We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Cafe Tabac

Cafe Tabac
Ranked #401 of 3,060 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Spanish, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Description: Tabac opened in 1996 and was by then one of the first tapas restaurants in Stockholm. Every tapas we do is made with so much love and joy. Come by to enjoy the Spanish music, the crowd, drinks and the food of course. We look forward to serve you!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I thought the service was very good, and the staff friendly.

The food was good and portion sizes as expected for Tapas.

Given it's in the tourist part of the city, price was as slightly expensive, but as expected.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junior_patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    73
    36
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“We expected more”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Restaurant has very nice atmosphere but tapas was not what we expected. Portions were too small and too expensive even for Swedish standards. Service was fast and nice and desert was very tasty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Milessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Compared to other tapas places i've been to this one is very average and expensive! Food was nice but not amazing especially for the price! I wouldn't mind their tapas sizes if less expensive or bigger size for the price! Average wine and very nice dessert! Service was good and atmosphere was great!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snepol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food & location, acceptable prices for Stockholm standards”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Local friends got me there but I enjoyed it so much so I return the next day. Tapas dishes are quite expensive and it'll cost you a fortune if you are hungry. Pick up one of the main dishes if you are hungry. Excellent house wine "by the glass", nice coffee nice atmosphere just off Gamla Stan metro station and just around the corner of Stockholm historical centre. Deserts are just average: you can easily skip it if you are in a tight budget. Nice and friendly stuff. The only con is a nasty waitress who rather rudely (quite unusual actually for Stockholm people) told me-on my second visit- that I was not allowed to take my wine glass outside...!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
437 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Reasonable value in the Old Town”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Situated in the heart of the tourist area of Gamlastan, this place seems to be always busy and buzzy. Plenty of locals eat here, the Tapas style meals vary in quality but there's some good ones in the mix - the steak with whisky sauce is my favourite. It's a very casual place, seating on bar stools at high tables, and people meet here for a drink and nibble after work.

Even when busy, they don't try and rush through a meal. Order 3 serves per person for a satisfying meal, and ask for them to be delivered in stages.

Tip: Reserve a table, or be prepared to stand for a pre-dinner drink until seating frees up.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Tabac also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Cafe Tabac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing