We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definetly a Swedish experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelikan

Pelikan
Ranked #69 of 2,998 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $40 - $75
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Definetly a Swedish experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The restaurant has a very nice old style and the food menu is typically swedish. I was brought there by two swedish friends and although they consider it a bit of a touristic experience, they appreciated the place as well. The food quality was extremely good and portion abundant. I paid something less than 30 Euros for elk with marinated chanterelles mushrooms, baked potatoes and a drink. By swedish standards, considering the setting and the food quality, I would not consider it expensive. The staff was extremely kind too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AleAllAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    588
    173
    57
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Swedish Traditional Food back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Went here New Years Day 2014... Great start to the year w very professional service, surprisingly good food... We wanted traditional Swedish food I think we got it! Had the winter salad, a warm salad that was so good w grilled carrots, fresh beets, green beans so good. I had the meatballs in a cream sauce :) the boiled pork knuckle is good too but drink lots of water bc very salty! Out of the way in a not so glamorous place in town, new urban biz area. Take a cab and go and leave. Overall great experience tho!

Helpful?
Thank RedVelvetVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Place to Get a True Taste of Swedish Food and Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The food was plentiful, yummy and truly representative of Swedish cuisine. This is a very busy , popular restaurant with locals- plan accordingly. The actual building is an architectural beauty inside. Staff were superb and our waitress even refused the tip from our large group we left as she stated it was excessive and recommended a smaller amount. I have never encountered such honesty anywhere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cantravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Swedish Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The food was amazing and very reasonably priced for what you received. We went with a group of 7 and had a minor wait. The wait staff was very good at keeping on top of the time and very personalible. I tried the roasted elk that was served cold, which I thought was a risk, but paid off considerably. Other people in the group tried the swedish meatballs and the ribs. All the meals were excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Swedish "husmanskost"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Pelikan serves great "husmanskost" with a little twist. A decent beer menu as well. Non-smoking place these days, which is great. It used to be like the smog in Beijing :-). I would recommend the place for a "let's go for a good meal", but not for a fancy occasion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelikan also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Pelikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing