We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambience”
Review of The Bishops Arms

The Bishops Arms
Ranked #275 of 3,044 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was put off by the name of this establishment, because it sounded like the British-pub-abroad that I usually steer well clear off. Despite that, it is warm, welcoming, has reasonably priced, reasonable quality food, a good range of beers and a nice atmosphere. It's close to the station and the metro.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    147
    69
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Decent pub - Loads of beers and good solid food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very impressed by the friendly attentive bar staff and the wide range of beers. I didn't expect the food to be so good either - I will definitely come again

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“pleasant”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Like - full and fast FREE wifi. Sitting in little private cubicles in comfort and not being rushed to finish. GREAT selection of beers.
Dislike - nothing...........................

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank caddy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
164 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An average 'pub' attached to the Elite Palace Hotel”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Unfortunately I went there looking for something to eat, rather than a drink - I was staying at the hotel and didn't fancy going out in the snow.
Don't bother with the food, unless you're starving, go up the street to a real restaurant. What they service here is 'typical' (poor) English-style pub grub. I had the fish and chips. There's plenty of food when it comes, but it's nothing special.
It's an old-style English pub, and it has a good range of beers and drinks on offer. It was a snowy night when I dropped in (a Monday) and there were quite a few people there. The atmosphere was pretty good, but I was on my own and hungry - and I hate sitting drinking/eating by myself.

The service was slow and cheerless, and definitely not welcoming. They could use some happy, cheerful bar staff to break a smile once in a while and make people feel like staying.

So, if it's next to your office or on your way 'home', have a drink or two with friends/colleagues, but don't bother with the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobD1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
539 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Good selection”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Bishop Arms is a chain of pubs with a good but somewhat expensive selection of beers. They range from Swedish to British, German and Belgian. They are all in the popular British style with the usual paraphernalia on the walls. This one is situated near the central station which means they get a lot of visitors. It's less cosy than some of the others.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ugurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bishops Arms also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to The Bishops Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing