We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,475)
Filter reviews
1,475 results
Traveler rating
1,021
347
78
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,021
347
78
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small island skeppsholmen island quiet island museum of modern art naval barracks ferry stop second building moderna museet gamla stan swedish design sea view old town city centre amusement park vasa museum wonderful hotel meatballs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,475 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

Beautifully located Surrounded by landscaping on one side & the shoreline on another
Well groomed staff , polite , extremely helpful
Must stay when in Stockholm
Amazing breakfast spread & equally amazing restaurant

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank AnilS2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice read review.

Stockholm consists of 14 islands and we are very lucky to be situated on one of the smallest and greenest with all Stockholm attractions within walking distance.

Very pleased to read that you enjoyed our restaurant, we are very proud to have Alexander Carnolf as our Head Chef and the Swedish cuisine he and his team serves.

Extra glad to read your comments about the service from my team, rest assured they have read you review.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again and if you come back during spring and summer you will enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner on our terrace and in our garden.

Best,

Joachim
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

We cannot say enough about this place. Elegantly converted from old army barracks, right on the river, with a perfect Scandinavian feel. Staff is fantastic, service excellent, rooms beautiful and peaceful, and restaurant quite fantastic.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank familyNYC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review and as always it has been read by my team.

We fuses ancient with modern! Our historical buildings from 1699 to our very scandi interior.
I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Also very pleased to read that you enjoyed our restaurant, we are very proud to have Alexander Carnolf as our Head Chef and the Swedish cuisine he serves

Looking forward to welcome you back and if you come during spring and summer we are the only Stockholm hotel we’re you eat breakfast, lunch and dinner outside on our terrace and in our garden with stunning views over the harbour of Stockholm.

Best,

Joachim
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

We decided to have a few days away and both decided Stockholm looked interesting. My wife chose this hotel, and got it spot on. Excellent sized rooms, superb staff, marvelous breakfast buffet. The location is great. Very quiet, but there is ferry stop so you can jump on and be round at the old town in 10mins, to the Wasa museum in 2 or alternately a bus runs every 15 mins to get you over to the shopping areas, but you can walk it in 8mins.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RRenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and as always it has been read by my team.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very lucky to be situated on one of the smallest and greenest of Stockholm’s 14 islands with all Stockholm attractions within walking distance.

Glad to read that you used the charming ferries which is a great and quick way to go to Djugården where you have the iconic Vasa museum and the fun ABBA museum, during spring and summer you also have the amazing outdoor Museum Skansen.
The ferry also go to the Old Town and the boho chic area of Södermalm.


Thank you for staying with us and i hope to welcome you back soon again to our Eco friendly hotel.

Best,

Joachim
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019

We found Hotel Skeppsholmen using Marriott/SPG points and I am sure glad we did. The location is quaint, quiet and surrounded by fantastic views. The history of the building is interesting and the designers did a wonderful job of highlighting these historical anecdotes into the rooms. The modern design was pleasant and appealing. We stayed during a cold week in March and were able to see the island with a light dusting of snow. Very charming!

The service was perfect for our needs. They assisted with a dinner reservation across town, arranging cab service and giving recommendations for sights to see.

The breakfast buffet was divine! It was such a broad array of tasty options that all seemed fresh and well prepared.

Our room was on the second floor, I'm not sure what category it would have been. Some of the negative reviews commented on small room size. This may be true on the third floor. Our second floor room was great for two.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jleonsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

We fuses ancient with modern! Our historical buildings from 1699 ( built for King Karl XII house guards ) the building are listed and also on the Swedish 100 list and are on par with the Royal Palace to our typical scandi interior.

We are very lucky to be situated on this green little island and still in the city with all Stockholm attractions within walking distance.

Extra glad to read your comments about the service from my colleagues, rest assured they have your review.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again and if you come in spring and summer you can eat your breakfast, lunch and dinner on our terrace and in our garden with stunning views over the harbour of Stockholm.

Best,

Joachim
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

Located on an island, this hotel offers a cozy getaway from the buzzy city, yet is just a few bus stops away from the central station. Friendly staff, and a great breakfast. Yet, the "brunch" offered is a joke: nothing else than a lunch menu! And the hotel would benefit from adding a sauna (better: steam bath!) to its facilities. It is misleading that the Grand Hotel Spa is indicated under the hotel "facilities" when not offering anything in that regard.

Room tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor!
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uwe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this nice review and as always it has been read by my team.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Very are very proud over our complimentary breakfast buffet so I am very pleased you enjoyed it.
I hope you tried the scrambled eggs together with the salmon and sourdough bread, our sausages, bacon and our cheeses and our home made marmalade and our own musli together with fruit salad, our juices and to end it up with our organic coffee and a cinnamon bun or french toast = great way to start the morning.

We have a la carte brunch on Sundays and on Saturdays we have normal a la carte.

It’s seems like you have booked us through a on line travel agency and unfortunately they sometimes write what they like.
We have a mini gym and if our guests want a spa we can recommend the Grand which is only 5 minutes walk from us.

Best and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco friendly hotel.

Joachim
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews