We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great waterside location”
Review of Restaurant J

Restaurant J
Ranked #253 of 3,046 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $56 - $129
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A charming experience for the taste buds and eyes alike, the nautical theme of J Nacka has been inspired by a summer house in the American sailing paradise of Newport. Surrounded by ever-changing scenery, diners can watch ships cruise by from their tables during summer. The restaurant itself is accessible by sea, with several routes for boats to take to and from Stockholm's unique archipelago. When winter falls, guests are enticed back inside to enjoy their meals by the warm fire. Boasting such a spectacular view over the bay, it should be no surprise that seafood is the speciality at J Nacka. Other highlights include a wide range of brasserie cuisine, American classics and a Sunday brunch buffet.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great waterside location”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Candles flickering in the snow guide your walk to the entrance. Great atmosphere, wonderful food. We had the Christmas table (buffett) which had a fabulous array of foods to try.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank hollyb00ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    101
    37
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple and very good food.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location by the sea ist a dream. Candle-Lit , Romantic and the menu is well chosen. Havent had the best experience in Sweden in Restaurants, but J does the job perfectly. The Service is very good. Very attentive and fast. The Food was well presented and tasted lovely. Would recommend this restaurant to all.....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aljoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
240 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“nice average brunch - great views”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

located in nacka strand outside stockholm centre, so it is a 15 minute drive - however you can also just catch the public boat from slussen which goes direct to the entrance door of the restaurant - so definitely the way to arrive.
The restaurant is situated in a spectacular setting on the marina in nacka strand.
the theme is maritime, and the service efficient if not exactly friendly.
Weekend brunch is busy and definitely a money maker for this establishment , but at SEK 285 per person you are entitled to expect a bit of service also, and you dont get that.
the buffet is nice and big with good quality ingredients, nice and tasting good. but not spectacular.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upplands-Vasby, Sweden
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went here on conference to have dinner. The waitress was very unpleasant and answered us back in a very hostal tone. Dinner was OK but nothing out of the ordinary. I had expected much more. The Toast Skagen was the best! They were very good in knowing the allergies and taking that in consideration. The setting is beautiful and the open fire is cosy and create atmosphere but the noice!! It was terrible and you could only have conversation with the one next to you.
It's very high ceiling and maybe that is why it's so noisy.

If you want a wonderful setting but not much privacy this is perfect. But if you want excellent food and enjoy your company there are better restaurants for that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emtes54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice food and cloudberries for dessert”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Overall it was a nice experience dining in Restaurant J and as it's the closest restaurant to Hotel J it made sense to give it a try.

The food was nice and a decent choice overall. Some of the menu items were a little on the expensive side, for example a Sirloin steak for 345 SEK. I opted for the meatballs which were probably the cheapest item on the menu (150 SEK)but also quite a small portion as it turned out, although that wasn't a problem as I'd ordered a couple of side dishes as well.

The highlight of the meal was seeing something new. In the dessert menu they had a Vanilla Panna Cotta with stewed Cloudberries. I'd never seen this fruit mentioned, let alone seen it on a menu, so I gave it a try and even though they had to replace the panna cotta with ice cream (panna cotta was out of stock as it turned out) I was still very pleasantly surprised. A cloudberry looks like a small raspberry but they're orange and taste a little like apple and blackcurrents stewed down, or at least that's the closest I could equate it too. Definitely worth trying if you ever find it on a menu and I've found out that eating them stewed down with ice cream is actually a better combination, according to some of my colleagues from Sweden.

The restaurant was very open plan which was good for the atmosphere although I can imagine it getting quite noisy if it was very busy. Service was good and prompt and staff were friendly.

If I'm staying at Hotel J again I'll definitely be going back to eat in this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron_Galbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant J also viewed

Nacka, Stockholm County
Nacka, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Restaurant J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing