We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hostel style accomodation”
Review of Glebe Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glebe Barn
Ranked #3 of 4 Isle of Eigg B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at the beautifully clean Glebe barn as a group of 18 and hired the whole hostel including the immaculate separate two person flat. The isle if Eigg was stunning and the accommodation was perfect. The facilities are all well maintained and the location is excellent for exploring this beautiful island.We all had breakfast which was a full Scottish fare and was a great way to start our day. Really recommend for large groups and would stay again.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend the two bedroom flat which was slightly more expensive than the hostel rooms, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed just a couple of days on Eigg at Glebe Barn in the Annexe flat which was very pretty and very comfortable, well equipped, etc. Lovely views. Booking and getting hold of SImon proved a little challenging however. It took several calls to get a response and just prior to our arrival we couldn't contact him at all to arrange pick up when the ferry got in. However, all was resolved on arrival and we had a great time.

The island itself was wonderful. WE had a fantastic day at Singing Sands beach and husband and son enjoyed a wee bit of mountain biking. We'll be back for more I think.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolsoriginalprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

For my partners birthday a group of friends and myself hired out all of Glebe Barn for exclusive use, including the pretty and nicely appointed annexe that is attached. It was very reasonable, it cost £16 pp per night for the Barn and £85 for the annexe for the weekend (a refundable housekeeping deposit also had to be given but it was reasonable). The owner of the Barn, Simon, gave us lots of advice prior to our visit as regards to ferries to the island and getting bits and bobs like milk and charcoal for the BBQ delivered to the barn for us from the local shop. The local shop is very expensive as you would imagine on such an isolated island so we brought a lot of heavy bags with us filled with wine, beer groceries etc, but Simon picked up all our luggage from the pier and took it to the barn for us so no problem! The barn itself is beautiful, panoramic views surround the quaint property, there is a picture perfect view from every window infact. A nice sized fenced off garden surrounds it with views of the sea, the other small isles and the famous An Sgurr landmark, which was great for us to have bbq's in, and for the dog to run around in. It truly was a spectacular place to be with your loved ones. The location of the barn is only a 10-15 minute walk from the pier, the shop, the licensed cafe and the busstop where you can catch a bus to the other side of the island if you do not wish or are unable to take the stunning walk. Many of the guests expressed their wish to return and I would strongly reccommend it. They have a well laid out website that allows you to see photos of the rooms, although I felt they all looked much more attractive and larger in real life. Happy holidaying!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Andina_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

A lovely bunkhouse fully equipped for selfcatering. The shop on the Isle of Eigg is providing all the food you need. Walking is enjoyable and all people you meet are friendly and relaxed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank UliStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frédéric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glebe Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Barn

Address: The Glebe, PH42 4RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Eigg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Eigg
Price Range: $52 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glebe Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide comfortable self-catering accommodation for large groups, families and individual backpackers. Full catering is available to groups by arrangement. Situated on the extraordinary Isle of Eigg in a charmingly converted 19th Century building, the Glebe Barn offers Four Star, homely hostel accommodation within 1 mile of the well stocked island shop and cafe/restaurant. The hostel boasts outstanding sea views from every room, well equipped kitchen, cozy log fire and a library of books and games for all ages. Sleeping up to 22 persons in a combination of twin, triple, family and dormitory rooms, the Glebe Barn is perfect for individuals, families or large groups. If you fancy more privacy, an adjoining 2 person Glebe Barn Apartment can be let in conjunction with, or separately from the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Glebe Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glebe Barn Isle Of Eigg, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing