We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge place, lots to see”

Swedish Museum of Natural History
Ranked #34 of 301 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Huge place, lots to see”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one big museum. Come prepared to spend one full day here. Good that they have an in house café that serves food. Or you could bring your own food, they have places to heat and eat.
The museum also has a dome IMAX, which is an experience in itself. Do watch on of those too.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank VaikomViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    144
    55
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Naturhistoriska Riksmuseet”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Swedish Museum of Natural History (Swedish: Naturhistoriska Riksmuseet, literally, the National Museum of Natural History), in Stockholm, is one of two major museums of natural history in Sweden, the other one being located in Gothenburg.

The museum was founded in 1819 by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, but goes back to the collections acquired mostly through donations by the Academy since its foundation in 1739. These collections had first been made available to the public in 1786. The Museum was separated from the Academy in 1965.

One of the keepers of the collections of the Academy during its earlier history was Anders Sparrman, a student of Linnaeus and participant in the voyages of Captain James Cook. Another important name in the history of the Museum is the zoologist, paleontologist and archaeologist Sven Nilsson, who brought the previously disorganised zoological collections of the Museum into order during his time as keeper (1828–1831) before returning to Lund as professor.

The present buildings for the museum in Frescati, Stockholm, was designed by the architect Axel Anderberg and completed in 1916, topped with a dome; the main campus of Stockholm University was later built next to the museum.

The museum has an IMAX cinema called Cosmonova. The cinema is also the largest planetarium in Sweden.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilD1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice for kids... who know Swedish”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love Natural History Museums, so I decided to use the last few hours of my Stockholm Card there. Some (more recent?) exhibits are in Swedish and English, but a lot of info is only available in Swedish... which made it a not-so-great experience for me - I must learn Swedish, I guess ;)
Great "Homo sapiens & family" exhibit; I also liked the part where the history of the museum itself was told.
I didn't go to any movie - it is still expensive, even with the Stockholm Card (the Stockholm Card guide doesn't explain very well how that works, but the people at the ticket office were very clear explaining it).
Like most Natural History Museums, it is best for kids... anyway, the metro stations outside the centre of Stockholm were prettier, so that was an added plus on the trip - if you have several days in Stockholm it is worth it, maybe not if you only have a couple...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MagdA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible !!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Highly recommended ! Had a great time and The theatre Was just splendid ! (do take headphones along per person for English audio) or you can purchase from there (15 SKR) ! Great experience ... Many different things under the same roof ... Butterflies , animals , fishes , dinosaurs and much much more ! Defiantly recommend the theatre ! Overall a 5+ from me ! But I was desperately in need of money exchange from euros to SKR but that wasn't there and they only accept the SKR for everything ! So do keep in mind ! Would defiantly advice anyone to pay a visit :) cheers,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayda_advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“museum with animals”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

here you can find almost all animals that excist on the earth, situated just outside Stockholm and across the museum there is a famous park and with all sorts of flowers

Helpful?
Thank windisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swedish Museum of Natural History also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Swedish Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing