We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel, well located”
Review of Crafoord Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crafoord Place
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hostel, well located”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I went to the hostel on January, the staff is nice and welcoming. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and you feel safe. It is located within walking distance of everything. The only downside I would consider is the fact that there are only a few bathrooms and showers; however it is really worth the price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yamilenajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
7
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hostel was okay as a place to sleep but there were quite a few things I didn't like. I'll start with the positives: it was relatively inexpensive, there is a kitchen and free wifi, it was fairly clean, there was almost always a bathroom available, the staff were friendly and there is a nice view out the window.

The location is not very desirable - the hostel is a 15-20 minute walk from central station, making it somewhat difficult to reach and during the cold winter months this could be very unpleasant, especially with luggage etc. It is not really near anything of significance. Another issue was that the lift in the building was broken (not the hostel's fault), and the hostel is on the 8th floor, although to their credit I was offered a 30% discount in light of this.

The atmosphere seemed non-existent. The hostel was around 30% full when I stayed and very quiet. At times the corridor felt more like I was in a hospital than a hostel. There is a no-shoes policy, which I didn't mind. I didn't like having to pay SEK50 to rent sheets - they should be included in the price. The bunk beds were squeaky and not that comfortable.

If the price was right I might consider staying here again in the summer when the long walk from the station wouldn't be so unpleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the middle (e.g. 3-7) should get better wifi coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Hostel made me feel warm and welcome. The people that work at the hostel are helpful, friendly and do a great job in maintaining a clean and tidy place. The hostel has a kitchen where you can store your shopping items as well as a "free" cupboard where anyone is allowed to take from. Easy to access WIFI and the connection is strong. The rooms have nice heaters if you come in the winter time, and the rooms are quite cosy.

Room Tip: Room number 9 is the quietest as it is the furthest room down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was the first time in a 'hostel' for me. I usually travel with my parent and stay at high end hotels. This time I travelled as a lone student and wanted to try out cheaper options. I am really glad that I chose this one as my first hostel :) . It took half an hour walking from the central station main entrance. Could be a little difficult to find, but if you follow the direction carefully, it's pretty simple. Though the entrance of the building seemed complex, when you get inside, it was really lovely,cosy and nice. The interior decoration is very charming and informative as well! Kitchen was clean and inviting. Enough toilets and wash corners. And also clean. I met the owner, she is a nice lady and 2 staff working there were really helpful and friendly. They sincerely want to sort things out for you what you need. The location is also perfect. You can just walk up to the main tourist attraction drottninggata, towards gamlastan and onwards. They have a luggage room downstairs. Security seemed tight, but of course you need to be careful about your own valuables when you are staying with strangers. There are plenty cupboards to lock your things in. By the way, they have hair dryer for common use. Also some tea , coffee , sugar and utensils. For bed linen and locks you have to pay. Free strong wi-fi. Cafes are very near. 7-11 just around the corner! I will stay there if I visit Stockholm again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went to Stockholm between 14th and 21 august. I was looking for a hostel for guys, a place to enjoy it, not a simple hostel for sleep and make breakfast. So I found it. Crafoord Place is very tricky to reach, but in Crafoord Place ( it's a kind of district) you can find a indications series and you'll find it. Personally I used gps and there weren't problems. In add of these things, the road in front of the hostel will be ready by few weeks I think, so in the future this will be not a problem more. Except it, I cannot imagine other problems in Crafoord Place. The staff is the best of ever, everyone of them was very kind and funny, they organized parties and bbq party habitually and they lived with you in the hostel. Some guys of Stockholm have decided to live there for a little because it's too funny and cheap! The hostel is not too far to the downtown (15 minutes on walk) or you can use the bus (too expensive for me but it depends by your age and your legs). The benefit of the hostel in a very expensive city like Stockholm is the possibility to cook; in add of this, the supermarket ICA ( don't go to LIDL, it's too far) is very close and it has everything you need. The hostel is clean, including the rooms and the toilet. There are three showers for sixty guests in total and three wc. So..enjoy Crafoord Place and Stockholm!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessie702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Quiet. No activities or staff around when u need them. Blackout occured while i was there n it lasted for hrs. No one knew what to do as it was 'outside reception hours'.
Long term stayers who treat place as their own n wake everyone in the dorm at all hours. Difficult to locate if u don't know where it is.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hostel is very clean and well organized. The kitchen is pretty and it offers a wonderful sightseeing on the beautiful skyline of Stockholm. The owners are so kind and nice, we had a pleasant barbecue with them and the other guests. The hostel is also in a good position because it is both quite close to the center and to a metro stop.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#93 of 154 in Stockholm
261 reviews
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
3,448 reviews
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#6 of 66 in Stockholm
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 66 in Stockholm
1,130 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Skanstulls Hostel
Skanstulls Hostel
#8 of 66 in Stockholm
446 reviews
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 66 in Stockholm
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crafoord Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crafoord Place

Property: Crafoord Place
Address: 10 Haelsobrunnsgatan, Stockholm, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crafoord Place 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel in Stockholm with Great views! 1st choice hostel in Stockholm for the independent traveller. Located in the City Centre of Stockholm. Lot's of restaurants and nice coffe places in the neighbourhood. Only ten minutes walk to the main shopping and sightseeing area in Stockholm. We are a small, friendly hostel with only 10 rooms and 40 beds. Arriving by car? This is the Place to stay. Welcome to Crafoord Place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Crafoord Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing