We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic start to our European trip”
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about this hotel- it felt like a beautiful country house but in the harbour and on the city doorstep. We arrived exhausted after our 30 hour flight from Australia and this was heaven . Our beautiful contemporary room so well described by others - flooded with sunlight, white, spacious - the fresh air- the lovely walk through the garden to the most inviting breakfast room where we lingered for ages eating delicious bread and so much more. We walked around the island at sunrise, played tennis , napped, caught the ferry, visited the old city, felt restored and in love with Stockholm. Our 14 year old son loved it just as much. To say 'Highly recommended ' is an understatement. We stayed for three unforgettable days in late September.
RPM

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staerky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

My team and I are very glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are very lucky to situated on this lush green island but still in the city centre.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit Scandinavia and Sweden.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel Skeppsholmen lived up to all the reviews on tripadvisor!! Pure bliss. It is situated on a small island connected by bridge to the 'mainland' of Stockholm City. Everything we wanted to see was in in walking distance and what beautiful scenery for walking. Also on the Island is the Museum of Modern amongst things to see.

We booked a deluxe room with sea and garden view - perfect. We stayed in the 2nd building on the 2nd floor with views across to the Stockholm Old Town. The hotel are former marine barracks designed by the same Architect who did the Royal Palace. The hotel has been renovated beautifully. The room had wooden floors with under floor heating, and the bathroom all tiled also under floor heating. Our room had three gorgeous sets of picture windows (with shutters) that can all be opened - a rare luxury to have this and have fresh air. And beautiful direct sunlight.

The breakfast suited me perfectly as I love bread and boy can the Hotel make amazing fresh breads. Sadly the breakfast wasn't really to the other half's liking - he's a poached egg man and it wasn't available.

Our bathroom had a great rain shower and the bathroom sink very feng shui with a large 'pebble' over the plug hole.

If you want the best of both worlds - peace and quiet for relaxing and sleeping AND only a stone's throw away from the bars, and restaurnts - then you MUST stay at Hotel Skeppsholmen!!!

Room Tip: If you are booking a deluxe room with sea and garden view then make sure you stay in the 2nd buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KabulGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It's correct that our historical buildings from 1699 have the same architect who did the Royal Palace. At this time Sweden and Europe was going through tough times so the architect Mr. Tessin the younger one got permission from King Karl XII to take material from official buildings that was in a bad condition to build our buildings, so as proud we are that we were the first Eco labeled / Green hotel from start in Sweden when we opened 2009 we are also proud over the fact that the our listed and historical buildings was build by used material from year 1699.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. Quiet, friendly staff, and superb location. Good restaurant in a very cosy atmosphere. Personal welcome note of managing director. Only the sink in the bathroom...Did not work it out yet. Will come again and will recommend my colleagues. Tak!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice review.

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Also very pleased that you enjoyed our Restaurant Långa Raden.

We hope to welcome you back next time you visit our capital.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Architects like linear and HotelSH delivers in spades. The long ancient barracks, artistically repurposed into modern rooms and suites engage the linear, sloping, tree filled park, on the East and the undulating waterfront on the West. The details of the restoration, from the original shutter hardware, inside and out, to the iconic, mesmerizing, polished stone in the lav, make for a relaxing, and delightful stay. Very quiet, and restorative, although the city is only a short walk or even shorter ferry ride away. Take the ferry first from the hotel, so you will know exactly where it departs, in the city back to SH. Enjoy: one of the nicest hotels we have ever experienced at any price point.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed our location, our listed historical buildings from 1699 to our interior by award winning interiors and architects Claesson Koivisto Rune.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco Labeled Hotel.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

As I mentioned above, hotel made us felt like we were in IKEA, because of the Functionalism movement I think.... It wasn't bad actually...
The room was good, bathroom was interesting.
We were disturbed in our room by staff in early morning , they made so much noise while they were getting ready for the breakfast service.
Their restaurant menu was limited, so especially if you don't like seafood , it will be a bad choice,in spite of this, their breakfast was very successful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beliveornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Us Swedes are very proud over IKEA so I am very glad to read that you enjoyed our award winning interior by Swedish interiors Claesson Koivisto Rune.

Sorry to read that you were disturbed by my team when they were setting up breakfast, be assure I will inform them so this will not happen in the future.

Our Head Chef Magnus Johansson are changing our menu weekly so I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back and then you will enjoy our menu.
Glad to read you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Our 3 nights at Hotel Skeppsholmen were terrific. The room on the 2nd floor, deluxe with sea and garden view, was that and more. Fresh clean lines, quirky but entertaining fixtures in the bath, not a lot of storage but room for our cases- in short a pleasant refuge. The island is, indeed, in the middle of the city, but you wouldn't know it waking up on a sunny (or rainy) morning to the sound of ferry horns. A short walk or ride takes you to another island but there's plenty to do here: restaurants, two art/design museums, and lots of history.

We will come again

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SeniorTravelers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review!

Very glad to read you enjoyed everything from our stunning location, our bed linen to our amazing sea and garden views.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco Labeled Hotel.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have been in 58 countries and have stayed in hundreds of hotels. This hotel is hands-down the best hotel I have EVER stayed in! Service is absolutely amazing. They helped us with several restaurant reservations (choices were phenomenal); immaculately clean; sumptuous breakfast buffet; brought us champagne to our room on our anniversary; and location and views are incredible. Everything was done first-class. Room was beautiful---loved the sink and shower. Manager personally greeted us on check-in. We did not want to leave. The management and staff could teach seminars on organizational excellence and customer service. They will do ANYTHING to make this the greatest hotel stay of your life. Can't say enough. It was PERFECTION. PHDMMW

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHDMMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and what a FANTASTIC one to receive.

My team and I are very glad that you and your wife choose Skeppsholmen for your anniversary and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit Sweden and Stockholm.

Best from a very proud Managing Director,

Joachim Olausson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,698 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,151 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $203 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing