We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for the night before your next adventure. Next door to Arlanda airport.”
Review of Jumbo Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jumbo Stay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Really nice and clean, a bit small rooms but hey, they are inside a jumbo jet! Good connections to Arlanda airport, free bus every 15 minutes most of the day, about five minutes ride there. Afternoon pass available, about half price, if you need to rest during the day. Checkout at ten. Breakfast included.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anttimater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 354 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We got into Sweden late in the afternoon and had an early morning flight so this hostel was very convenient. It was about a 5 minute free shuttle ride from the airport to the plane. You cant wear shoes in the plane so they give you slippers. The way that they changed a plane into a hostel is really cool. The cockpit is a sitting areas with snacks and a reception. We stayed in a dorm style room which was cheaper then some of the other rooms. It was small but not claustrophobic. There are bathrooms with showers down the end of the hall and each room haw power sockets and a tv. They provide linens and towels. Its not close to the city center or any activities and the rooms are a bit small to want to make this your home base but it is really convenient if you have to be at the airport early, or you get in from a flight late. It is a neat experience and a novelty. The people who worked there were very nice and they start serving breakfast at 3am for the early morning flights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovinparadise314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hostel is close to the airport (the 1st stop on the airport shuttle) and is great for novelty value.

We stayed there for 1 night and I think thats all you would want to stay, as it is very far from the city centre and it IS a hostel, so you are sleeping in small rooms with bunk beds and have to share a toilet with other guests.

However, it is very cool to stay on a converted plane, the staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast is included. I do not think it is GREAT value for money, but Stockholm is a very expensive city, so it is still a lot cheaper than other places.

Probably lots of fun if you have children.

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin share room (2 people share 1 bunk bed). Shared toilet. I would not want to go in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephie_Roro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I spent a night here as I had an early flight out of Arlanda Airport the next morning. Jumbo Stay was a great hotel stay, in that it was an interesting novelty experience. The rooms are not big, but perfectly clean and comfortable. There are power sockets and bed lights next to each bed, and there is a tv in the room that had some Swedish channels available. It is quite fun to look out the windows and realise you're in a plane!

The food is nothing impressive (not unlike airplane food really!), there are some ready made meals that can be microwaved, and average sandwiches, along with packaged sweets and snack foods. The bathrooms are clean and well-kept. The elevator to get in and out of the hotel is a bit tricky, it requires the button to be held until the doors automatically open, but it's better than trying to climb the stairs! There is a shuttle bus to and from the airport that takes about 3 minutes, excellent for late arrivals and early departures alike.

All in all, it's an amusing choice for a night's stay when you have to get to the airport early the next morning, though not worth considering if you plan on exploring central Stockholm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villarosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

very nice hotel, especially for kids who really enjoyed it. Rooms are obviously quite small
but did not expect anything different. Rooms and toilet are very clean.
Breakfast could be improved a little bit both in quantity and quality but anyway a good choice for a night
before an early flight

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fangiolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I unfortunately missed my plane home in July 2012 and was looking for an inexpensive place to sleep. The Jumbo Stay was a very pleasant surprise, with a single room for round about SEK 480.-. I really loved the way they converted the airplane to a very clean and bright hostel.
The room had a large bed and a smaller bunk bed above. The bed was comfy and I had a very relaxing sleep. TV, free WiFi was included in the room. The WiFi signal was pretty weak in my room (at the end of the plane), but it still worked for me. Bathrooms were at the end of the aisle (appropriate word here, right?), and all three were clean and in flawless condition.
There was not enough time to taste the breakfast (served from 3 am). But I'll definitely return to check out the cockpit suite and spend more time in this great hostel. I'll just plan it ahead instead of an unplanned (and expensive) stay by missing a flying plane... ;-)

Room Tip: There currently a huge add on the plane's eastern side. If you want a completely unrestricted vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hostel was amazing!! It is really interesting to see how they have converted a jumbo jet into a hostel... and it is much more spacious than I expected. The beds are so comfortable and everything is incredibly clean. The bathrooms are a decent size too, but I couldn't figure out how not to get so much water all over the place. The staff were so wonderful and helpful. The elevator seems a bit odd, but it works well once you realize you absolutely have to hold the down or up button the whole time you are in it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not so close to reception because it's near the airport, people check in at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taterwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#97 of 155 in Stockholm
280 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 69 in Stockholm
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#6 of 69 in Stockholm
643 reviews
Norrmalm
Interhostel
Interhostel
#47 of 69 in Stockholm
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumbo Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumbo Stay

Address: Jumbovagen 4 | Arlanda Airport, Stockholm 190 47, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: $51 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jumbo Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only hotel located inside a real authentic Boeing 747, Jumbojet. The aircraft was first flewn in 1976. Last journey was from Dublin to Stockholm in 2002. We have a nice wing walk / terrasse on the left wing, perfect for plane spotting. Our bar and cafe are open for everyone all days in the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Jumbo Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumbo Stay Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing