We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to Impress”
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Continues to Impress”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just returned from my 4th stay at the hotel and already looking forward to my next visit. The rooms are wonderful, location is perfect, and the breakfast is define. Staying here makes any visit to Stockholm so special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveltheWorldBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this review.
Very glad to read you have been staying with us 4 times since we opened almost 4 years ago.

My team and I are already looking forward to welcome you back for the 5th time.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    313
    67
    13
    10
See reviews for
214
682
71
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I spent 3 days in Stockholm with my mum, we choose the Hotel Skeppsholmen for it's fantastic position: 5 minutes walk from the center and surrounded by nature and peace.
The hotel staff was very polite and professional, our room was very comfortable and nicely furnished.
Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of very good quality products.

I highly recommend it and for sure I will go back there soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice review.
Very glad to read you enjoyed our location, our award winning interior by Claesson Koivisto Rune, our complimentary breakfast to the service from team.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is located in the very center of Stockholm on an island. Perfectly accessible by foot or boat or car. I would highly recommend it to people traveling to the city. You feel as if you are in the countryside but when you look around you see the entire cityscape. Young staff are attentive and very nice. Breakfast is easy going but with high quality products showcasing their baking passion with lots of country style breads. The rooms are comfortable and airy and simple. I will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.
My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are very lucky to be on this green island but still in the city centre.
Extra pleased to read you enjoyed our breakfast and our famous sourdough bread.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you will visit Stockholm,

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel last week for our 44th anniversary and generally quite enjoyed it. However, there were some things which need work on:
- the wash basin in our bathroom (and I assume the others) was very stylish but unconventional. Water came out of a faucet and fell onto what I can only describe as a mushroom shaped (without the stalk) piece of porcelain resting on a flat surface which had a slight depression in it. If you removed the 'mushroom' it revealed a plug hole. If you then turned the 'mushroom' upside down and placed it in the depression, you got a bowl which you could use for wet shaving, rather than having the water run all the time. The staff didn't seem to know about this and so the underside of the 'mushroom' was very grubby, having never, if ever, been cleaned! Leaving the bowl in the shaving bowl position after shaving didn't work - it was just left dirty and put back in the original 'mushroom' position.
- whilst waiting to reserve a table for dinner on our anniversary, I could not help overhearing one, Mr Gary C from Ontario, Canada, try to get his reservation sorted out. Somehow, he had been entered on the system as a Mr Gary C (right surname) from somewhere in the USA. After something of a battle, it was eventually mostly sorted but Mr C morphed from being an American to a Canadian and then to a Swede - after 5 mins I escaped and made our reservation with another clerk.
- when we arrived for our supper, we found that our table had been given to someone else. We had asked for a specific table and the receptionist had checked it out as OK with the dining room staff - but something had fallen in between the cracks. We went elsewhere.
On the good to very good side, breakfast was excellent and consistently so. The hotel is well appointed and on a nice quiet island, with a nice terrace (if the sun is out) - the funfair across the water can be noisy but it didn't bother us.
The hotel is only a short walk - or bus or ferry ride - from the main parts of town and we enjoyed traveling by public transport. A 7 day SL public transport pass was a very useful and much used bargain!
All in all, the hotel was satisfactory - but it could be better in our view.
Rgds,
C&J
Cheshire, UK

Room Tip: Rooms on the south ground floor get the sun when there is some and have easy access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 111cab111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is important to us.
Glad to read you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary breakfast buffet.

Yes our famous... basins are stylish to look at but not the most practical. Our interior designers was inspired by a waterfall when they designed it and the stone are suppose to be in the basin and the water running over it.

Very sorry to read that we failed to give you the specific table you had reserved.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco Labeled hotel.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I discovered the hotel while staying in Stockholm last year and knew I had to come back and stay here. I was not disappointed! This hotel is in a lovely historical building which has been converted into a stylish, comfortable and relaxing retreat while still retaining a sense of it's history. It is on the beautiful island of Skeppsholmen - an oasis of calm in the middle of Stockholm and a very easy walk, bus or ferry ride to all of the major sights (although you may not want to leave the hotel!). There are also some top galleries / museums on the island. Breakfast at the hotel is excellent and if you have good weather (which we did for 4 days!) you can take it on the terrace. We also had dinner at the hotel twice which was delicious. There are lovely gardens full of fruit trees to relax in where you can also enjoy a drink or afternoon tea from the bar (which we made sure we enjoyed every day). Our room, like the rest of the hotel, was stylish and comfortable. Very spacious (deluxe sea view) with lots of light and lovely views and I loved the shower! The staff here do a great job of looking afer you. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming and the standard of service is high throughout the hotel but at the same time it maintains a relaxing and informal atmosphere. A special thank you to Marcus and Patricia for their great hospitality. This is a wonderful place to stay if you want a stylish, quality, quiet and relaxing retreat while staying in Stockholm. It is my favourite hotel and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenie023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.

Very glad to read you enjoyed everything from our location, our historical buildings, our restaurant and our amazing gardens.
Extra glad to read your kind words about our service and my colleagues.
Be assure I will inform then about your mail.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Stockholm and Skeppsholmen in the near future.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,


Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very peaceful hotel situated in Skeppsholmen, right off the fairy on the water. For context, Stockholm is NOT CHEAP! This hotel cost a lot of money for a little, teeny-tiny room. But the room was comfortable and clean. We had to request an extra blanket for the tiny bed (twin comforter on a queen bed?!), but the hotel was accommodating.

Hotel has a lot of history and used to house Swedish naval soldiers and later was a dorm for people suffering from the plague. Don't worry - it's completely renovated and a shining illustration of Swedish design!!!

Was a bit of a hike from the main attractions, but accessible by fairy before 8:00 p.m. Would stay again if I were trying to get away, but for site seeing and exploring, would stay closer to either old town or museum district.

Room Tip: WiFi access in our room was non-existent, due to heavy, old metal doors. Also, our room was on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and glad to read you enjoyed your stay.

Our rates are during high season on the higher scale but please remember that in our room rates: VAT, service charges, wireless Internet and breakfast are inclusive.

I assume that you stayed in our standard room, I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back and then I recommend a Superior XL or a Deluxe Sea and Garden room who are spacious and have a king/twin bed.

I am sorry that you felt being away from museum and Old Town, our closest neighbours are the Modern Museum and the Architect Museum and to the amazing Vasa or the new fun Abba museum it's just 2 minutes ride with the charming ferry and the same ferry takes you to the Old Town in 5 minutes.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel in late August on a family vacation. It was a great experience. The island setting was serene yet close to the center of Stockholm. The service was friendly but professional. The rooms were well planned and although compact had everything you needed. The breakfast was very good with a large selection and of excellent quality. We enjoyed sitting outside each morning for breakfast. I had lunch there also one day and the meatballs were tasty.
And I loved the stone sink in the bathroom --it did not splash all over as some others have said.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is expensive but most places in Stockholm are!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.
My team and I are very glad to read you enjoyed everything from our location, our complimentary breakfast, the service from my team to our famous... sink.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to our historical buildings next time you visit Stockholm,

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,656 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
555 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
577 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Property: Hotel Skeppsholmen
Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing