums with beautiful views either to the sea or to the park. The stuff is very nice, kind and helpful, always with a big smile. The breakfast is very smart, a choice of quality, local and international.
The aura of the old building is present, the modern amenities make it most comfortable to spend time in. The design is what it should be, not superimposing, yet there. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whateverenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we selected this hotel for our 4 day break to Stockholm. The hotel is located on an Island not far from the main shopping areas and restaurants. The Island takes heritage seriously and only has a selection of museums and not much else on it, so despite being close to the Stockholm sites, it's a really relaxing retreat. Only boats with historical significance are allowed to moor on it. We arrived in the evening with candles lighting the way to reception. We stayed in a medium Sea View room. The view was brilliant as we had 2 windows in the bedroom and 1 in the shower room, all with shutters. The beds were very comfortable but were two singles pushed together, which appears to be the thing in Scandinavia. We didn't find it a problem. Breakfast was fantastic with a buffet of meats, gravadlax salmon, caviar, cerials, pastries, bacon, eggs, sausages, fruit salad and a very good selection of breads. Just to address a previous comment about rooms being in a separate building from the reception. Really not a big issue. We went when there was 2 foot of snow and the gap is probably about 6 metres. The first door opens automatically and you open the other with your key card. Plus the path is kept clear. I would assume they were not allowed to join them to maintain the integrity of the building as it was built in the 1700's. It is expensive but certainly worth it. In an expensive City it compares favourably and in my opinion in a much better location than Hotel Rival. A fantastic stay in a fantastic setting. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

This is a lovely hotel with great rooms in a really terrific, calm spot on an island in the middle of Stockholm. The location can't be faulted. There are museums nearby and the city centre is just a short walk away. There are excellent views of the city too.

We had reserved a medium sea view room which was pretty spacious and had good beds and a nice bathroom with a trendy basin, funky drench shower with "integrated lighting" (but no bath - they are proud of their eco-credentials) and it is very quiet at night. If you like peace after a busy day citybreaking then this would be ideal.

The service doesn't quite match up to all of this. When we arrived, tired after the long bus ride from Skavsta (we turned up well after 2pm, the hotel's guaranteed check-in time) the room was supposedly ready but needed to be inspected and we were asked to wait in the lounge, which was full of people having lunch. After a while a seat became free and we sat and waited... and waited. Eventually my partner went back to the front desk (a new receptionist had taken over) and after a while we were directed to our room. Not a good start.

The lounge/breakfast room/dining room isn't really big enough for the hotel. We arrived at a peak period one morning and had to wait around for a table to become free. The buffet breakfast is pretty good though.

Some of the rooms are in a separate building which in winter means a chilly interlude fumbling for your keycard while you run from one to the other.

Other gripes: We asked for one of the attic rooms but didn't get one despite booking about eight months ahead. We got twin beds instead of a queen.

In summary: it's the usual design hotel scenario: looks good, service could improve. The location probably trumps all this though.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suffolkwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Loved it! Just a short walk from town in a lovely quiet spot. This place is a welcome relief from the carbon copy chains you always find. Offers free tickets to nearby modern art museum. Good restaurant and very tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachcbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I absolutely loved my stay in this hotel.

The staff were welcoming and friendly and were able to help me with my very limited Swedish vocabulary. The hotel itself was clean and tidy and the design sleek, modern and elegant.

The hotel was located on a quiet island, a short walk from the main sights and attractions and incredibly peaceful and idyllic.

The only thing I could possibly fault was the price of the hotel restaurant (approx. £50 for one main and two glasses of wine), however saying that the food was out of this world and restaurant prices across Sweden are considerably higher than anywhere else I have stayed.

All in all I would have no reservations about staying here again and will most certainly re-book the next time I visit Stockholm.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yfm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This hotel is very well located. The island of Skeppsholmen in Stockholm is an oasis among the other islands of the city. Gardens, the museum of modern art and architecture, some art outside. No traffic and no pollution. SO when it snows in the winter you get to see the whole island of an immaculate white. Is close to the city center, i would say 10 or 15 minutes walk to Gamla Stan. And the walk is beautifull. The hotel has the perfect design, nice and functional, warm and trendy. The type of quality you appreciate in the details instead of the silly external signs of luxury. Nothing in the set is superficial, no golden props, no ostentation or show off. Stuff was great, kind and helpfull. My place if i ever go to Stockholm again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bola10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This was our first stop on a three week trip to Sweden and Norway and this was our favorite hotel! We got into Stockholm on an early flight from the US, then into town on the FlyBus and walked 30 minutes to the island (we could have caught a direct bus). We checked in and stored our luggage until check-in time. The historic military barracks has been gutted and our room was bright, spacious with a water view and a huge bathroom with separate tub, shower and very cool cascading sink. The location is incredible since it is so quiet! No street traffic...just museums for neighbors. You can walk, catch the bus or ferry and get anywhere. The breakfast buffet was generous and lovely. The front desk staff was very helpful getting us into restaurants at the last minute. The only disappointment was that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatlodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,699 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,151 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $205 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing