We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing cafe in a quiet part of Stockholm”
Review of Petite France

Petite France
Ranked #328 of 3,046 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kungsholmen
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing cafe in a quiet part of Stockholm”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This place is amazing! It's a close walk from the Courtyard Marriott, and the foods are incredible. Fresh squeezed orange juice, amazing hot chocolate, great coffee. The sandwiches are insanely good -- just like France, but honestly, a bit better in my opinion. The pastries are also incredible. I also appreciate that the staff speaks excellent English; try ordering French food from a cafe in Paris without knowing French and see how pleasant your experience is.

Really awesome cafe in Stockholm, but you'll probably have to wait in line ~10 minutes on the weekend. It's worth it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenNCSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    50
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Little pieces of heaven”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I went with a friend and had a really good lunch. But what I want to tell you about is the cake I took home with me. A little passion fruit tarte with merengue and liquorice dust on top. It was perfection. The tastes blended together perfectly (I'm not much for liquorice in cake, but this!), the crust was perfect, the filling creamy. I could probably write an ode to the tarte, but I'll stop here. Suffice it to say that this is one of the best bakeries in Stockholm. I dare you to find something poorly executed in their selection.

The café itself is nice but nothing spectacular. It fills up on weekends, so patience is advised. However, I bet it's really nice to sit at the tables outside in springtime. Or you can just get the yummy bread and delicious cakes to go!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akbhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good, real French bakery.”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Going there quite often, personal is very friendly, bread is very tasty and I have to say has this particular smell/taste that you find in France too! All the cakes/pâtisseries are typical French and very good, so if you're a French expat or look for traditional bakeries, this is a perfect place! However don't feel too fast in France, as you pay what you get!! prices are quite expensive for the bakeries, and prices for bread are regular Swedish prices, no surprise there!
Concerning the lunch dishes I unfortunately had not the opportunity to try them. Just reading the titles looks however authentic.
If you plan to eat there the atmosphere is correct, but not very high standard as other coffee places often are. Good for families.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeMathou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Had two breakfasts here on a weekday as recommended by a friend who lives in the area. Everything we tried was delicious, hardest part was choosing from the wonderful baked goods. But BEWARE: closed on Mondays!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank polentzeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“One of Stockholms best bakeries.”
Reviewed January 8, 2010

One of Stockholms best bakeries.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petite France also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm County, Sweden
 

Been to Petite France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing