We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #2 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel Skeppsholmen is very nice place to stay, and it is located in beautiful surroundings. We stayed there from friday-sunday, and had booked a 'sleep in package' with late checkout at 5.pm on sunday, and it also included roomservice-breakfast on sunday. The staff were very friendly and serviceminded, we got an upgraded room due to an unfortunate smell of fresh paint in the first room we got (although the room was beautiful we wanted a different room). Our new room had beautiful sea-views, and it was no problem whatsoever to get a new room.
The breakfast was really good, and the the dining area was nice with a homely but still stylish feel to it, and great tasting food.
The only downside of
our stay was a nightclub/event that played very loud music on 'Sødermalm' - the sound carried very well, it sounded like there was a club right next door, and the music kept on until 3-4.a.m. However, it was not the hotels fault, but still disturbing to us.
All in all we had a great stay and would love to come back in the summertime.

Room Tip: The superior XL rooms are great, with kings-size beds and lots of light and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millemoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you do much for this lovely review!
Glad to read you enjoyed everything from our stunning location, our breakfast to the service from my team.

It's correct that the Fotografiska Museum had a event last Saturday and I am sorry that the noise travelled over the water from Södermalm.
This event was a one time event at Fotografiska.

Best and I am looking forward to welcome you back next time you visit Stockholm.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    298
    66
    13
    9
See reviews for
196
645
68
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have been fortunate enough to stay here twice and in preparation for third visit. A beautifully designed hotel located on Skeppsholmen Island in Stockholm it is a short walk from all major attractions. The rooms have the most fantastic beds and the Byredo toilietries are a nice added touch. The morning breakfast is fantastic. I just love this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraveltheWorldBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review and very nice to read you are coming back on your third visit soon.
Very glad you are enjoying our Duxiana beds, our breakfast to our stunning location.

Best and hope to see you back soon at Skeppsholmen.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

great hotel, helpful staff, good quality rooms, close to key attractions, good restaurant with breakfast included. hotel is an old navy base situated on a small island which is still within walking ( 20 - 30 mins) distance to old town, royal palace, opera, shopping and so on. unique, charming and love the felling of being a little secluded but close to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spitfire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice review.
My team and I are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best and looking forward to welcome you back to our Eco Labeled hotel next time you visit Stockholm.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had a great stay at this hotel. It's one of only two listed buildings in Stockholm and it had previously been a military accommodation. It's been refurbished to a high standard, and the room I had was large with a big bathroom. The bath was really large with a significant shower head to get you drenched!

They also had a plaque on the wall in my room stating who had lived there last and some history on the building before it became a hotel.

Overall an interesting place to see, and I enjoyed two meals in the hotel restaurant which is very homely in its feel. The staff were really friendly as well.

I got a taxi from the airport and it cost SEK 550 and took just over 30 minutes. One word of advice make sure you use a reputable taxi firm at the airport, as Sweden deregulated the taxi business and now they can charge whatever they like as long as they display the price on the window of the taxi. Whilst there I used Taxi Kurir and Taxi 020 which are both large fleets and operate a standard charge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruffytheCurrySlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review!
Glad you enjoyed our historical buildings and its correct that the buildings are listed and they are also on the Swedish 100 list! The Government of Sweden rank the best 100 buildings from a historical point of view and we are very proud to be on the list together with the Royal Palace for example.

Glad to hear you enjoyed our Restaurant Långa Raden and the service from my team.

Best and I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to our Eco Labeled hotel.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel skeppsholmen has a very good breakfast. The food has a really perfect quality and you do not make any extra rubbish (want I hate about hotel breakfasts sometime). The island is easily reachable by a bridge. And it is just a ten minute walk to the city. Taxis are allowed to cross the bridge as well and there is the 65 bus which just starts next to the hotel. Rooms are nice and the bathroom had almost too much space ... It is the perfect spot if you want some island quietness, but you are still opposite the modern art museum and can make nice walks around the area. Nice one!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this review!
My team and I are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Yes our location is stunning on this urban oasis island in the city centre and we are very lucky to have the modern museum as our neighbour. If you want to visit the amazing Vasa Museum you can take the ferry who goes 7 days a week all year round, the ride to Vasa only takes 3 minutes.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the summer time and then you will enjoy your breakfast on our terrace.

Best from a snowy Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights here from the 10th January 2013. The staff were very helpful and very polite. The included breakfast was nice and diverse as was the evening meals. The location was very good being in between the two main islands with easy access to both whether via foot, bus or boat.
The room was ok, beds were comfortable and the shower was very nice. Overall the rooms were very clean. I was disappointed to see no coffee or tea making facilities and that no iron was provided unless requested later.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!
Glad to read you enjoyed everything from our location, our breakfast and restaurant to the service from my team.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best from a snowy Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Decent hotel with a very good location: on the one side - away from the noise, on the other - not far from the center (a shopping center NC 20 min walk). Breakfast is quite diverse, has a parking behind the hotel, a good wireless (signal level). The staff are polite and helpful.
Quality housekeeping is poor (in our room was a cobweb in the corners). Sink with a stone in the middle is not very easy to use (although looks nice)

Room Tip: I do not recommend to book large superior double room - the windows of the rooms overlook the back y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your feedback is important to us!
Glad to hear you enjoyed our stunning location, our complimentary breakfast and wireless Internet to the service from my team.
Sorry to hear that we failed regarding the cleaning in your room, we will certainly look in to that.
Yes our famous basins are a conversation piece and I agree! Not
the most practical.

Best and I hope to welcome you back to our historical buildings dating back to 1699 next time you visit Stockholm.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Property: Hotel Skeppsholmen
Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing