We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great location and value”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was looking for a nice, clean and central spot in Stockholm, and found a great value at Castanea. The hostel staff were wonderful and helpful, and the facilities were nice and clean. Rooms are small, but I was just looking for a spot to lay my head at night. The beds were comfortable. And the location can't be beat -- within walking distance of several tourist destinations. Overall, a great place for budget travelers seeking a good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenAdach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    66
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
44
72
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hostel is located in a charming building in the heart of old town and is in walking distance to almost all major sites on the island. Day and night, you'll see hoards of busload of tourists in this neighborhood. So if this is what you like, then it's a perfect place to stay.

I was shocked to see my tiny single room with bare concrete floor. It was so small (roughly 6"x6") that after putting down the luggage, there's not much space left, luckily room comes with a big window with a nice view of the inner court yard.

Also, beware the hostel charged a lot more than other place for sheets(plus one towel). The kitchen has absolutely nothing. Not even coffee or tea. Basically, you're really on your own. One night the Wi-Fi went down and no one in the hostel could get on Internet, we had to wait until next day when the staff arrived to have it fixed.

Another thing bothered me was prior to my arrival, they sent me an email for the entrance's security code but for whatever reason, the code they gave me only worked for interior door but not the building's exterior door. I was stuck outside on the street until someone else let me in. Funny thing is the next day I saw same thing happened to another new arriving hostel guest.

Bottom line is the hostel is in great neighborhood and excellent location but don't expect anything else and be prepared for the hefty fee for the sheets/towel.

Room Tip: Great location in the heart of Stockholm old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123kwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

As i'have never stayed in a hostel before Castanea i don't have any experience to compare Castanea to others. Castanea has beat my expectations from a hostel. It is very clean, charming and decent place. Hostel staff especially the blonde lady were really great, friendly people. They made my stay very pleasant there.Common areas such as kitchen and toilets are also very clean . It is right in the middle of Gamla Stan. . If you are keen to stay in a hostel i highly reccomend this place.


Nothing really..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blitzistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hostel overall I would say below is nice. Stay here if in Stockholm, it's great located, clean and staff is friendly.

It was a great dissapointment that you'll need to pay in addition for sheets. Of course you can bring your own, but have you ever seen a backpacker travelling with sheets?!

There are some small lockers in the dorm, but they should be paid for.

And the most stunning for me was a kitchen without free tea or coffee. And defenetly you can buy it at the reception! Or look throug leftovers.

And do not forget to inform hostel if you're going to check-in after 6pm. After 6pm till 8 or 9 am reception is closed and there are noone to help you to check-in.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Alu_Minsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I vowed never to stay in a hostel again after nightmare experiences in the early 2000s. But I am so pleased I changed my mind to come here. I stayed here for three nights, the first two I was with friends as we had come to run the marathon and we booked a four bed dorm, it was comfy, clean, the staff were very friendly. It is perfect if you want a relaxing, quiet time as the common areas and kitchen cannot be used after 11pm. I was put off a lot of hostels as they do seem to be party central. I was staying an extra night to make the most of my time in Stockholm, so I moved to a twin the singles having been booked and I decided to splurge having run a long way! As a single woman I felt perfectly safe the whole time, I have been in some dodgy places in the past so this was very important to me. If (or when) I come again I will have no hesitation booking a bed in one of the anger dorms.
The location is fantastic, you can walk easily to the major sights as Stockholm is not a big city. That said, we were extremely lucky with the weather, but the T Bahn stop, Gamla Stan is a short walk away.
The kitchen was clean and tidy, as we're the bathrooms. Overall this is a fantastic place, good value, excellent location and has converted me back to hostels.
There is free wifi and I strongly recommend taking the breakfast deal at the neighboring cafe, Under Kastanjen. Excellent value and a really delicious breakfast that kept me going all day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed in one of their private room with two twin beds and it was great! Good size room and very clean. We also stayed at the "dorm" type room and had no complain about that either. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Great location and plenty of restaurant and shops around. You also got a good deal on breakfast next door if you stay at Castanea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Db201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Castanea is a pleasant hostel which is centrally located wkich makes visiting Stockholm very easy. It is close to everything, we didn't have to use any public transport during our 4-day stay. The kitchen is well equipped and is a good alternative to all crazy expensive Stockholm restaurants ;-). In the hall between the rooms on the ground floor, however, it is very cold and we were freezing movin from our room to the showers and back (we were there at the end of April). The showers on the ground floor are also preety old-fashoned. On the other side ground floor is quieter. The room was nice, clean, convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
566 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 154 in Stockholm
1,266 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
455 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
641 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castanea Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castanea Old Town Hostel

Property: Castanea Old Town Hostel
Address: 1 Kindstugatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castanea is a small cosy hostel. Located in the Old Town - the very center of Stockholm. Here you stay in private room or dormitory. All rooms have big windows, some with the view of the chestnut three outside. Guest kitchen for your own cooking. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Castanea Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing