We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy Salvation”
Review of Sabai-soong

Sabai-soong
Ranked #1,536 of 3,046 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ostermalm
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spicy Salvation”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

After 7 days of Swedish food, our Asian palates were in severe withdrawal for something with fire & spice. This cozy little place hit the spot. We were served by the delightful Ms Kwan, who empathized right away: "OK, I give you Thai-hot!" We were soon happily transported to a sweaty little soi somewhere in Bangkok: stir-fried morning glory, Tom yum goong, holy basil & pork, green curry and prawn cakes - all very decent indeed. The ambience - corrugated zinc 'ceiling', fairy lights, fake vines, sentimental Thai pop - was kitschy but warm. After that 're-boot', we felt fortified enough to return to sil, potatoes and meatballs for the remainder of our trip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mytnoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good thai food”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Started off with the spring rolls which were crispy with a good flavor. As usual we shared 2 meals choosing the Yam Whun Seen and the Phad Goong Gai. The Yam Whun Seen ( was very hot (spicy) and made me sweat while eating it. They were a little "cheap" with the amount of shrimps in this salad. The glass noodles were cooked properly. But overall a satisfying dish. If you like coriander, order it with some extra! The Phad Goong Gai was beaming with flavor. It contains both chicken and shrimp. Once again they were a little light on the amount of shrimps. It had a little smokey and sweet and oystersaucy flavor to it which I liked, however, my partner was not so thrilled with the smokey taste. The service was just average but the price was reasonable. We will return here if we are in the neighborhood again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tique222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Vege-friendly”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

While in Stockholm we were surprised at how little variety there was out there for vegetarians. We were able to eat vegan-friendly food here at a reasonable price, and so for that reason we rate it highly. It isn't cutting edge or particularly thrilling, but it is decent and trustworthy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Molto piccolo, molto buono!”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I visited this little restaurant in July with my wife. During our two days visit in Stocholm this restaurant was one of the few open in these days. The ambient is charming and we had the feeling to be "at home". The staff has been very friendly (as they usually are in Thaniland) and the food good. A nice choice of soups! A small little thai resaurant in Stockholm with no bad surprises in the bill. Bravi!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lollomz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mediocre thai-food”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Had a quick dinner here on a Sunday night. Food arrived very quickly but wasn't very good. Chicken was of the cheap, "marinated" kind which is very jelly-like, and one of the dishes was on the verge of too spicy... Service ok, prices ok, especially considering the location. The interior was the same old "jungle"-theme you can find in most thai-restaurants these days.

Wouldn't go back unless I really was craving thai-food and this was the only place to get it from. Fortunately, it isn't...

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 08282013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabai-soong also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Sabai-soong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing