We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only if needed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Brunnby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunnby Hotel
Ranked #135 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“only if needed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

been at Brunnby on a business trip
booked with almost 10days advance: all the city was fully booked due to two concerts+international event at the same time, so just checked for the minimum requiring: low budget & not so far from the Messe
read some awful reviews so I arrived "well prepared"

ok frankly:
-terrible area (industrial area - nothing around except for a bowling hall, found closed)
-terrible smell on first floor, can't understand what it was due to
-yes the lift is as mentioned by others, but it works
-been lucky as they gave me the "suite": very last room actually big
-shower is "feel-at-home"
-service is smart and friendly given by often young people (seen a lot of different guys/ladies at reception: the oldest was the worst in terms of smartness)
-no restaurant inside
-just breakfast service, standard type (bacon&eggs were made-on-time but I usually don't have them)

tips:
-supposed to be walking distance from a Pendeltag station, but checking on googlemaps it seems it is not so far but you need to walk around on a main road: attendant informed "there's the bridge" but actually did not check and choose a taxi also due to bad weather
-need something to eat? just at the end of the block (really 2mins walking) there's a burger king and next there's a best western with a restaurant (had dinner there even if not gues)

definitely suggested only if no other options available / only if very low budget

Room Tip: ask for the very last room on the corridor (1st floor - the only floor available)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

So went here for work for the weekend, first of all I should of checked this out on tripadvisor first. Area it's hard to get to and in the freezing cold it's certainly no fun walking....

Booked a double room, received a twin... ummm no doubles available but we can put 2 singles together for you....

Credit card didn't work and had to walk down the road to get cash

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSceberras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Sweden
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Brunnby is located in an industrial area, leading to a few complications. There is nothing to do in the area next to the hotel. There are no shops, restaurants or even people. There is a constant noice level that the uninsulated windows can´t handle. Due to the lack of people, it is not so very safe.
The room I had had a broken AC, so sleeping was out of the question. With the window closed it was unbearably hot, with it open the sounds from the lorries outside was too loud.
The bed was dirty, the floor broken, but the bathroom was very nice and fresh!
The staff was friendly enough, very helpful with directions and chatty, but unable to actually accomplish anything in regard to the broken AC.
It is NOT worth the price, unless you travel with your own semi/lorry and need a place to park it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

I went with a friend. We looked for different hotels in Stockholm but they were all booked for some reason.

My friend finally found the Brunnby Hotel. It WAS cheaper than the other hotels and didn't look all that posh from looking on-line so I wasn't expecting anything spectacular.

However, what I found was even worse than expected. At first, the taxi couldn't even find it with the GPS and dropped us off next to the Best Western (which is on the other side of the block as the Brunnby). From there, I had to ask some locals loading up vegetables right nearby where the Brunnby was. They pointed to the top of the building where they were working and, sure enough, I saw the sign above some industrial buildings with trucks.

We trudged up some stairs with our luggage and had to take some industrial elevator (the type where you have to continue to press "up" to continue going upwards) to a dinky little reception area.

From there, our experience got a bit better (since we stayed in the city most of the time). The receptionists were okay although there seemed to be about 6 different receptionists in the 2 days we were there.

But, to get to the train station from the hotel, we had to walk through some more industrial areas and through a huge trash dump (where I even saw a rat).

Definitely not scenic but it you aren't picky and only care about saving money, go for it. Just know what you're in for.

Also, my room was haunted. If you don't believe that, fine, but for those who are sensitive to such things, I wanted to let you know. I couldn't sleep due to little things happening in the room until about 4am and even that was restless sleep.

  • Liked — receptionists
  • Disliked — the area/ location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sainabuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Good Morning+ Hagersten
#97 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2Home Stockholm South
#141 of 158 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#111 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Capital Hotel
#105 of 158 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#90 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunnby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunnby Hotel

Property: Brunnby Hotel
Address: 7 Brunnbyvaegen | Arsta, Stockholm 120 44, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunnby Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brunnby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing