We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly beautiful! (^_^)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hasselbacken

Hasselbacken
Ranked #1,645 of 2,999 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredibly beautiful! (^_^)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Me and my mom visited this restaurant a couple of years ago, and we really fell in love with it. It’s beautifully situated on the lovely Djurgården, witch is just outstandingly beautiful in summertime.

They have both indoor and outdoor tables, bar and live piano play in the lovely garden. We sat outside, had a starter dish, listened to the music and looked at the tiny bunny rabbits that jumped around in the garden. It’s a really relaxing place!

The food was very nice; we had a plate with nacho chips, sour cream, salsa and guacamole. For dessert we hade some of their home made chocolate truffles and coffee.

They have both a regular menu, an a la carte menu and a children’s menu. Most of the times they have a vegetarian dish on both menus.

The staff was very quick and friendly.

This place is incredibly beautiful and well worth a visit if you’re in Stockholm! A perfect way to end a visit to Skansen or Grönalund, or just to have a really nice, romantic dinner.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_Alla_Pioggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    46
    22
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice in every way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The restaurant has everything that you need for a pleasant dinner. Attentive and very pleasant service, a well selected menu with plenty of choices and the interior is very atmospheric and old-fashioned in the good sense. The surroundings are also very pleasant.
It's a great place for a romantic evening for two, but can also be a good choice if you are a party of friends.
However, it's not exactly cheap, but if you want good value for money, go for one of the 2-course menus and choose the extremely well priced vine menu to go with it. The brunch is also well worth a visit because it contains almost everything you can want and/or need.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brunch on the weekend is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Hasselbacken is a century old restaurant on the wonderful island of Djurgaarden in central Stockholm, right across from the amusement park Gröna Lund. The restaurant is built in the shape of a large glass veranda, with an open space in the middle. Athmosphere family friendly but quiet and relaxed.

On Sat and Sunday there is a large lunch buffet with Swedish specialities. We found the quality to be very good, all dishes well made and fresh, staff helpful and friendly. At 225 SEK per person it is very good value, so go there as part of your visit to the museeums and sights at Djurgaarden or make it a stop on that long walk around the island waterfront and parks.

To get there take the ferry from Gamla Stan or the tram from Norrmalmstorg.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I went here for brunch on a Sunday, and it was really great. There was a huge array of food and something for everyone. I don't like fish which can be difficult in Sweden, but there were many, many options for me. The dessert selection was astounding- I wish I had had more room for it! The atmosphere is great as well. Very elegant but also pretty cozy. I highly suggest it!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mat1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Julbord for Travelers to Stockholm during the Christmas season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

The traditional "Christmas Table" or Julbord is a must do for tourists that visit Sweden during the Christmas season. While I understand this tradition is more typically experienced in Swedish homes, the restaurant alternative is still a wonderful experience. It is a great opportunity to try many of the Swedish traditional delicacies. The Hasselbacken is a beautiful setting for this tradition. The Opera is another alternative we considered. The cost of everything in Sweden is very high for Americans and while the Hasselbacken was very expensive it was far less than the famous Opera would have been

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hasselbacken also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Hasselbacken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing