We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quirky boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Vaxjo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I stayed for two nights in July for business and loved the hotel. The reception staff were all very informal and relaxed, with nothing too much trouble. The lift up to room 408 (top floor) was an excitement all of it’s own, with the lift-shaft wall being exposed – kids would be dumbstruck. The room door opened outwards into the hallway, which is odd, but maybe normal for Sweden? My first impression was that the room was pretty small, but it was actually quite a cosy size and thanks to the way the seating area and bathroom had been constructed, it was actually much bigger than it looked. The single-bed was perfect, no complaints. The sitting area had a really funky armchair which reclined and was unbelievably comfy. The floors were all solid wood with Arabic style rugs and the bathroom was probably bigger that the bedroom with a great shower. Extra bonus points to the FREE high-speed WiFi in the room which worked great. The breakfast buffet was of a very high standard with choices of cereal, breads, hot cooked, cold cuts, fruit, yoghurts, juices and herrings (yuck!). I didn’t make it to the evening buffet so can’t comment.

To the earlier reviewer who complained about no restaurant after 9pm – can I just point out that the hotel is in the city centre, within stumbling distance of some great restaurants, bistros and bars…

Would definitely rebook and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonLaw_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 476 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2011

Our second visit to this excellent hotel, this time just to indulge us a weekend away from home. Just as the last time we were treated very well by the personel. To eat the yummy breakfast buffé and enjoy a very nice (free!!) evening buffé is pure luxury and half of the fun with staying here! We will return soon again I'm sure!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_august_bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Found the Swedish weather rather on the chilly side, so really glad we hit the jackpot with our choice of hotels! Warm comfortable rooms, extremely friendly and helpful staff, spotlessly clean and located right in the middle of town. I recommend the Cardinal Hotel to future customers.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notaviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Clean but small rooms, very low profile hotel, poor furniture, no restaurant after 9pm

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabvir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kundord, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Dear Cardinal-guest
I am really sorry that your first impression of our hotel was not according to our ambitions. We have rooms of very various sizes, some spacious, some smaller but cosy. We try to create a intimate atmosphere. Our concept is "feel at home" and offers coffee/ tea around the clock and a complimentary evening buffet untill 9pm every day, which is very popular.
I know that my colleague had contact with you about your room and you moved to a double room the day after. I hope you were satisfied with the "new" room for the rest of your stay. You probably did not have the possibility to experince our evening buffet but I hope that you come back to our hotel next time you visit Växjö. We will do our best ...Welcome !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

What a brilliant stay we had, the perfect ending of our wedding day! Thank you so much for all the extra care we received, your staff is incredible nice and helpful!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_august_bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kundord, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2010

Thanks for your lovely words. We really appreciate that and are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope you will celebrate your wedding anniversary here every year....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Really nice place. Not very special, but it was all the small details that made this a place like home. Courteous, helpful staff that let me reprint my boarding card on their computer, free availability of coffee, tea and even cookies, nice buffet, nice sauna, and all for a really affordable price. I was very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vintiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

The price of this hotel was half of what I paid for other hotels in Sweden and Denmark, AND it had the most friendly and efficient staff and the BEST breakfast. I also had stayed at another Clarion (in Kalmar) and this was hands-down WAY better in terms of staff, food, value. I highly recommend this Clarion hotel.

The rooms are simple and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is central (a block away from the station, and in the heart of the shopping area) AND I was able to keep my windows open at night even though my room looked out to the street. And I am a light sleeper. I slept very well at this hotel.

Breakfast had your usual Scandinavian assortment of various cold cuts, cheeses, PLUS they had various herring selections, AND warm options that you would typically find in an American style breakfast. I was also impressed with the mini machine to squeeze your own fresh orange juice. If you don't have time to sit down and enjoy your breakfast, they also have take-away bags/cups available if you need to get going.

Too bad, it was only a one night stay - I would hands down stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornwithPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaxjo
0.1 mi away
PM & Vanner Hotel
PM & Vanner Hotel
#1 of 12 in Vaxjo
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Royal Corner
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Scandic Vaxjo
Scandic Vaxjo
#5 of 12 in Vaxjo
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Park Hotel
Elite Park Hotel
#3 of 12 in Vaxjo
200 reviews
22.4 mi away
Kosta Boda Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal

Address: 10 Baeckgatan | For GPS: Sandgardsgatan 22, Vaxjo 352 30, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Kronoberg County > Vaxjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vaxjo
Price Range: $110 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate first class-hotel with 111 cozy rooms, elegant furnishing, with its own individual style and story to tell. Persian carpets and original art works reflect cozy living. All rooms have cable TV and hairdryer. We offer complimentary organic breakfast as well as complimentary evening buffet. Coffee, tea, and fruit are available 24/7 for all our guests. Located in the city center, on a pedestrian street you find shopping, culture and other entertainments just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Cardinal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing