We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Vaxjo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 20, 2012

In general we try to avoid large chain hotels, so we were pleasantly surprised by the Hotel Cardinal. We arrived during a total downpour in August and had difficulty figuring out how to get to the hotel as it is on a pedestrian street. We finally paid to park in a nearby parking lot until we were checked in and directed to the hotel garage. We paid around $20 to park there, but that was more than compensated by the very acceptable buffet dinner which was free of charge. There was even a small bar where we could get a glass of wine.

Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet and the bathroom had a nice tub/shower.

The staff were pleasant and helpful and directed us to the nearby Emigrant Museum and the Glass Museum next to it, both of which were well worth visiting (in between dodging downpours!)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank glenbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 456 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the weekend, when the small city of Växjö had a festival. (We were there not for the purpose though!). Due to the fact that hotel is located in very central area, it was very noisy till late midnight (I think it is just our bad luck - seems to be very quiet city if normal occasion). Well we are given the key to 2nd building, which was a kind of shock. Then entering the room, another shock - it is not like a hotel room that you can imagine. I thought it was a meeting room! Only necessary stuff (Well, even missing some toiletary stuff as 4star hotel) was prepared, very businesslike atmosphere. Maybe my expectation was too high, the gateway to the Kingdom of Crystal but there was no welcoming atmosphere in a room. Somehow the quality of the bed was good. Evening buffet service was also nice since we arrived late. Breakfast - just normal. Doubt if this is really 4star hotel, it was just average. Maybe next time I would try another less expensive hotel nearby.

Room Tip: This hotel has several annexes, ask the receptionist to arrange a room in main building otherwise fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel was clean, we were upgraded to a superior double room without hesitation when we commented on an unsatisfactory stay at another Clarion Collection hotel the previous night. The superior room was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was good, pretty typical of all of the places we stayed in Scandinavia. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train/bus station. The desk staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating, especially Emilie and Simon!

Room Tip: Be aware that the street between the hotel buildings is very noisy with shouting, partying young peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytraveler050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

It's not the hotel is not trying. The service is friendly and complete. Free evening buffet at arrival and the world of plenty at the breakfast buffet. Cosy lobby, well located on walking distance from the railway station (so you can get the leave the city for better places). The hotel is spreaded out over several buildings, which I found inconvenient. Rooms are small and shabby (I stayed in a single). Avoid the 'free' evening buffet, because it's very standard Swedish and there's a very good restaurant just around the corner PM&Friends, excellent! 'free' between marks, because the rate was higher then then a comparable hotel in Malmö, so as usual ... you get what you pay for. If you have a choice ... travel on. If you don't .. live with it, it's acceptable if you treat yourself to a dinner in the above mentioned restaurant!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

A convenient hotel, with helpful staff. The rooms are small, but clean. There are nice restaurants nearby. It is recommended. The breakfast is not something special, basic.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Me and my husband stayed here for our wedding night och were upgraded to a suite for free! The hotel itself was nice but nothing that special. But the staff is so helpful and friendly that I would definitively recommend it!
Breakfast was OK, but I expected more though.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macecrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

July 6, one night stay for 5 of us.
Location, city center. Really cute little town with several small shops and friendly people.
Parking, just down the street, okay distance from hotel.
Rooms and facility were clean and updated.
Free wifi, ask at the front desk.
Breakfast was plentiful and nice.
Light dinner service was lacking, not much food and it was not very good.
I can recommend this hotel if your looking for a good a price and a clean hotel, eat out for dinner.

Room Tip: Read negative hotel reviews too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vaxjo hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Royal Corner
0.1 mi away
PM & Vanner Hotel
PM & Vanner Hotel
#1 of 12 in Vaxjo
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Park Hotel
Elite Park Hotel
#3 of 12 in Vaxjo
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Scandic Vaxjo
Scandic Vaxjo
#5 of 12 in Vaxjo
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esplanad
Hotel Esplanad
#7 of 12 in Vaxjo
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal

Address: 10 Baeckgatan | For GPS: Sandgardsgatan 22, Vaxjo 352 30, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Kronoberg County > Vaxjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vaxjo
Price Range: $109 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate first class-hotel with 111 cozy rooms, elegant furnishing, with its own individual style and story to tell. Persian carpets and original art works reflect cozy living. All rooms have cable TV and hairdryer. We offer complimentary organic breakfast as well as complimentary evening buffet. Coffee, tea, and fruit are available 24/7 for all our guests. Located in the city center, on a pedestrian street you find shopping, culture and other entertainments just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Cardinal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing