We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our vist Perfect!”
Review of Lydmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lydmar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lovely hotel with a friendly and accomodating staff. Convenient and the outside bar area is a draw for the young and beautiful each and every night. With live music, it is a bit noisy especially in the rooms in the front and surrounding the terrace. Their buffet breakfast is very nice and substantial enough to get you going for a lovely day of sightseeing. Staff is knowledgable of how to find things and to map locations. We loved staying here!

Room Tip: We loved the spacious room.....500.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJ1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 632 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Lydmar Hotel last summer. I was in town for a wedding, and tried out three hotels during my three night stay in the city. Lydmar by far exceeded my expectations for the stay, and I found the hotel to be a great mix of hip and luxurious.

I was greeted in the reception at the tiniest reception desk I have ever seen. The dask was placed in the middle of the room, and allowed for the very inclusive comfy style that Lydmar seems to embrace. I was not separated by a wall from the receptionist, which was nice. The receptionist showed me up to my room, and placed a sign on the desk saying something along the line of "helping out - be right back". This is the first time I have ever encountered a reception being left empty at a 5 star hotel, but very much in line with the concept!

The room was really neat, and I absolutely loved the bathroom. There was no bath top, but a cool shower.

I asked the receptionist to wake me at 5 am since I had to run to the airport. I also said that I would appreciate a little breakfast if at all possible. The gentleman not only made sure that I was up and about at 5 am, he had also prepared a great breakfast for me that I enjoyed in his company in the Reception. Definitely a first for me, but seemed natural given the overall setting.

I had a chance to enjoy a cocktail at the hotel as well. I felt like walking into a living room as I entered the cocktail bar. I sat up at the "bar-desk" where cocktails were prepared, and felt like I was part of the crew! Very cool indeed.

My room unfortunately had no view, but based on the view from the restaurant, getting a room with a view is likely worth it!

I would stay at Lydmar again, and next time make sure to stay the weekend as I am certain that it would be worth the experience. If you're used to the Waldorf Astoria's of the world, this is likely not a hotel for you. Traditional snootiness is a no go at this place, but then again, I am more than capable of carrying my bags to my room...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred_Flagstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved this hotel, but it's not for everybody. The service was fantastic...warm and friendly and accommodating, both at the front desk and in the hotel's excellent restaurant, which serves an amazing breakfast. We had a suite with fabulous windows, and the most comfortable bed. The regular, classic rooms are quite small, however, but all the rooms have great, ample bathrooms. There is a fantastic terrace bar on the second floor and a very loud, hip music scene directly in front of the hotel. It is not for the faint of heart or the light sleeper--we loved it! Our friends traveling with us faced the back of the hotel and had no problems sleeping, while we slept to the beat. The location is sensational, right next to the grand hotel, with its fabulous spa where we had great massages, kindly arranged by our hotel. You can walk everywhere from the Lydmar. We also had a great meal at Strandvagen 1, a sister restaurant to the hotel, a short and beautiful walk. Also had a great lunch at the Grand Hotel's outdoor restaurant. We would definitely return to this terrific little hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rimfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just love Lydmar. The rooms, the restaurant, the location facing the water and the city and the friendly staff. iit's quite small, boutiique feeling, warm, classic with a very contemporary athmosphere. In the summertime you can enjoy the patio with a mediterrenian touch. If you like the feeling of luxury with subtile approach this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaLenaSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This the low-key next door neighbor of the better-known Grand Hotel. If you have a choice, opt for the Lydmar. Its decor is stunning in its absence of opulence, but wealth of interest. Striking photographs grace every wall and eclectic "collectibles", ranging from possible flea-market finds to unique ojets d'art, populate shelves, while managing not to feel cluttered. Love the bookshelf-lined dining room with a subtle bar at one end.
Our room was wonderful. Surprisingly large: king bed with crisp linens and fluffy duvet; large bathroom (toilet in separate "closet"); large clothes closet.
Personnel extremely helpful and pleasant.
Good location right on canal, with royal palace and Old Town on other side. Decent walk to Vasa, zoo and historical museum.
We were there only one night, sadly. Would have happily stayed longer, though the price is a bit prohibitive for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metwrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very loud live music and/or DJ in outdoor area in front of the hotel and on the terrace (until 1 am on Fridays and Saturdays). Music is so loud that no amount of insulation will make your room quiet over the weekend.

After the first night in a large room on the first floor we asked to change to a medium room on the other side of the hotel. This was done with minimal fuss but certainly no apologies for the incovenience of moving and a sleepless first evening after a long day of travel.

One morning there was an absolute nazi of a man running the breakfast room who asked us to move very rudely without explaining why. The prior days were all 'seat yourself wherever' and suddenly this guy was a complete control queen. In general the other staff at the breakfast room were extremely kind but it was a hassle to get more coffee and you felt like you were bugging them. Service at the terrace was very mixed bag including a couple of chilly women servers who can't be bothered.

On the positive side the decor is very lovely and the location good right next to the Grand Hotel. The bathrooms are spacious and the mini-bars include complimentary snacks.

For the price this hotel is not worth it. The service is way too relaxed and there is no fitness center, and hotel is short staffed for its size.

We wandered into the Nobis Hotel more in the center of town and if we had it to do over again we would have stayed there or at the Radisson Blu Strand Hotel. Both seemed like better run properties.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the terrace are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

To start, I am flabbergasted at all these positive reviews. How anyone could find this hotel luxurious is ludicrous. I am very let down by trip advisor. When you arrive there is no bellman, apparently that is way too old fashioned. It also makes sense they don't have one since the rooms are so small I assume anyone who gave a good review must have only packed a backpack. My husband and my luggage (one piece each) barely fits in the room.

As you enter the hotel you are immediately assaulted with war images of children missing limbs, starving, and dying in hospitals. I don't know about you but there is a time and a place for edginess and coming with your family or husband to a hotel for a nice vacation is not one of them. It is horrible every time I walk in the hotel and basically ruins your stay. Maybe it's meant to insult the guests spending money on a holiday when there are other more important things in the world to be aware of? I don't know but it's offensive and this is coming from a 20 something year old art student from NYC, not a "stodgy/unhip" person who "doesn't get it" and shouldn't stay at such a "cool hotel."

After you get over the dying children and tortured war torn areas you get to see bad artsy soft core porn in the elevator. Something you would have seen at a passing exhibit at nyc's whitney museum maybe 10 years ago. Really uncomfortable if you have kids or are traveling with your parents and a pathetic attempt at being trendy or edgy.

After you manage to deal with the above you are taken to your room which is small, dusty, awkwardly shaped, and has an uncomfortable bed. The tv is at the side of the room so you can't watch it in bed. The floor is so un-level in each room that my grandmother tripped in her room because of that. The closet is so small that it does not fit a clothes rack horizontally and instead has to be vertical so you can't see your clothes. The view consists of a wall.

The bathroom has no fan and no bathtub. The shower is in the middle of the floor and floods everywhere after you have used it. There is not even a shelf for your toiletries or razor. You put them on the floor like a savage.

I wish we could have stayed in the grand hotel but it was already booked for the royal wedding when we made our travel plans. The only redeeming qualities of this hotel is the location and helpful staff. Since there is no dedicated concierge the front desk people do a great job filling that role and are always pleasant to talk to. They are helpful and have smiles on their faces almost always.

So overall, for the money this hotel is not worth it unless you like being ripped off to appear trendy.

Pros:
Great location
Helpful staff (they regain a star for this)
Free wifi
Free water and candy

Cons:
SMALL ROOMS
Bathroom that floods and you have just a shower on the floor
Slanted floors - completely not level
No turn down service
Offensive imagery - completely not suitable for a hotel
Small, cramped, dark, dusty, rooms
Lumpy hard bed
No closet
Limited toiletries
Bad placement of all electric outlets
Odd hotel phone- a cell phone? That no one explained how to use

Room Tip: all rooms are vastly different so ask for a bigger room on a higher up floor with a view but not flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank luxurylover86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
2,235 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
1,734 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
364 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 155 in Stockholm
1,647 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydmar Hotel

Address: 2 Soedra Blasieholmshamnen | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 103 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $282 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lydmar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are individually furnished and no rooms are alike. On the 5th floor you can enjoy the feeling of a penthouse with wooden beams in the sloping ceiling. The furnishing is meant to give you that homey feeling, with furniture in different styles. The rooms have different views such as street, park and waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lydmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydmar Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing