We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Scrambled eggs and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Vaxjo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hotel is really nice. Lovely sized rooms, beautifully clean bathroom with crisp white towels. Shampoo, shower gel etc stocked up daily. The beds are very comfortable, and theres plenty of extra pillows.
Staff are welcoming and helpful. And the breakfast is delicious. A bit of everything is offered including the best scrambled eggs Ive ever had. Ive stayed 3 times and each stay is as good as the last. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 358 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

The hotel seems to be much nicer from the outside, but the rooms are quite old and not very clean. The personnel has been very unfriendly and with quite a poor English. Not so a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed in a single room, OK, you know these are not the best or largest rooms. No problem with that. But the bathroom in this hotel was really the worst I ever had, and I am a quite experienced traveller. It was extremely small, but the worst was the predominant smell of black mold. Location is OK and staff is nice, but I can not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We had a great experience in our 3 night stay at this hotel.

Location: Perfect, 100m from the train station. In the middle of the commercial part of Vaxjo and the lake.

Wireless Internet: Free

Breakfast: good, not perfect.

Room: We asked for the "new rooms" and they are great. Big, new and well maintained. The shower is "Swedish style".

Tip: Try the Greek restaurant on the other side of the train station. wonderful food and sympathy (25€/pax).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolinaferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed here for one night - saturday to sunday. From previous reviews can tell we must have been in one of the renovated rooms. Great - bright, spacious and with everything you wanted. Beds a little soft for my taste - but that is definitely a matter of taste. Couldnt have been better.

The hotel currently runs a weekend campaign - breakfast until 12:00 noon and checkout 18:00 on sundays. For a weekend getaway this is absolutely perfect.

Location is middle of town - easy to find and easy parking on the town square.

It was a saturday night - and got the feeling the hotel made sure that the guests were staying away from the hotel side facing the square/back since the inhouse disco was generating a lot of noise. In our room location we were certainly not disturbed - although we did hear the dumping of the trash the following morning. The hotel should probably consider at least waiting with dumping the previous nights bottles until the afternoon.

But aside from that little grumple - can say we will certainly be back. Can only recommend this hotel to anyone who finds their way past Växsjö.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We keep coming back to this hotel every Christmas since we have family in this area (it'll be our fourth time pending December 2010), and our experience is that one should ask for the renovated rooms. 2007 (or was it 2008) they started to renovate the hotel, and while the new rooms are lovely, modern and comfortable, the old rooms are horrible. It is located at the end of the "shopping-street" of Växjö, which means it will take you only 30 seconds to find the nearst shop. It has got a large parkinglot next to it, not free though.

But, on to the new rooms: we always choose the deluxe-rooms and they are relatively spacy and airy. And we haven't had any problems with noise coming from the corridor. Although, if you get a room, facing the inner yard, you might get disturbed by the sound of staff throwing out garbage in the large containers. The beds are really comfortable, and with comfortable pillows and duvets. The bathrooms have heated floors (which is a nice feature during winter-time) and we have always had very clean rooms. The TV is quite large, i.e. there's no problem lying in bed watching TV.

We haven't had any problems with service either, although I should say that we haven't had reasons yet to use much of it, but, staff has been friendly when called upon.

The breakfast buffet has a large variety of food, cold and warm, but nothing that struck you as extraordinary. Don't have dinner at the restaurant though: their cooking-skills don't match the prices. Dry wild-boar, over-dressed salads etc.

But if you go to Växjö - you should definitely stay at Elite Stadshotellet!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Fnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

It is within 5 minutes walk to the train station, main shopping street and a lovely park with a lake to circle during your morning jogging. Rooms are clean and have all the sensible necessities like iron, blower, safe etc. In size the single room was small without a proper writing table but otherwise comfy. Floor uncarpeted. Bathroom was spacious enough for me. (I remember many more bathrooms in Germany and the UK were I could barely move and I am skinny).
Weather was cold so adequate heating was appreciated. Minor noise did came out from a ventilation hole above the bed but it was really minor.
Breakfast is sumptious and can satisfy both the hungry and the health-conscious. I would name the breakfast style international, saw nothing very Swedish there. If you want to dine/lunch/breakfast out there is a lot of the stuff just few steps away including an Wnglish pub in the same building.
To conclude: the Elite Hotel in downtown Vaxjo is not a Holiday Inn or Sheraton. It has face. It is pleasant to stay in this hotel. A wee bit basic but very likeable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GideonJerubbaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vaxjo hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Royal Corner
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Hotel
Elite Park Hotel
#4 of 12 in Vaxjo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PM & Vanner Hotel
PM & Vanner Hotel
#1 of 12 in Vaxjo
180 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scandic Vaxjo
Scandic Vaxjo
#5 of 12 in Vaxjo
240 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ojaby Herrgard Sweden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo

Address: 6 Kungsgatan, Vaxjo 352 33, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Kronoberg County > Vaxjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vaxjo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vaxjo
Price Range: $111 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo växjö
Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo Hotel växjö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing