We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not good. Service surly. Would not return”
Review of Sogni - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sogni
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food not good. Service surly. Would not return”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Ate here with my husband in June. My food was okay (ie I ate it). My husband's main course, on the other hand, was inedible. He ordered rigatoni Caprese. Well, that dish never went anywhere near Capri!! For which Capri would, no doubt, be grateful! My husband's pasta (and mine) was not al dente - more al chewy. My sauce (fruitti di mare) was reasonable but my husband's had chopped tomatoes which had no flavour whatsoever and appeared to be just thrown into the rigatoni, stirred a bit and served. For our appetizers and main course plus a very mediocre bottle of red wine we paid far too much and this is the very worst type of "Italian" cooking. My husband's family are Italian and if you served this anywhere in Italy you would be deported. And rightly so. I can't say anything good about this place. Sorry!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kartouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, missouri
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This restaurant is very close to the Hotel Stureplan and other hotels in that area. We ate here twice because on Sunday night many places other than American chain restaurants in the area were closed. We also ate here twice because the food and service were both excellent. There are large windows on two sides of the very attractive dining room that look out on the street and pretty older surrounding buildings. The wine list is nice. We shared a salad to start and they had no problem with that. They do not rush you and we had no surliness at all. The tiramisu was excellent!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norms_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyreso, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“There are scores better in Stockhom!”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

How about this: a) a surly waiter who b) told us the sparkling wine we wanted was probably all gone. He managed to find 3 glasses full as an aperitif but c) when we tried to order the same wine with our meal it WAS all gone...d) no parmesan offered to top our OK pasta dishes.. e) the tiramisu WAS NOT Tiramisu - it was horrible cheap sponge layers and artificial whipped cream. No mascarpone, no sponge fingers soaked in coffee and liqueur. And artificial-tasting make-do chocolate sauce drooled over the whole concoction. f) They refused to take the stuff back and even charged me for it!! Don't be fooled by the posh website. I reckon they think the brats at Stureplan next door are too sozzled to tell the difference between good, bad and indifferent food, service, smell. Avoid this place! Especially if you really like Italian food. There are scores of better Italian restaurants in Stockholm where they DO know what Tiramisu is.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J1Walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“excellent service , food , style and experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

visited the restaurant last night , a small traditional italian restaurant with a simple but effective menu. service was excellent , ambience superb and food very good. the atmosphere changes around 10-30 when the restaurant transforms into a club with some dance music and an energetic youthful crowd. a most excellent experience.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miketipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“avoid the hostile "sommalier" with the medusa hair.”
Reviewed June 20, 2010

the food was ok, but the waitress was rude and aggressive. when we tried to order drinks before dinner, she just about refused to take our orders, claiming that she needed to know what we were eating before she could tell us what wine to drink. one of us asked for ginger ale, and she said that she "had no use for it" at her restaurant. we were about to get up and leave before she finally backed down. we are still not sure why she was so rude. did she hate americans? was she having a bad day? was she sad to see the princess get married? who knows. maybe she was a crazy person who needed help, but she made our dinner miserable. we should have left, but we were tired from all the festivities. everyone else seemed nice, however, so if you can steer clear of the self-professed "sommalier" you might have a good meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swanbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sogni also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing