We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel with great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Story Hotel Riddargatan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    401
    111
    43
    12
See reviews for
90
478
49
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Story Hotel. The location is great, the decor of the hotel is beautiful, cool and urban and the staff was very nice. Also there is a very nice bar and a restaurant in the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and nice-looking with a perfect bed. So overall it was the perfect hotel experience for us and I recommend the hotel for everyone. Ps. the internet is free and wireless, and works everywhere in the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a brilliant hotel! It's in a brilliant location for exploring central Stockholm, literally could not be better placed. We loved the decor and style of the place, very hip and stylish. We chose one of the smaller rooms, The Friggebod, and it was fantastic. Certainly not too small, in fact it was bigger than many hotel rooms I've stayed in over the years. The bed was extremely comfortable and huge, and the bathroom was divine. It had underfloor heating and an amazing walk-in shower. All in all, the room was brilliant and I'm still amazed at the price considering the rest of Stockholm. Our only criticism of the room was that at the weekend we were kept awake by the music from the bar which was coming through the window as we overlooked a courtyard. Not a big deal though, and it wasn't too loud.

Breakfast was delicious, a real Scandinavian spread, and was nice and late compared to some hotels. We didn't try and restaurant, but the bar was great - very lively and a good atmosphere. We were a little blown away by the price of two gin and tonics, but this is Stockholm so to be expected (though they were on the expensive end of the spectrum even for Stockholm).

I would definitely come back to the Story hotel if I was visiting Stockholm again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eat7gokb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

It's a fantastic hotel if you like design and unique style. The breakfast is great. And the location is perfect for having a drink and shopping. There are many modern bars and clubs in that area. If you like fashion and would like to explore nice stores, then choose this hotel to stay is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyo_ting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel offering an excellent location with some quirky touches! My wife and i reserved one of the bathroom rooms on the fifth floor (luckily due to the noisy bar below). Check in was swift and simple and no credit card was needed due to extras being paid for when you order them (room service, drinks etc). The room was compact, but comfortable for the size, however the mini bar was virtually non existent! All in all a great hotel and a real bargain compared to others!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jollygud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were here for two nights in Jan 2013. It is a bit out of the ordinary this place with bare concrete walls, odd art and 'memorable' announcements in the lift! :-) Don't be put off by this! It's warm, clean, comfortable, modern, well positioned and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

As has been said by others, if you are after an ordinary Holiday Inn, Raddison type experience, this is not for you. Cross night or jazz club with cocktail bar with nice restaurant and you are getting near. The room (109) was large and comfortable, the wifi 1st class and free.
I suppose the real difference was the decor throughout, highly individual, different and exciting.

Another point to note, this must be the first city centre hotel that I ate dinner in for all the nights I stayed - the restaurant is relaxed and serves good food. Throughout the hotel there is good music - and a relaxed, but efficient vibe. All in all a great place.

The only real negative is there is no option to run a tab against the room, meaning each piece of laundry had to be paid for, as did each beer or meal - other than that no complaints at all

Oh ... and others have said the staff are great too.

Room Tip: 109 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing