We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for light sleepers”
Review of Jumbo Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jumbo Stay
Certificate of Excellence
aberfeldy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not for light sleepers”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here before an 8am flight and it seemed that there was a constant noise of doors shutting all night and flat footed people thumping along the corridor on the way to and from the bathrooms.
The bedside lights in the room was a single very bright light in the middle of the wall which just didnt work for 1 person in a couple reading while the other dozed. The beds were comfortable but for even half the price I wouldnt bother

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feldian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    118
    58
    13
    2
See reviews for
43
68
131
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gore, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a unique hostel experience! Jumbo Stay transforms an old Boeing 747 into basic but comfy double rooms with TV and additional storage in the original overhead lockers. Location was perfect for us, as we had an early flight the next day. Bathrooms are well thought-out but very small. The inclusive continental breakfast, served in the compact but fun cafe/lounge area is a great addition for a hostel.
Totally recommend it for something different, but NOT for those who like their little luxuries!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AndEBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

How often do you get the chance to sleep in a converted Boeing 747-200 Jumbo Jet?

The rooms were small but tidy and beds comfortable, toilets and showers were located in the rear section and was clean and well maintained.

The aircraft, while having gone through a large transition from passenger jet to a hostel, still bears a lot of remains of being a passenger jet.

In the rooms the overhead bin would still be present, same with the windows and cabin doors were still present.

The beds were comfortable and if located in the right side, you would have a nice view of Stockholm Arlanda airport.

The Jumbo Stay, while perhaps a bit expensive - is definitely worth every SKK! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the right side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was told on arrival that this is the only hotel on a plane in the world, so it certainly has novelty value, but now having stayed there I can see why it is the only one - planes do not make comfortable hotels. The conversion has been done in a purely functional way with no aesthetic merit - outside the original grace of a jumbo has been almost completely lost. I booked this because it was close to the airport and seemed to offer better value than the other exorbitantly priced hotels in the area. However, it is not better value, it's just cheaper and you get only a one star experience. The room I booked had a shared shower. I would have been okay with that for one night but what the booking website didn't tell me was that the room was housed in the wheel bay (!) and was no more than a large cupboard with no windows and only accessible by separate metal steps, so that to take a shower one had to go outside and up 3 flights of stairs to the main floor! This was not okay, so I complained- the only alternative was to pay to upgrade to an en suite room; booking one of the other budget hotels like the Ibis or Quality Airport hotels would have been better value since even the en suite room (as shown in pics of the hostel) has a very small shower room and was spartan in its fittings. A bold experiment but not as 'cool' an experience as the idea suggests. Not an experience I will repeat.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roamingjiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

For our family's one-night layover in Stockholm I decided to indulge in a night in the cockpit suite. On the positive side is the fabulous novelty and relative spaciousness of this suite, which includes the cockpit itself (outfitted with a queen size mattress from wall to wall), a very nicely appointed private bathroom with shower, the first-class lounge, and a private outdoor terrace with views of the airport. It's also super convenient to the city -- you can just hop a shuttle to the terminal for the high speed train into Stockholm which takes you into town in 20 minutes.

On the down-side is the feeling that you're sleeping in .. well, an old plane. When in bed, there are broken wires hanging down from the cockpit ceiling just above your head and the foam mattress, though serviceable for a night, has breaks in the center through which you can feel some kind of hardware.

The first-class lounge could really be better furnished. Rather than set up as a living room area, it is lined on either side with old, broken looking, decommissioned airplane seats. My daughter actually opted to sleep in one of those rather than the roll-out cot the hostel supplied. And though the suite is equipped with a space heater, it was a bit cold and drafty.

All in all, I don't regret our stay. For a special overnight, this is a really neat location with a great WOW factor -- especially if you have a younger child, or in my case a husband, who loves machines and transportation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Overhear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here mainlynfor the experience and also as I was leaving early the next day.
The experience is neat - it can't be beat - u stay in a old jumbo 747 :)
It is conveniently connected to the terminals by frequent buses
Butit is worth only for 1 nnight. As it is pricey - everything in Sweden is
It does get quite claustrophobic aasthe rooms are quite small :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
Good Morning Arlanda
#4 of 9 in Arlandastad
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#93 of 154 in Stockholm
261 reviews
Connect Hotel Arlanda
#5 of 9 in Arlandastad
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumbo Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumbo Stay

Property: Jumbo Stay
Address: Jumbovagen 4 | Arlanda Airport, Stockholm 190 47, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jumbo Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only hotel located inside a real authentic Boeing 747, Jumbojet. The aircraft was first flewn in 1976. Last journey was from Dublin to Stockholm in 2002. We have a nice wing walk / terrasse on the left wing, perfect for plane spotting. Our bar and cafe are open for everyone all days in the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jumbo Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumbo Stay Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing