We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good swedish food”
Review of Pelikan

Pelikan
Ranked #74 of 3,112 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $75
Cuisines: Swedish, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good swedish food”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

I like to take visitors there to try swedish cuisine. The food and service are good and the price affordable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michalina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    643
    193
    61
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

The familiar swedish meatballs here were enormous and not particularly special but the setting seemed authentically swedish and the atmosphere and service were both good. My mixed pickled starter was lovely but two friends had a similar starter - all anchovy i think -which disappointed them. Standard Stockholm prices i:e: costly!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good good, but shamefull service”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice evening in the Pelikan. But there should have been some alarm bells ringing with out too friendly italian waiter. Be aware of the question: do you want some snapps? They make it look like its for free. But when you want to pay the bill, they charge you around 30 euro's!!!!!! After a discussion with out friendly italian waiter, he said that he understood and felt really oncomfortabel with the situation. But he could not arrange to give us our money back. After spoken 2 other waiters they said they would call us the next morning. Because there was no one present to give us our money back. Quess what.... They never called...

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great meatballs”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Really easy to book in online even a few hours before you want to go. The meatballs were really tasty and definitely a million times better than any I've had before. Just watch out for the Aquavit; the price on the menu is by the centilitre so it cost a lot more than we expected. Still this is a great place for traditional Swedish food in a lovely setting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aleightonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Swedish Meal”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was a choice by our local Swedish friends. Typical Swedish meal they told us. Very good service. They provided menus in both English and Swedish and were fluent in both languages making everyone at ease. They were quite full and we did need a reservation to get seated at 8:30pm.

I had the Reindeer, my husband had the Swedish Steak and our Swedish friends had the Pork Knuckle with three mustards and our Vegan friend had the Risato. All were ample portions not huge and very tasty.

Would eat here again if in Sweden.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MomLaxRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelikan also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Pelikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing