We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, curious setting”
Review of Shanti Soft Corner

Shanti Soft Corner
Ranked #888 of 3,044 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Södermalm
Sala, Sweden
Level Contributor
264 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food, curious setting”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The food is western style indian cusine with traditional hot spicy food and other alternatives. Service is fast. Be aware of the long and narrow outlay of the restaurant. We had made a reservation and were seated just by the kitchen "doors". This was not a good place with loud music playing and lots of people going in and out of the kitchen. But we asked for a new table and got it 'pronto'. Would I go back - yes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    41
    22
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very limited meal like snacks at the cost of overpriced dinner”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

In the dinner, I do not take much food. A veg Mac bean menu (Burger) is enough for me in the dinner. But here I got very limited dinner like snack in the dinner.In Europe you may get good & enough Indian food at the cost of 12-15 Euro. But we paid 21 Euro per head for limited meal.

Any Indian can guess what I would have experienced after going through content of Thali having cost of 175 SEK.

Very little Chana Dal, toor Dal, very little rice (both dal were not enough for little rice) & salad no curry at the last but not the least.......''only one PURI''......you can guess if you will be offered only one puri without any curry then what will you feel. I ate rice with Salad because both dal were not enough for rice.

I went to Mcdonald just after this dinner to eat something. If you don't value your money only then you should go to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Excursionist_S11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely indian food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Out of the tourist trap area. Soooo gooood food! And kingfisher beer. Perfect naan bread. Had nice chicken and sauces.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladfors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
269 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Really good indian food and fantastic restaurant experience”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

WOW! That is my impression after the last two visits to this restaurant. First time was to pick take away. Second time was a dinner with family. Extremely pleased with the experience and food both times!

Shanti Soft Corner is tucked a bit inside from the main road. The restaurant is well decored in indian style; lighting, furnishing and music just right and very indian. And the menu is crafted just right - offers excellent combinations & varieties. And the staff on the floor deserves an applause for the way they treat guests. They are right there when you need them, are quick at getting what you want and are gone when you need that bit of privacy!
We ordered 'lamb roganjosh', garlic nans and 'mixed tandoori thali'. Each dish tasted absolutely yummy. We are already impatient to visit again :-)

Only factor which has scope for improvement is the 'WC'. When you step into the WC, you feel like you walked from a 4 Star hotel to a 2 Star hotel. Neat and clean, but the decor is lousy with some paper print outs stuck on the wall advertizing cookery classes(!!!!) etc. Who ever owns this place needs to take a look at this and get this part of it right.

We did not try the bar. So cannot comment on it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnoopPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lunch is good, dinner is EXCELLENT”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lunching at Shanti Soft Corner, you get good Indian food and very efficient service. Having dinner here is a whole other kettle of fish. The evening dinner menue is full of delicious Indian cuisine as well as some custom-made house specialities. The "Touch of Marcus" dish is probably the most delicious I have ever had at an Indian restaurant - it's up there with my all-time favourites. In the evening, the service is still quick but a little more relaxed (in a good way) than during the lunch rush hours - friendly yet efficient.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarieAntoinette_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanti Soft Corner also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Shanti Soft Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing