We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, stylish and central”
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had a great two nights here. Decor and food great. Service at reception warm, welcoming and helpful with our queries. Rooms not particularly large - if going for 'Sea view' superior, I would recommend going to 'XL'; we were upgrade for free and the room was nearly twice the size (larger bed too!).
Would definitely stay again.
Highly recommend the frequent ferry from the end of the road outside the hotel as a route to Gamla Stan or Djurgarden - both of which are a few mins across the water and leave every 15mins.

Room Tip: Sea View XL much bigger than regular Sea View rooms
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing this lovely review.
Very glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree, the charming ferry which goes 7 days a week all year round is a great way to go to Djurgården, Old Town and Södermalm.

My team and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco Labeled hotel.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Skeppsholmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is possibly the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. Clever design, muted scandinavian colours and views to die for made for a wonderful four day break. Great staff, good restaurant recommendations - cannot rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernadette239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review.
My team and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best from Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is situated in one of the most idyllic spots of the ever so beautiful Stockholm City. The restructuring of an old military building , by a team of famous international architects, has resulted in a comfortable, cosy and very stylish establishment.
Our room was fairly spacious, clean and offered panoramic views of the amazing nature in which the hotel is submerged.
The breakfast buffet is excellent with a vast selection of ...everything. The dinning room which beautifully reflects the simplicity and charm of the Nordic design offers a very pleasant and romantic location for guests as well as non residents where to enjoy delicious first class cuisine.
The service both at the reception and in the restaurant was courteous , discreet, smiling and obliging.
Our stay at this hotel was most rewarding in every respect. Hope to return to "Skeppsholmen" when visiting Stockholm again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pervanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review!
Very glad to read you enjoyed our stunning location, our Scandinavian interior in these historical buildings from 1699 to our Restaurant Långa Raden.
Very glad to read your kind words about my team.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to our stunning capital and our Eco Labeled Hotel.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Luxury hotel in a very nice part of beautiful part of Stockholm city. Short walking distance in to the city center, but beautiful water and green surroundings, with museums around and ferry to take one to different places in the city and archipelago. Nice boutique hotel. Worth a try, but not worth the money. There are better.

Location 6/10:
On an island in the city archipelago. The only way to get there is by bus, taxi, car or walking. No train or airport bus. Approximately a 15 min walk to the city centre. Beautifully located and green surroundings. A little bit finding parking spaces outside and its expansive, around €30/$35 per 24h.

Lobby/Check-in 3/10:
Modern and classy lobby with nothing extra, but just a nice ambience over it. Friendly and helpful. No places to sit as you can see, its tiny, so it can get crowded. Did not inform about wireless or asked if we had any questions. Were supposed to have received an upgrade complementary, but did not look so, and the promised surprise, was some roasted almonds. Hhmm....for that price, come on.

Room 6/10:
A double room, which was nice decorated with cool, contemporary style and modern twist. Nice, big, beds. Beautiful view from the big windows. Spacious and a nice feeling of a boutique hotel. No rest to put suit case by the wardrobe, so it had to be on the floor. Not so good selection in the mini bar.
The bathroom was nice and modern with very cool zink and toiletries. A rain forest showerhead that was very nice. It was a little worn and had dents here and there, and the flat screen TV and its box, could have been hidden away a little bit better in such a room (see photo).

Restaurants 6/10:
The breakfast buffet is ok. It has what you need. It might look little of everything, but its not a big hotel, and it fits your need, but thats it. Nothing special and very little selection of everything, so that was a bit of a disappointment, ie no fruits, little selection of toppings for toasts and sandwiches. A nice atmosphere and surrounding was positive.

Other:
There is a gym/fitness center, did not have time to try. No relax or pool. Wireless internet is included, but not fast when I was there. There is no water boiler or coffe maker. Parking was difficult and its a bit difficult to find the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Glad to read you enjoyed everything from our location, our Scandinavian interior by Claesson Koivisto Rune, the ambiance to the service from my team.

Sorry to read your comments regarding our complimentary breakfast, we normally get very nice reviews about the buffet and that you didn't feel us being worth the money.

I hope you will try us again and then you should visit us during summer season and you can have a swim in the morning, play tennis on our outdoor tennis court, founded 1882 by King Oscar II and have all your meals on our amazing terrace and garden.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Relaxed environment, nature around, good food, all 5 minutes away from the busy part of the city. I suggest this hotel to couples, who would like to have a romantic gateway as well as culture and a busy city nearby. Modern rooms, excellent dining. We had a nice romantic dinner here. Highly priced, but realistic in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passion76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review!
My team and I are very glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best and looking forward to welcome you back to our Eco Labeled hotel in the future.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this beautiful hotel. The hotel is very clean and has a beautiful decor. The staff was amazing, very friendly and helpful. The food, especially the breakfast was very good. We definately will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review!
Very glad to read you enjoyed our Scandinavian interior to the service from my team.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to our Eco
Labeled hotel.

Best from a snowy Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Located on one of the islands in the center of Stockholm. This particular setting offers an unusual calm that one won't find elsewhere in Stockholm. Connections with the city center are good (but imho rather expensive ) : There's a busstop right in front of the hotel (Bus #65), a taxi stop also.
Next to the hotel there's ferry to Djurgarden and Slussen.
There is no bar as such : the breakfast room serves as bar and restaurant at the same time.
Rooms are well-equiped but design does not allways mean practical. For instance : try shaving in the bathroom, you'll see why...
Something that really bothered me was the fact that in the restaurant/breakfast room the lights were turned down really low. I appreciate a certain cosy setting but i prefer to see what i'm eating.
Staff is very kind and helpfull.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Wanderer_Like_You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Glad to read you enjoyed our stunning location to the service from my team.
Since we are located in buildings from 1699 and are listed by the Swedish Government, I agree! We are not the most practical hotel in some aspects but we hope that our stunning location in these historical buildings, our chic Scandinavian interior by the Swedish interiors Claesson Koivisto Rune to that we are a Eco Labeled hotel makes up for it.

We have a tradition to have candles at breakfast in Sweden and I am sorry that you felt it to be on the darker side.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future and if you come during summer season you will have breakfast on our terrace.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,675 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
590 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $218 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing