We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fansy a scandinavian edventure:)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frantzen - CLOSED

Frantzen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $468
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Gjerdrum, Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fansy a scandinavian edventure:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We love it. A great place how gives you a brand new ideas of root vegetables, flavors and combinations. They do not have alot of old red wiens from Burgundy ore Bordeaux,but it givs you a cange to tast somthing different and new..( orange wines, Madira, and Sherry)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    47
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best dinner of our lives....by a mile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I recently embarked on tour of Scandinavia, and given that i was on the Noma waitlist, i wanted to purchase an 'insurance policy' as i dearly wanted to sample new nordic cuisine at a highly rated restaurant. I got my hotel to book a table for me 2 weeks in advance, we managed to snag a table.
The restaurant is pretty small - the dining room is not much bigger than someone's living room. I think it seats around 18, including 4 at the chef's table (which is really an extension of the kitchen).

The food - Nothing other than top notch; most of the 15 or so courses (before desserts) were excellent, with some bordering on sublime. The freshnest of the ingredients, the creativity behind the dishes, and the innovation in terms of the cooking technique can only be sampled by taste, not put into words. There was probably only one dish which we felt was a little under-par (lamb coal-flamed tartare with lavender and cumin).

Service - Very attentive but obviously the generous staff to guest ratio helps. The staff explained every dish in detail without fail, and our water glasses were replenished within seconds throughout the evening. We were greeted at the door by a gentleman with a hat before entering the restaurant; that set the tone for the evening.

Ambience - The interior is minimalist, but i think that works to their favour as all the attention is on the food (and rightly so).

Dinner is not cheap; in fact, it is very expensive. But i think it is worth it and i liken that experience to attending a three-tenor performance. Every now and then, a restaurant comes along and pushes the boundaries of how food is defined, and succeeds. Frantzen/Lindeberg is in that bracket.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank llhleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wine pairing ruined experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

You should have high expectations and as usual the food served was absolutely mindblowing. BUT where I come from the food is only part of the experience. In a restaurant like F/L one should expect extraordinary wine pairings, especially since they more or less scrapped their wine cellar. The performance from a wine point of view was less than stellar. With two servings of sherry, one of ordinary beer and one of moscato it puts a lot of pressure one the other (real) wines to deliver. To be honest it felt like a total rip off for the money spent. The lackluster selection of drink didn't do much to help the wonderful food come through and sometimes the wine matched one dish and didn't do anything to the following dishes. I know this is a common problem the high end restaurants but F/L has previously delivered on this point. The real sad thing is that the fantastic food suffers from uninspired wine (drink) selection and makes the entire experience a let down.
It is not the first time but maybe the last time I choose a wine package. It seems these more often than not are designed to make as much money as possible instead of delivering the most experience to the guest. With a little bit of work and imagination I am sure that both the restaurateur and the guest can be pleased.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LAMF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Michelin restaurant in Sweden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Words cant describe, Frantzén and Lindeberg aim for three stars is breath taking... I've been to many star restaurants in Europe and USA, this is by faaar the best food experience so far.

We sat in the kitchen and experienced their menu and wine pairing. 20+ dishes that all are divine, presented by Mr Franzen himself. I could really recommend booking the Kitchen(actually bar overlooking the kitchen) table, it really adds to the experience to view the Chefs and Mr Franzen himself prepare and describe all meals for you. (Similar to Joel Rubicon in Paris, but much better and more down to earth, and you hardly get served by Joel anymore..)

The only thing that wasn't top notch was the slightly expensive wine package (go for wine by glass or sparkling) that was not the best match I've seen, since im a wine geek I also like the service to explain the rationale and why the wines got paired with the food, I lacked the true enthusiasm, although its a really good service by all means, but if reaching for three stars i expect even more from the wine pairing and service. But the food is worth every penny, be sure to book a table before the Michelin 2013 release, Im sure I will...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gustav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mindblowing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's hard to put any more meaningful words to it: Frantzén/Lindeberg blew my mind with complex dishes from the purest of produce. Uncompromising, sharp and deep.

Sitting at Chef's table, seeing the magic happen and hearing Chef Björn Lindeberg tell the story of each dish and then tasting the absolute wonders he and his crew produces was a lifetime experience. One of the very best meals of my life - right up there with Geranium and Noma, but maybe even deeper in the taste than Geranium and even more approachable than Noma.

First three star in Scandinavia? Yes, I can certainly see that happen.

Expensive? Yes. Worth it? O yes - and worth the entire trip to Stockholm. And then some!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frantzen also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing