We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet location in the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Lincs, England
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“quiet location in the old town”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in a single room for a city break. I arrived out of the check in hours but this wasn't a problem as they had emailed me a code to get in the door. There was also a lift as most of the rooms are on the 2nd floor. I took a taxi from the bus station to get here which cost 160 krone, but I walked to the underground station at Gamla Stan on the way back as it was daylight, it was only a 5 min walk downhill from the hostel.
The room was small but quiet - until the construction workers arrived at 7am to start work! Fine though if you're an early riser. The room doors themselves are noisy when they close but otherwise the hostel was quiet. There was a good sized and very well equipped kitchen which was extremely useful on my trip. The communal dining areas were a good way to meet other people and I met more people here than I have in any other accommodation I have stayed in. The shared showers were clean and although there only seemed to be 3 showers for our floor, there wasn't a problem getting in. There were 2 computers with internet access which were free to use.
I didn't really have much to do with the hostel staff although they made sure to offer help if I needed it. This is not a hotel, but for anyone happy to be in a hostel, I would recommend this one in Stockholm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    67
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
44
73
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My partner and I booked 2 nights at the Castanea Hostel both before and after a Baltic Sea cruise. We both loved it! The rooms were small but clean and neat. The staff was always happy to help. It is located in a quieter part of Old Town, but near to everything needed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed using City Bike rental to see a large portion of the city. You can obtain a 3 day pass a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenQueenColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I did quite a lot of research into Stockholm hostels and although it wasn't my first choice, I ended up staying here because of availability and I'd highly recommend it. It's really close to Central station (only a 10 min walk and pretty straight-forward) and you're in the heart of the Old Town. The benefit of this is that it's quiet, pretty, yet you're literally seconds away from a wealth of bars, restaurants and picturesque attractions.
As with any hostel, the experience relies quite heavily on the other guests and the amenities. Guests wise, it seems to attract a mixture of people - from older travellers to young backpackers and groups of travellers/couples. That's kinda what makes it really nice - especially as a sole traveller. There's no TV, but a couple of nice chilled-out areas to relax and chat with others, or blog/work with a laptop (since there is a good free wifi connection via the hostel too). The kitchen is a decent size and includes everything you need, plus two fridges, so you can really save the pennies by cooking and eating in with other guests (a very welcome edition since it is so expensive to get a standard meal in Stockholm). Bathrooms are clean and there's enough of them - no waiting in the mornings for a shower or the bathroom, which was really good, especially as there are quite a few dorms. In terms of beds, they are comfy enough and the duvets are great. I stayed in the 14 bed dorm and had no issues at all - it's definitely one of the quieter hostels I've been to (in a great way, not a dull way - I just mean there's no music playing or TVs) and everyone I met here was great.
The staff are really nice, friendly and approachable, and most importantly, really accomodating without being 'owner-like' in terms of breathing down your neck or constantly watching you/so eager it's annoying. They keep a notice board updated and have info (check the files on the bookcase) for recommendations and tips for eating out, getting around, sightseeing and transport to the airport. They also let me check in early as the bed was available and you can put your bag in a locked room pre/post-check in without any hassle.
Oh and there are also two computers available to use.
It does really feel welcoming; it's clean, bright and like a 'home from home' and I'd highly recommend it to other sole travellers of all ages. I'd definitely stay here again, especially for the price.

Room Tip: If you're on a budget, the 14 dorm room is totally fine. It's clean and the door does slam a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg-British
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nothing beats the location of this hostel. Right in the Old Town but away from the busiest alleys and streets that makes the environment quiet and peaceful. As mentioned here a thousand times, dragging your wheeled luggage is not a good idea through the cobble-stone streets especially because you go up and down the slopes. Make sure to keep the door codes handy (which they will e-mail to you) because reception is not 24/7. Beds are comfortable but always remember it's a hostel and not a hotel so be ready to share everything with everyone including the noise from the inside. The common room provides ample space for eating, chatting, reading, writing, etc. but shouldn't be used after 2300. Two internet stations prove very useful but if you have an iPad or a tablet, don't hesitate to take it with you as it was nearly impossible to open several windows at one time on top of the Swedish keyboard. A little padlock for the free locker use adds peace of mind when you roam around Stockholm. A little flashlight should also do the trick of not having to turn the light on every time when you need to look for stuff. I think a little consideration on others also goes a long way. They're so nice that even after your check-out at 1100, they would still let you store your luggage in the luggage room and let you hang around there (but there's a lot to do in Stockholm all the time) until your late flight in the afternoon or night. Ample toilets and showers. Clean and great staff. Overall, a great value for your money.

Additionally, I needed to book three nights there but did it so close to my travel time that I could only book two split nights. I was very happy when they e-mailed me back in response to my request to be put on the waiting list for the second night. Therefore, I was able to stay there all three nights but had to check in and out every single day.

Room Tip: Ironically, I felt more comfortable as a solo traveller staying at the 14-bed room because there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodie-In-A-Hoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My spouse and I recently stayed at Castenea in Gamla Stan. Perfectly situated for exploring Stockholm, it is convenient to the tunnelbana, trams, buses and ferries that serve Stockholm. The island of Gamla Stan is great fun to walk, explore and eat and drink. The hostel itself is very clean, quiet, and the staff are most helpful and quickly respond our email queries. We had a double private room on the 3rd floor overlooking the street that is featured on this month's cover of Conde Nast Traveler magazine! The kitchen has 2 small refrigerators and there are 2 close grocery stories to walk to if you choose to cook at the hostel. The common room is also nicely set up for cards, or reading. A variety of folks choose to stay there, from backpacking students to couples in their 50's (like us!) A helpful bulletin board is in the common room with staff recommendations for food, shopping and exploring.
We stayed over the Midsummer holiday and the staff set out a lovely bowl of Swedish strawberries and fresh flowers for the guests to enjoy. We loved Castenea and we loved Gamla Stan.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem very quiet, not real spacious but you will be out exploring the beautiful area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Lovely place to stay in. It was well furnished and clean, plus great location too. The only minus point is that the staff is not always available 24/7. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leithpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We booked a double room and we planned to arrive in Stockholm, but we had some problem with the car and arrived late: the staff was very polite, they waited for us and explained everything!
We booked a double room, and it was very clean and cozy!
The dining room, the kitchen and the bathroom were also very clean, nice and recently renovated: a lovely place to chat with other guests.
The hostel is in a great position: in the old town, very close to café and in the most beautiful part of the city!
We loved this place, and we would love to come back! If you are looking for a place to stay in Stockholm this is the best choice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadja858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
581 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 154 in Stockholm
1,287 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#29 of 154 in Stockholm
465 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
653 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castanea Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castanea Old Town Hostel

Property: Castanea Old Town Hostel
Address: 1 Kindstugatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castanea is a small cosy hostel. Located in the Old Town - the very center of Stockholm. Here you stay in private room or dormitory. All rooms have big windows, some with the view of the chestnut three outside. Guest kitchen for your own cooking. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Castanea Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing