We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, wonderful hosts, great location!”
Review of Torneby Herrgard

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalmar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torneby Herrgard
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kalmar
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed here in late June 2009 while traveling through Sweden with my parents. My husband and I thought the decor was a little outdated, but the rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had probably the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in. But this wasn't a huge issue. We opted for this one to give my parents the larger room. Their's had plenty of room and we barely spent any time in our rooms anyway.

The innkeepers were more than accomodating. They heard us talking about washing our clothes in the bathtubs in order to not have to tow a lot of luggage and offered their washer for free. We did our laundry one morning and hung it to dry. It was very windy that day and our clothes would have blown away, but the innkeepers made sure it didn't and kept things hanging on the line for us.

They also have a very friendly dog who guided my husband and I on a walk around the property one night after dinner. He loved to play fetch and his tail was always wagging when we showed up!

They are located literally right next to the airport, but the noise from the planes did not bother us at all. Kalmar is a regional airport and isn't very busy - only a few flights a day - and we never noticed the noise.

The innkeepers also gave us recommendations on places to eat in town and they were all exceptional. They also have a sauna in the basement that we loved and a bar area. We were able to watch TV one night on their big screen TV and enjoy a few beers.

I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aswanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

We arrived in Kalmar by airplane and discovered that the Torneby Herrgard was literally 2 minutes from the airport. After renting our Volvo (we had day trips planned to the glass district and Kalmar Castle, among other things) we drove directly to the inn. The owner, Johann Malmstrom, was very friendly as he showed us around. The breakfast was the traditional Swedish buffet of meats, cheeses, granola, yogurt, fruit and crispbread. And lots of coffee and tea. We were allowed to use the washer on the second day of the trip to do a couple of loads of laundry as we had taken only carry-on luggage for our two week trip. Very, very nice of them and they also let us use their clothesline to let our clothes dry in the beautiful Swedish countryside. I might add that although the inn is two minutes from the airport, it is very quiet and we were not bothered by noise from airplanes at all.

There is a sauna in the finished basement for use by guests. There is also an open bar that accommodates guests - you just tell Johann what you have had to drink and he will add the amount onto the bill.

The garden at the rear of the house was amazing! Gunilla and Johann Malmstrom have done a wonderful job of maintaining the old garden, gazebo, flowers, etc. This is where we would stay if we ever return to southern Sweden!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janniejayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Игорь М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Byggarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuguesH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalmar
3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
2.9 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
6.9 mi away
Hotel Skansen
Hotel Skansen
#1 of 1 in Farjestaden
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell
2.5 mi away
Hotel Slottshotellet
Hotel Slottshotellet
#5 of 11 in Kalmar
176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Svanen Hotell
Svanen Hotell
#4 of 5 in Kalmar
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torneby Herrgard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torneby Herrgard

Address: 9 Flottiljvaegen, Kalmar 392 41, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range: $118 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing