We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish & comfortable”
Review of Lydmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lydmar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stylish & comfortable”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed two nights in Lydmar - perfect for a mini-vacation. In a couple of minutes, you can walk to the city center, the lovely Östermalm or most of the museums. Good breakfast, and quite nice dinner as well. The staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms near the restaurant (1st floor) can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    90
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
85
283
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alges, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Was in Stockholm for some business meetings and booked this Hotel, which have to say it was a great choice.
Very nice location, with nice view and confess that room was fantastic, big and confortable.
Nice bar within a library and if you are lucky with the weather you'll have vailable an outside esplanade for a couple of drinks in the evening.
Reception is ok and breakfast is normal for a 4* swedish Hotel.
Recomend Lydmar.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRAFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

August 20, 2011. Stayed at Lydmar for 6 niights. Left hotel for cruise, and while enjoying relaxing massage, I suddenly realized that I had left cash in our room. One can imagine how relaxing the remainder of the massage was, as I bolted for my cell phone to call my son in Stockholm and ask him to go over to the Lydmar to try and recover the money. Less than enjoyable dealing simultaneously with my incredible stupidity and loss of cash. But within minutes received a text that all cash recovered and returned!!

So this review is biased by the hotel staff's honesty. The rooms are quirky, but charming. Our view of the harbor wasn't quite the same as the more lofty Grand, but grand enough. The restaurant was superb, and active, but never a slow down in subtle service. Drinks outside the entry, and a 2nd floor patio bar and restaurant, with pulsing entertainment in the evening. Concierge was extremely knowledgeable. Not historic, as Bern, but prettier, and very up dated. Interesing hallway art and library like setting for restaurant.

Highest marks - plus impeccable staff honesty.

Room Tip: 4th floor room had nice view of harbor. 1st floor room had nice windows, but view was not much. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed for three nights with our 2 year old son. We had the most amazing stay. Our room was huge and beautifully furnished. The service was friendly, polite and really helpful. Room service was fantastic and the quality of the food was first class. Breakfast was a glorious relaxed delight each morning.
It is an amazing vibrant hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulandzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

A fantastic location, slap bang next to the Grand Hotel, just across the bridge from the old town, Gamla Stan, and within spitting distance of all the nice shops – basically perfect whether you’re out on the town or doing touristy cultural things.

The common areas downstairs are mostly taken up with the restaurant although the concierge desk is always manned and very efficient and friendly. The restaurant is fab, and one of the loveliest rooms I've had breakfast in, lined with books and looking out onto a garden. Breakfast is a buffet (included in our room price) with a really nice selection of excellent pastries, various jams, greek yoghurt, cereals and lovely fresh fruit as well as some cold cuts and cheese. Cappuccino was very decent indeed and lunch, too, is highly recommended.

The rooms are really lovely – it’s an old building and they’ve really tried to preserve that charm but with a modern twist. The beautiful arched windows flooded our Medium room with light, but also have ultra-effective sound insulation. (This continues with isolating doors to the room and in the corridors, making this one of the quietest hotels I’ve slept in recently, notwithstanding the open-air bar below.) Freestanding wooden wardrobes, comfy sofas and bookshelves with eclectic nicknacks mix with over-sized anglepoise lamps and a very sleek and modern dark grey tiled bathroom. Really comfy bed and wi-fi included complete the deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumandreason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel is quite nice and the rooms are designed but simple with is the best thing to say about this hotel. The breakfast is included but disappointing and very simple. the hotel is clearly understaffed with is a shame for the price you pay!!! It is quite noisy and you don't feel like you are in the right place in Stockholm. The bar is on the street and always crowded of people from the city and you don't feel like using it as you are so close to the table next to you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeleconiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a modern small luxury hotel hiding in a older historic building. It has been totally renovated and is decorated in a spare, elegant fashion with lots of luxurious touches. Breakfast is included in room rate and it is quite good if not extensive in selection. The dining room is beautiful- surrounded by bookcases artfully filled with books and unique objects. Everything is very pleasing in neutral colors and design..

The front desk staff are very pleasant and helpful. Javier the bellman was great, too. We arrived early as we had just disembarked from a cruise and they were apologetic that they did not have a room ready, even offered us breakfast in the dining room. Of course, check in isn't even until mid afternoon!

Our room, a "large double" was very spacious- must have been close to 400 square feet and featured a king size bed, a row of large windows that allowed great natural light (although the view was the side of another building- albeit a very old one so nice historical architectural details to look at...), dimmers on the lights, and a huge bathroom with an excellent rain shower/handheld shower combination. Very top quality bathroom fittings. Our room was also furnished with interesting objects/decorative items and large format black and white photography. There were blackout drapes on the windows ( necessary in the summer when it doesn't get dark until like 10 pm and the sun rises at 5 am!)

The hotel has a lovely terrace dining area at the front which looks out over the wide canal across to the Royal Palace and the Gamla Stan (the Old Town) It's a great view! Gamla Stan is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

We picked this hotel based upon location, other reviewers recommendation, and what we could glean from the hotel's website. We were not disappointed and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask about view from your room if it is important to you. The rooms at the hotel's front have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodOldWhiteKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,014 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,297 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,627 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,523 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydmar Hotel

Property: Lydmar Hotel
Address: 2 Soedra Blasieholmshamnen | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lydmar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are individually furnished and no rooms are alike. On the 5th floor you can enjoy the feeling of a penthouse with wooden beams in the sloping ceiling. The furnishing is meant to give you that homey feeling, with furniture in different styles. The rooms have different views such as street, park and waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lydmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydmar Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing