We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old-style restaurant”
Review of Zum Franziskaner

Zum Franziskaner
Reserve with
Zum Franziskaner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,613 of 3,060 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
301 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Nice old-style restaurant”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The atmosphere is very nice. The place shows some history. Our waitress was extremely nice and patient, considering that we were a party of 10, and we chose several different dishes. All dishes were served in a reasonable time, but one (some elk stew). Salmon, herrings and elk were delicious. The price was reasonable. The location is very nice, in Gamla Stan with view on the harbor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    37
    30
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Another Nice Experience in Stockholm”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

After a great tour of Stockholm, we happened upon the Zum Franziskaner. The restaurant offers a lovely dining atmosphere in a cozy setting. It’s a comfortable and relaxing environment to enjoy a nice selection of good food and good service! It’s a bit pricey for lunch but that is pretty much what we experienced throughout Europe. We totally enjoyed our lunch selections and a nice tall beer for my husband and a glass of red wine for me. It was a great way to end our short cruise stay in Stockholm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelling-JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

You can have a good German food for a bit expensive price and good beers for average price, and the interior is beautiful, very old and cosy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The German tavern in Stockholm”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Its a good place with good beer and bratwurst and also a good view on the port, I did not like that the first person you meet in the restaurant was a man at the cloakroom asking for money (20 SEK per piece). I included his fee into my bill which I have settled with credit card.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Palych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice experience...”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Claims to be Stockholm's oldest restaurant. Great atmosphere. I stopped here for a beer and an appetizer after walking around Gamla Stan for the afternoon. The staff was a bit weird -- they had me switch tables a few minutes after telling me to sit anywhere because a large group was expected -- but the food and beer was good. I had the elk carpaccio. A bit expensive for what you get, but that seemed to be a theme in Stockholm.

The place was filled with locals having after work beers when I went at about 4 p.m. on a Friday, but I didn't have to wait for a table. It was raining, though, and few tourists seemed to be out.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Franziskaner also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Zum Franziskaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing