We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property July 7-8, 2013 and could not have had a better experience in Stockholm!

The hotel is not in the heart of the city, which is what we were after, but it is a short 10-15 minute walk to Gamla Stan and any boat tour you might want. The island is quiet, the hotel is quite clean, the staff was incredibly helpful, and the breakfast is everything you might want.

The rooms are a comfortable size and the bathrooms, while a bit tight, are still more than large enough. I have to agree with other reviewers about the odd sink, though...it is just a bit weird.

One tip for anyone flying in - don't look for a cab ride in, which wound up costing us around 600 SEK (roughly $90 USD). We discovered there is a very convenient, and much less expensive option is the bus. This bus drops you off at the Central Terminal, which is about a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel, or a much less expensive taxi ride.

We would absolutely recommend looking into this hotel if you are in Stockholm!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely review to receive.
Very glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and extra glad to read your comments about my team.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to our Eco Labeled hotel soon again.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    298
    66
    13
    9
See reviews for
195
644
68
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Can't begin to describe the fabulous breakfast we enjoyed here; extensive fruit selection, cheese and meats. Great choice of bread loaves to choose from as well as our new family favorite "Swedish Toast" (which I'm going to start making at home). Eggs, yogurt with toppings; everything you could possible think of. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable, very willing to offer their expertise in the city. Wonderful location, close to everything and yet off in a tranquil quiet park-like atmosphere. Easy walking distance to everything. The only downside I can think of, and it's a very minor thing, is the sink has a strange and awkward design - don't plan on doing any handwash in it. A beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetHarperLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review!
Very glad to read you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet to the service from my team.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our beautiful capital.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel. Was originally built as army barracks, but feels relaxed not regimental. The breakfast was generous and offered wide variety. Staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Very easy to walk into City Centre or take a water taxi. Rooms have a weird upturned stone sink. Works very well, but not pleasant when cleaning your teeth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onbusiness1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice review.
My team and I are very glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes we are very lucky to be on this lush green island in the city centre and have
amazing attractions and museums close by! Our closest neighbour is the Modern Museum and the Vasa Museum and the new ABBA museum is just 2 minutes away on the charming ferry that goes from Skeppsholmen to Djurgården and The Old Town and Södermalm 7 days a week all year around.

I agree, the bathroom sink is a conversation piece.. and not the
most practical.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to our Eco Labeled Hotel next time you visit Stockholm.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our second stay at Skeppsholmen, and while we have visited the other great hotels in the city, there is something perfectly balanced about this place that makes it irresistible. While the rooms are modest in size, the location, amenities - including an amazing breakfast buffet each morning - and understated Swedish style make it very memorable and unique in a sea of interchangeable "luxury" hotels. The manager is very personally involved and goes out of his way to make guests feel both welcomed and appreciated, And the walk back to the park-like beauty of Skeppsholmen Island after dinner makes you feel like you are retreating to your own private sanctuary, even though it is in the middle of the city. This is a great place for the perfect Stockholm experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank art_traveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.
Very glad to read it is the second time you are staying with us.
My team and I are very happy
that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I agree the island of Skeppsholmen is quite magical, located in the
city centre and it feels as you write like a private reserve.


I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to a third stay at our Eco Labeled hotel in the near future.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

In between the two islands that have many attractions for visitors to Stockholm is a small island that is home to the modern art museum and a wonderful hotel. It is in the midst of this wonderful city and yet Hotel Skeppsholmen is like a country retreat. The rooms are in the modern Scandinavian style with all the necessary appointments. The only detail that was less than perfect was the rather dark bathroom with a not very workable stylishly modern vanity sink and a shower that needed a larger partition so the water didn't get over much of the floor. But all the pluses made up for these details. The restaurant offered a delicious breakfast buffet and we enjoyed two great evening meals there. The dining room is lovely and there is great outdoor seating if a guest is in the mood. There is also more seating down in the lawn area. The staff of both the hotel and restaurant are gracious, helpful, and fluent in English. A wonderful place to stay when you are visiting stockholm,

Room Tip: Third floor has a view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrskaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.
Very glad to read you enjoyed our stunning location, our interior by Swedish interiors Claesson Koivisto Rune and their Scandinavian design to our complimentary breakfast to our restaurant Långa Raden and our terrace.

I agree our bathrooms are stylish but not the most practical...

Very glad to read your comments about my team.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from staying at this beautiful, unassuming hotel in Stockholm. It is on a little island far from the maddening crowds yet with easy access to the best of the city. The rooms are small but the junior suits are lovely. The modern design is soothing and gives a sense of space. The lighting is gorgeous and there are stunning lamps which serve as the hotel art. The garden is magical with guest having quiet places to sit and enjoy the freshest air I have ever breathed. The breakfasts are amazing. Ask for Helen who is the sweetest, most helpful waitress we have encountered. The front desk staff is friendly but ask for Wilhelm if you want someone to truly go out of their way for you. Not everything is perfect although it is close! Bathrooms are a little small although the products are great. The restaurant seems popular but tough if you are vegetarian and just want a salad. They need to expand their menu. We will definitely return for the beauty, the design and the sense of space. I don't want you all rushing because you will ruin my paradise but this is really something special!

Room Tip: Suites are a lot better than the double rooms but they are more pricy. I think they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desirose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review.

Very glad to read you enjoyed everything from our stunning location on this lush green island but still in the city centre, our Scandinavian interior to our complimentary breakfast buffet.
Extra glad to read your comment about my colleagues Helen and Willhelm, be assure I will inform them about your review.

I agree! To sit in our garden and have breakfast or a glass of wine is quite magical.

Best and I hope to welcome you back soon again to Stockholm.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

One of the very best hotels very well hidden. Located in a small island in center Stockholm a few minutes away from the center of the city. Peacefull gardens by the seaside. The restaurant and its service are vere good. Breakfast very simple but one of the best.

Room Tip: Sea side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petros D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice review.

My team and I are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco Labeled Hotel.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Property: Hotel Skeppsholmen
Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing