We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Melanders Fisk

Melanders Fisk
Ranked #235 of 3,026 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Swedish, Scandinavian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Södermalm
1 review
“Great food, terrible service”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The fish was fantastic, and the cardamon creme brûlée was delicious, but our waiter was extremely rude. We weren't told that we had to be finished by a certain time (7pm!), he did not check if we wanted more drinks (our glasses were empty for at least 30 minutes), and when we asked for dessert he made out that it was a major inconvenience! There were still many other people in the restaurant when we left so it was not like we were holding them up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    50
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
347 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Simple and perfect fish at at a higher price than expected .”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Not only was the meal perfect but the service as well .I just wish you would get a vegetable included as only potatoes come with your entree , as the prices seem a bit high in such a casual place. The restaurant is in a mall with a very open feeling .We liked that it wasn't a tourist place . Plan on spending at least 75-80 dollars for a dinner .Mall closes at 7 on Sunday night ,but it is a breath taking beautiful place (food only ) . Not a kid restaurant . We ate everything on our plates,it was soooooo good . My husband gave his fish a 10 ,and he is really fussy !

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelyse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Toast Skagen and great atmossphere”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I didn't catch the name of this place the first time I ate here. Then, I spent the next year trying to remember where it was and what the name was because the toast skagen was so great. I was dying to have it again. We asked everyone in Sweden and finally figured it out. We went back twice in June and it was just as good. Great toast skagen, lovely ambience and excellent people watching.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travl4funandbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fresh fresh fish”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The fish in this place is excellent, with all of the Swedish specialities included. The lox with cream sauce and potatoes are great and the mixed deli plates is terrific. The wines are also top notch, the breads are wonderful and the butter is Swedish butter. Nice service too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
163 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good quality seafood”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We ordered moules-frites and räksmörgås. Good presentation, delicious and huge portion. Nice place and friendly staff. Will definitely be back!! :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kangdamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melanders Fisk also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Melanders Fisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing