We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The safest way to use a Boeing 747” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumbo Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jumbo Stay
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The safest way to use a Boeing 747”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I unfortunately missed my plane home in July 2012 and was looking for an inexpensive place to sleep. The Jumbo Stay was a very pleasant surprise, with a single room for round about SEK 480.-. I really loved the way they converted the airplane to a very clean and bright hostel.
The room had a large bed and a smaller bunk bed above. The bed was comfy and I had a very relaxing sleep. TV, free WiFi was included in the room. The WiFi signal was pretty weak in my room (at the end of the plane), but it still worked for me. Bathrooms were at the end of the aisle (appropriate word here, right?), and all three were clean and in flawless condition.
There was not enough time to taste the breakfast (served from 3 am). But I'll definitely return to check out the cockpit suite and spend more time in this great hostel. I'll just plan it ahead instead of an unplanned (and expensive) stay by missing a flying plane... ;-)

Room Tip: There currently a huge add on the plane's eastern side. If you want a completely unrestricted vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swedee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    114
    56
    13
    2
See reviews for
39
66
126
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hostel was amazing!! It is really interesting to see how they have converted a jumbo jet into a hostel... and it is much more spacious than I expected. The beds are so comfortable and everything is incredibly clean. The bathrooms are a decent size too, but I couldn't figure out how not to get so much water all over the place. The staff were so wonderful and helpful. The elevator seems a bit odd, but it works well once you realize you absolutely have to hold the down or up button the whole time you are in it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not so close to reception because it's near the airport, people check in at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taterwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

A 747 converted into a 26 room hotel. It is a hostel. Basic amenities. I had a single bed room with ensuite bathroom. Good hot water supply. Good TV connection. For dinner take the free shuttle to the Skyport where there are four or five "airport" restaurants or walk across the street and eat in the Radisson.
Breakfast in the old first class section. Shoes off when you enter the plane is a good idea to cut down on noise as people walk the carpeted corridor.
Nothing extraordinary but a fun and unique experience.Shuttle bus to the terminals run every 15 minutes and take 5 minutes. So it is a great place to stay if you have an early departure. I caught the 6:15am bus and was through security by 6:45am.

Room Tip: Share bathrooms or want your own? Be sure to choose when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed here at the end of May, booked the cockpit suite. Staff were very friendly/helpful, the rooms and common areas are clean and well kept, and the cockpit makes for a very interesting experience, possibly the most unique in your travels. Highly recommend it and bear in mind that it is a real retired aircraft that has been converted into a hostel (not a hotel), there is a novelty factor and uniqueness about it so if you're looking for all the usual perks of a hotel, stay in a normal hotel!! Most of the complaints seem to be from people who expect to be in a conventional hotel once they walk inside when it is not supposed to be one and would be less fun if it was.

I would go back to Stockholm just to stay here again. Glad such an opportunity exists!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-in-the-desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
235 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Thanks to a change departure time by Air Berlin I was forced to stay overnight at the Stockhom Airport in Arlanda.
There was good in the bad because this way I got to stay at "Jumbo Stay". Prime location for a 5:00 am start and best value for money. The rooms are functional , the staff was friendly and breakfast was served from 3:00 am (useful since AirBerlin only serves snacks these days).
Every 15 minutes there is a free bus connecting the hostel to the airport.
I´d stay there again any time.

Room Tip: The lowest price will get you a room in the "wheel box" - I chose an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blauemadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
298 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This cool hostel is located very close to the Arlanda Airport (main airport for Stockholm, Sweden). To get to the hostel you can take the free shuttle number 14 which runs pretty regularly from the different terminals.
We stayed in a 2 bedded dorm (bunk beds) which also had a tv, and free wifi if I remember correctly. I paid 450 SEK at the time and it was the best rate compared to the nearby hotels. This rate also included sheets and towels.
Our room did not have a private bathroom but rather the communal bathroom/shower was located at the end of the corridor. It was very clean.
This hostel was definitely worth it especially since our plane got in quite late and the reception was super helpful in giving us directions and tips for downtown Stockholm.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piteå
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

* Very close to Arlanda airport.
* Cool experience to live inside a plane.
* Very small but nice and cleen room with a TV and free (and fast) Internet connection.
* Around 150 USD for such a small room and no private toilet/shower is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Arlanda Airport
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu SkyCity Hotel, Arlanda Airport
1.1 mi away
Good Morning Arlanda
Good Morning Arlanda
#4 of 9 in Arlandastad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Arlandia Hotel, Stockholm
2.6 mi away
Connect Hotel Arlanda
Connect Hotel Arlanda
#5 of 9 in Arlandastad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
23.9 mi away
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumbo Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumbo Stay

Property: Jumbo Stay
Address: Jumbovagen 4 | Arlanda Airport, Stockholm 190 47, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jumbo Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only hotel located inside a real authentic Boeing 747, Jumbojet. The aircraft was first flewn in 1976. Last journey was from Dublin to Stockholm in 2002. We have a nice wing walk / terrasse on the left wing, perfect for plane spotting. Our bar and cafe are open for everyone all days in the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Jumbo Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumbo Stay Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing